MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Rookwood Farmhouse
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
1.80 miles away
Lord Lyon Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
1.90 miles away
The Crab at Chieveley
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Restaurant with Rooms
Restaurant with rooms
2.60 miles away
Bow River House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 5 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.00 miles away
Ye Olde Red Lion
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Restaurant with rooms
3.60 miles away
The Hayloft B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.90 miles away
The Carpenters Arms
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
7.00 miles away
The Royal Oak
Hotel Photo
Inn
8.20 miles away
The Bell at Boxford Newbury
Visit Britain 3 Stars Inn
Inn
Guest Rating: 3.7
See all 39 reviews
Lambourn Road, Boxford

Newbury, 

Berkshire, 


RG20 8DD,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Guest reviews for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.6
Value:
3.8
Friendliness:
4.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Facilities:
3.5
Staff service:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Breakfast:
4.0
Guest Rating:
3.7
From 39 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next
Barbara
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Wonderful stay in a great location!"
We booked our one night stay last minute so that we could be close to Highclere Castle (being Downton Abbey fans from Canada!)The location of the inn and its price are what attracted us at the time of… Read more
"Wonderful stay in a great location!"
We booked our one night stay last minute so that we could be close to Highclere Castle (being Downton Abbey fans from Canada!)The location of the inn and its price are what attracted us at the time of booking. Read less
Likes:
From the moment we entered the inn/pub, we were made to feel welcome and every effort was made to make us comfortable. Our room was nicely decorated with fresh paint and pictures. Very friendly staff!
Dislikes:
No
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
David
Young Couple
Stayed: Mar '14
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Ok for one night"
Stayed the one night with a couple of dogs as the location suited us for the plans we had the following day. The TV did not change channels without turning it off and back on.… Read more
"Ok for one night"
Stayed the one night with a couple of dogs as the location suited us for the plans we had the following day. The TV did not change channels without turning it off and back on. Read less
Likes:
Really friendly staff to start with, hard working guy behind the bar serving the drinks and food. Room was well laid out and pleasant to stay in.
Dislikes:
Food was overcooked,sent it back,the wait was 30 minutes,so we didn't bother. The owner was in the room at the time did not come over to apologise,poor service.
Room looked into garden,full of poo.
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Stefan
Family with young Children
Stayed: Jul '13
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
5
Location:
2
Breakfast:
2
"A lovely building, alas, too noisy"
The staff at dinner was simply great, the food lovely. But the room was located near the garden lounge and the billard table. The noise was appalling until late after nidnight, and we needesd sleep fo… Read more
"A lovely building, alas, too noisy"
The staff at dinner was simply great, the food lovely. But the room was located near the garden lounge and the billard table. The noise was appalling until late after nidnight, and we needesd sleep for our journey back. Read less
Likes:
The ladies who served dinner were great.
Dislikes:
It was noisy, drunken guests right in front our window until late night.
Response from The Bell at Boxford:
Thank you for your comments and espescially reqards to the food and staff.
It is a pity that you didnt mention when booking that you had a very small child & would prefer a quiet room as we would have ensured this was the case for you. The Bell is a traditional Inn & we do have facilities that are enjoyed by many guests ..the terraces and pool table are but two.
Should you require accomodation in the Newbury area in the future please contact me directly &I will allocate a quiet room for you
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Steve
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '13
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
2
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Pleasant but patience needed"
OK… Read more
"Pleasant but patience needed"
OK Read less
Likes:
Nice location
Dislikes:
We were told there would be a 30 minute wait when ordering evening meal, we waited 1hour 30minuets! not good enough!!!!!!
Response from The Bell at Boxford:
Booked tables will always take preference as is clearly stated on our web site. Im sorry you had to wait to place your order but as you had not reserved a table and we were fully comitted a wait was inevitable. Perhaps on you next visit to the Bell you may care to reserve a table at a specific time. In that way you will take preference to all other requests. If you would like to contact me personnally I can arrange this for you. Kind regards
Paul Lavis
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Chris
Mature Couple
Stayed: Nov '12
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Enjoyable."
