MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Stones Throw Cottage
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
0.00 miles away
The Ship Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
0.00 miles away
The Little Cornish B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
0.10 miles away
Holly Cottage Vintage B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
0.10 miles away
Tregorran Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
0.20 miles away
Pebble House
Guest House Photo
AA 5 Stars Guest Accommodation
Guest house
0.30 miles away
Bacchus - Rooms with a view
Hotel Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Apartment
0.40 miles away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed & breakfast
1.60 miles away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 5 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed & breakfast
2.70 miles away
Trenoweth
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
3.90 miles away
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
Guest Rating: 4.5
See all 204 reviews
West Wharf

Mevagissey, 

Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, 


PL26 6UJ,  United Kingdom
The Wheel House Restaurant and Guest House dominates the West Wharf of Mevagissey Harbour. The Guest House has 3 lovely guest rooms all of which have been upgraded in January 2018, all with harbour views, and breakfast is available each morning from 7.30am (times may vary in winter). The Wheel House also has 2 self catering cottages both sleeping up to 4/6 people
  • Warm welcome
  • Adults only
  • Waterside location
  • Inn & Restaurant
  • Nearby Parking
  • Harbour views
  • Hearty breakfasts
  • En suite rooms
  • Close to Eden Project
  • Close to Heligan Gardens
Check Prices and Availability
Cobblestone CottageCobblestone Cottage
No imageWheelhouse Cottage
Double-Ensuite-LargeDouble-Ensuite-Large
from£65.00
Double-EnsuiteDouble-Ensuite
from£55.00
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for The Wheelhouse Guesthouse, Mevagissey are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.2
Value:
4.5
Friendliness:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Facilities:
4.0
Staff service:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Breakfast:
4.5
Guest Rating: 4.5
See all 204 reviews
Bernice
Young Couple
Stayed: Mar '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"Fantastic harbour side location"
A very comfortable stay at the Wheelhouse,… Read more
"Fantastic harbour side location"
A very comfortable stay at the Wheelhouse, Read less
Likes:
Very friendly staff, very comfy bed, amazing view looking out across Mevagissey Harbour, relaxing decor in the room. We also ate di ber in the wheelhouse which was very nice.
Dislikes:
Very small toilet room, however this is an old building and the best use of space has been made, the location and short stay here made it all manageable
Response from The Wheelhouse Guesthouse:
Many thanks for your great feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Guest Review for The Wheelhouse Guesthouse, Mevagissey
Ronald
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '18
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
1
Location
5
Breakfast:
1
"More like 1958 than 2018"
It was a disaster from start to finish .Untrained and unhelpful staff,minute room with no storage or hanging facilities except a decrepit wardrobe with a faulty door,no hand towel no hot water except… Read more
"More like 1958 than 2018"
It was a disaster from start to finish .Untrained and unhelpful staff,minute room with no storage or hanging facilities except a decrepit wardrobe with a faulty door,no hand towel no hot water except for thenew shower and a stone cold room but we did manage to get the heating turned on eventually. Breakfast is very limited - choice of 1 juice ,2 cereals and a fry up.We opted for 2 different types of eggs -specifically asked for separate toast only to have the eggs served on the toast - Avoid !! Read less
Likes:
The view
Dislikes:
untrained staff,poor facilities and a couldn`t care less attitude and the dining are is dirty with unwiped tables and litter on the floor from the previous evening
Response from The Wheelhouse Guesthouse:
Thankyou for your review, we are sorry your stay was not as you expected. Our staff are all fully trained and should always be helpful to our guests, however our heating system is brand new and therefore some staff may not have been shown how to operate it, we will ensure this is rectified immediately. The wardrobe is refurbished and doors are working. Unfortunately we were not made aware of issues with hot water, the boiler is brand new. We offer a wide breakfast selection, 2 juices, 3 cereal
Guest Review for The Wheelhouse Guesthouse, Mevagissey
Alan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Nov '17
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
3
Location
4
Breakfast:
1
"Most disappointing"
A resturant with rooms in a classic fishing village that in November had neither a resturant or fish.… Read more
"Most disappointing"
A resturant with rooms in a classic fishing village that in November had neither a resturant or fish. Read less
Likes:
Not a lot. The main staff lady did what she could to welcome visitors and supervised breakfast as best she could, not her fault the place is so poor.
Dislikes:
Breakfast was available as a buffet, cooked items laid out in trays for however long they lasted that morning, with 4 Tupperware boxes of mundane cereals. Very poor considering the room rate.
Guest Review for The Wheelhouse Guesthouse, Mevagissey
More Information
3 Stars Self Assessed Guest House
Parking
Off-site parking
Types of Payment Accepted at The Wheelhouse Guesthouse
Cash (Sterling), Credit card, Debit card
Payment Cards accepted at the property
Master Card Maestro Visa Visa Electron 
Check-in: 2:00 PM till 4:30 PM
Early check-in available on request.
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Policies
Children Policy: Adults only
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: No pets
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
English
Mevagissey is a picturesque working fishing village and can be found on the south coast of Cornwall just 6 miles from St Austell. Mevagissey is reknowned for its narrow streets, harbour, restaurants and pubs. With an aquarium, museum, walks and small beach, there is something for everybody.

Mevagissey can be used as a centre to visit other holiday destinations and places of interest such as Fowey, Polperro, Looe, Newquay and Truro to name but a few. Mevagissey is used as a base by people who enjoy walking the coastal footpaths of Cornwall. Mevagissey is on the footpath and is in the middle of the 150 mile stretch between Lands End and Plymouth.

Mevagissey itself offers a number of attractions, not least of which is Mevagissey Feast Week, held at the end of June to celebrate the Pilchard Harvest. Entertainment includes carnivals, dances, fishing boat and raft races, musical performances and the fantastic firework finale. Mevaigssey is beautiful in winter with twinkling Christmas lights through the streets and harbour front.

For as long as almost anybody can remember, The Wheel House Restaurant and Guest House has dominated the West Wharf of Mevagissey Harbour. In it’s former days as a Net Loft, John Wesley is reported to have made his first Sermon in Mevagissey here, and it is the pews from the old Wesleyan Chapel in Mevagissey that now furnish the Lower Deck.

In 1967 the Queen Mum came to visit and although several refurbishments have taken place over the years, the restaurant has remained much the same as it was then.

PLEASE NOTE THERE IS NO IMMEDIATE PARKING OUTSIDE THE WHEEL HOUSE (EXCEPT FOR 3 PUBLIC DISABLED SPACES) AS WE ARE WATERSIDE. WE HAVE AGREED SPECIAL RATES WITH WILLOW CAR PARK FOR OUR GUESTS, JUST A FIVE MINUTE WALK FROM THE HARBOUR ON THE WAY INTO MEVAGISSEY. YOU MAY DRIVE ONTO THE HARBOUR TO DROP AND COLLECT BAGS.
Environmental Statement
We use low energy light bulbs, source most products locally and recycle all bottles, cans, cardboard, paper and plastic.
Style of property
Comfortable, Homely, Traditional, Unique
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.