MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Old Piggery Guest Accommodation
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
1.70 miles away
The Grafton
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
5.10 miles away
Tennyson House Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Bed and Breakfast
5.60 miles away
The Shakespeare Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
5.70 miles away
Woodleys Farmhouse
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
8.40 miles away
The White Hart
Hotel Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Inn
Inn
10.00 miles away
The Heath Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 3 Stars Inn
Inn
10.80 miles away
Swan Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
10.90 miles away
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.7
See all 90 reviews
The Grove Houghton Conquest, Bedford

Bedford, 

Bedfordshire, 


MK45 3LA,  England
AA 4 GOLD STAR and AA DINING RECCOMMENDED. We are situated a couple of miles out of Bedford, near to Ampthill & Flitwick. With 9 luxury bedrooms set around gardens & terrace, Two Twin & Seven King Size rooms, all en-suite with Tea & Coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. Rooms set around gardens & courtyards in a very quiet village location. Restaurant open all day, Bars & Bar Menus are available all day. Alfresco Terrace dining available, weather permitting.
  • Friendly Village Hotel
  • Open all Day
  • Free Parking
  • Charming Village
  • Excellent Food
  • Restaurant & Bars
  • Friendly Staff
  • Quiet peaceful location
  • Central Attractions
  • Comfortable & Clean
Check Prices and Availability
Superior Double En-suite 2014Superior Double En-suite 2014
from£99.00
Double En-suite 2014Double En-suite 2014
from£89.00
Twin En-suite 2014Twin En-suite 2014
from£89.00
No imageStandard King-Size En-suite 2015
from£99.00
No imageSuperior King-Size En-suite 2015
No imageStandard Twin En-suite 2015
from£99.00
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for The Knife and Cleaver, Bedford are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.5
Value:
4.4
Friendliness:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.8
Facilities:
4.4
Staff service:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating: 4.7
See all 90 reviews
Robert
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jan '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"Staff attentive and welcoming. Facilities/maintenance of a high standard"
We stayed overnight en route. Together with some family members from the locality, we enjoyed a pleasant dinner.… Read more
"Staff attentive and welcoming. Facilities/maintenance of a high standard"
We stayed overnight en route. Together with some family members from the locality, we enjoyed a pleasant dinner. Read less
Likes:
Attentive staff.We settled into a cosy corner at the bar. Thinking we would have to move into the restaurant for dinner. Pleasantly, we were served dinner at our bar location.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Knife and Cleaver, Bedford
Peter
Alone
Stayed: Jan '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location
3
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent Food"
Very Convenient… Read more
"Excellent Food"
Very Convenient Read less
Likes:
Comfortable
Dislikes:
The smell of the Drains in the bathroom was not very pleasant.
Guest Review for The Knife and Cleaver, Bedford
David
Mature Couple
Stayed: Dec '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
1
Location
3
Breakfast:
4
"Our welcome was so rude if we had not prepaid we would of walked out ."
We had made a booking including our dog. On checking in the owner did not even enquire wether we were staying but very rudely and slightly aggresively asked us to take the dog out. An apology would of… Read more
"Our welcome was so rude if we had not prepaid we would of walked out ."
We had made a booking including our dog. On checking in the owner did not even enquire wether we were staying but very rudely and slightly aggresively asked us to take the dog out. An apology would of been welcome as we were paying guests. Would never stay here again. Read less
Likes:
Nothing
Dislikes:
The greeting of the owner on our arrival .
Response from The Knife and Cleaver:
There are signs all over stating....regrettably dogs are not allowed inside the main building...7 in all from the entrances to the exits... I dont think you understand that you upset other guests bringing the pet inside..thats the bit you didnt see...we had that to sort out...
Guest Review for The Knife and Cleaver, Bedford
More Information
AA 4 Stars InnAA Yellow StarsAA 4 GOLD STAR and DINNER RECOMMENDATION.
Parking
On-site parking, Free parking
Types of Payment Accepted at The Knife and Cleaver
Cash (Sterling), Cash (Euro), Credit card, Debit card, Cheque
Payment Cards accepted at the property
American Express Master Card Maestro Visa Visa Electron 
Check-in: From 4:00 PM (Reception open 24 hours)
Early check-in available on request.
Check-out: 10:30 AM
Late check-out available on request
Policies
Children Policy: Children welcome
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: Dogs
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
English
French
Polish
AA 4 Gold Star Inn with 2 years AA Dining Recommendations.
The restaurant & bars are open 7 days a week, last orders for restaurant is 9pm Monday-Saturday, Sundays 7pm. The Accommodation comprises 9 en-suite rooms all set around a courtyard & gardens. Each room has Tea & Coffee making facilities, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing Board, T.V. Radio, Heaters, Heated Towel Rails, Fine Crisp Linen and Big Fluffy Towels, Complimentary Toiletries, Workstation with Wifi, The 3 Superior Rooms also have Armchair & Coffee Table seating areas. Room service is available upon request.

Our cancellation policy is 48 hours before the check-in time.

A pet is welcome to accompany guests by prior arrangement; we have 2 dedicated rooms with access to a private, fully enclosed, gated, pet garden. A charge of £10.00 per night is made for these facilities and must be booked in advance.

2-course meal deal dinner available £22.00 per night/guest
3-course meal deal dinner available £27.50 per night/guest
In 2015 the Meal deal is not available 23rd Jan, 14th Feb, 15th Mar, 25th Dec, 31st Dec
Meal Deal also not available on Sunday evenings.

Situated opposite All Saints Church, is one of England's largest grade one listed churches, Houghton Conquest is a quiet, pretty village only a couple of miles from the city of Bedford. There is also an excellent Taxi service available.

Only a short walk away are fantastic walks in the countryside, open meadows & woods with lots of walks. Just a short few minutes away by car are some excellent attractions, such as Wrest Park, Woburn Abbey & Wildlife Park, Bletchley Park Home of the code breakers, and the ENIGMA machine, 3D theatre, WW2 aviation display, home front exhibition & gift shop. Kathy Brown the accredited landscape gardener & designer has an amazing display of gardens, plants & flowers for all to see. From concept to design, outdoor space all year round. Garden design & lectures by arrangemen
Environmental Statement
We offer free electric-car charging to residents and diners at no cost at all. We encourage our guests to save electricity and water by, turning off lights and turning down heaters when they vacate their rooms.Guests staying for more than one night are encouraged to help save energy by placing towels on the heated towel rails, thus saving water for extra laundry.
Style of property
Comfortable, Elegant, Secluded, Stylish, Traditional
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2015 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.