Pleasant welcome, comfortable room and good food… Read more
"Enjoyable."
Pleasant welcome, comfortable room and good food Read less
Likes:
Made to feel very welcome by he barman who served us food and drink in evening called Yan or Jann or John?
Dislikes:
Some Irish people in the bar in the evening who were swearing, not necessary!
Response from The Bell at Boxford:
THank you for your kind remarks and Ive passed these on the Jan who looked after you. He was delighted that you had taken the time and trouble to review the Bell. Hope to be able to welcome you back to the Bell in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Paul Lavis
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
TRACY
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '12
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"excellant"
nice people good food very welcoming we will go back again… Read more
"excellant"
nice people good food very welcoming we will go back again Read less
Likes:
everything
Dislikes:
no
Response from The Bell at Boxford:
Thank you so much for the lovely review! My team were thrilled to read your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Paul
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Ruth
Family with older Children
Stayed: Aug '12
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very pretty country pub, lovely food and really nice rooms."
We wanted somewhere near the A34 to stay en route to Portsmouth, difficult with two big dogs. The Bell was great, very dog friendly, convenient for us and served lovely evening meals and breakfast. Gr… Read more
"Very pretty country pub, lovely food and really nice rooms."
We wanted somewhere near the A34 to stay en route to Portsmouth, difficult with two big dogs. The Bell was great, very dog friendly, convenient for us and served lovely evening meals and breakfast. Great start to a holiday and welcoming after a long drive. Read less
Likes:
The rooms, the food, especially liked the outside space which had sheltered areas for when it rained (which it did). We were made very welcome with our dogs.
Dislikes:
Only quibble was the shower temperature, a bit cool but didn't spoil the stay
Response from The Bell at Boxford:
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw the Bell at Boxford. Its always nice to receive such positive comments and were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Ive adjusted the temperatuere control on the power shower to provide a more reliable temperature. We hope the dogs are well and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell in the not too distant future.
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Andrew
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '12
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Overnight at the Bell at Boxford"
An overnight stop to break our journey.… Read more
"Overnight at the Bell at Boxford"
An overnight stop to break our journey. Read less
Likes:
A very charming pub with excellent staff who made us feel really welcome. A wonderful meal that was good value. Good breakfast.
Dislikes:
The room was a bit tired and could do with modernisation. The ensuite was particularly small and the shower took some fiddling with to get it to produce hot water.
Response from The Bell at Boxford:
Always nice to receive positive feed back. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit, particularly your dinner and breakfast. We're always trying to provided modern facilities in the rooms. Complemetary WI-FI. flat screen TVs DVD player etc. but Id welcome any additional requirements that you think would benefit future vguests. If you could find time to let me know your thoughts Id really appreciate it as our aim is to please
Kin regards
Paul Lavis
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Gillian
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jun '12
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"relaxing and enjoyable stay"
Comfortable and relaxinf good food and wine… Read more
"relaxing and enjoyable stay"
Comfortable and relaxinf good food and wine Read less
Likes:
good location quiet and relaxing
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Bell at Boxford:
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell. We're glad you enjoyed the food and wine along with your overall stay. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Bell in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Paul
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Gillian
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jun '12
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Relaxed friendly atmosphere clean and comfortable good food and wine"
A lovely relaxing weekend with friends. The staff were friendly the food and wine good and the beds clean and comfortable.… Read more
"Relaxed friendly atmosphere clean and comfortable good food and wine"
A lovely relaxing weekend with friends. The staff were friendly the food and wine good and the beds clean and comfortable. Read less
Likes:
We were all very happy with our choice of The Bell.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Bell at Boxford:
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your reveiw of the Bell. Its always nice to know that we are fulfilling our prime objective of making our guests comfy!! We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Bell in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Paul
Guest Review for The Bell at Boxford, Newbury
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.