MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
Guest Rating: 4.5
See all 179 reviews
The Strand

Rye, 

East Sussex, 


TN31 7DB,  United Kingdom
The Old Borough Arms Guest House in Rye is situated at the foot of the famous and much photographed Mermaid Street where the cobbled streets of Rye wind their way up to the Church of St. Mary, passing by the house of Henry James the famous author on the way.
  • Central
  • Character
  • Stylish
  • Cycling
  • Walking
  • Historic Building
  • Refurbished
  • Beach
  • Relaxing
  • Antiques
Check Prices and Availability
Double-Ensuite-4 Poster Rm6Double-Ensuite-4 Poster Rm6
from£90.00
Double-Ensuite-Rm 1, 2, 7Double-Ensuite-Rm 1, 2, 7
from£85.00
Family-Ensuite-2 Adults&1 Child Rm4,5Family-Ensuite-2 Adults&1 Child Rm4,5
from£99.00
Double-Deluxe-Ensuite-Rm 3Double-Deluxe-Ensuite-Rm 3
from£85.00
Family-Suite-Private BathroomFamily-Suite-Private Bathroom
from£140.00
No imageDouble-Ensuite-Small Rm8
No imageSingle-Ensuite
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for The Old Borough Arms, Rye are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.2
Value:
4.1
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Facilities:
4.1
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating: 4.5
See all 179 reviews
John
With a colleague
Stayed: Aug '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location
4
Breakfast:
4
"Ideal guest house for local music fest & and short breaks"
I booked for a three night stay for the music fest and was made very welcome when checking in and my on going stay.… Read more
"Ideal guest house for local music fest & and short breaks"
I booked for a three night stay for the music fest and was made very welcome when checking in and my on going stay. Read less
Likes:
The OBA was the ideal guest house & location for a short break to view & listen to the Rye music fest with all the amenities close by.
Dislikes:
The steps to the entrance are uneven and a little dangerous some steps need levelling attention work to make safer, maybe another hand rail building side for guests who are less steady on their feet.
Guest Review for The Old Borough Arms, Rye
justine
Family with young Children
Stayed: Aug '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"Just what we were looking for!"
Lovely stay in family room, clean and comfortable. All staff very friendly and welcoming, breakfast exceptional particularly the very tasty sausages!… Read more
"Just what we were looking for!"
Lovely stay in family room, clean and comfortable. All staff very friendly and welcoming, breakfast exceptional particularly the very tasty sausages! Read less
Likes:
Welcoming and friendly atmosphere, nothing too much trouble. Beds extremely comfortable.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Old Borough Arms:
Many thanks for your review Justine. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Guest Review for The Old Borough Arms, Rye
Kay
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jul '16
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
2
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"Value for money but not valued as a customer"
Stayed in the tilling suite as 3 bedrooms for 3 adults. Own space available as a living room part of the suite. 2 night break with my daughter and my mother. Booked online to,secure accommodation and… Read more
"Value for money but not valued as a customer"
Stayed in the tilling suite as 3 bedrooms for 3 adults. Own space available as a living room part of the suite. 2 night break with my daughter and my mother. Booked online to,secure accommodation and then phoned later to book breakfasts for the 3 of us as this was not included. - was to,d this was all fine. Read less
Likes:
The suite was ideal for us and the location was perfectly situated - central, close to car park etc. The breakfast was very good and the waiting staff were friendly.
Dislikes:
at breakfast we were told we would have to sit separately as no table for 3 !?
The wardrobe in one room had clothes in, smelt and was dirty. No help with cases on leaving. The manager was miserable.
Response from The Old Borough Arms:
Thank you for your review Kay, although I was sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable but perhaps we fell short on this occasion.
Guest Review for The Old Borough Arms, Rye
More Information
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest House
Types of Payment Accepted at The Old Borough Arms
Cash (Sterling), Credit card, Debit card
Payment Cards accepted at the property
American Express Master Card Maestro Visa Visa Electron Solo 
Check-in: 3:00 PM till 8:00 PM
Early check-in available on request.
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Policies
Children Policy: Children welcome
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: No pets
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
English
The Old Borough Arms is a four star Guest House in the heart of Rye. All of our 9 rooms are ensuite and are decorated to a high standard following renovation in early 2014. A full English breakfast is included in our room prices.

New for 2015 is a 3 bedroom apartment at the top of the building with 3 good sized bedrooms and a living room that looks out across The Strand.
Check in times are from 3pm until 8pm.

We have also just added a fantastic terrace that is on the corner of Mermaid Street which guests of The Old Borough Arms can use along with customers from The Mermaid Street Cafe.

All guest rooms have tea & coffee making facilities, TV, clean and crisp sheets and towels and good quality comfortable beds so that you can have a wonderful and restful sleep.

We have a well stocked bar providing a range of drinks for guests to sample and free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the building.

The Old Borough Arms overlooks the bustling Strand Quay and from our veranda many interesting shops can be seen including stylish antique centres and old curiosity shops. The town centre with many more interesting and individual shops, pubs and restaurants is only a few minutes walk away.

Beneath the Old Borough Arms in Rye, you will find The Mermaid street Cafe which has been featured in Sussex Life Magazine where our friendly staff will be happy to serve you with a traditional cream tea, a light lunch, or a delicious cake from our great selection of indulgent locally baked cakes. We also stock Movenpick Ice Cream which is the most delicious ice cream we have come across on our quest to find the best. We also have a reputation for serving fantastic coffee from simple americano's to skinny vanilla soya lattes!!

Check in is between 3pm and 8pm.
In the Winter months we would appreciate an E.T.A.
Guests of the Old Borough Arms receive a 10% discount on any purchase made at the Mermaid Street Cafe
Style of property
Comfortable, Homely, Stylish
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2016 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.