MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The White Horse
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
2.40 miles away
The Black Bull Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
2.60 miles away
Nine Jars Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Hotel
4.00 miles away
The Cross Keys
Hotel Photo
Inn
7.00 miles away
The Crown House Hotel
Hotel Photo
AA 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
7.10 miles away
Pavilion House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
7.10 miles away
The Red Lion Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
7.10 miles away
Warner's Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
7.30 miles away
The Kings Head
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
7.70 miles away
The Old Red Lion Inn Cambridge
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.4
See all 54 reviews
Linton Road, Horseheath

Cambridge, 

Cambridgeshire, 


CB21 4QF,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Guest reviews for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.3
Value:
4.3
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Facilities:
4.2
Staff service:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating:
4.4
From 54 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next
Michelle
Alone
Stayed: Dec '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Luxury at a price you can afford!"
I only stayed for one night but felt relaxed immediately. Lovely friendly staff who couldn't be more friendly or helpful. My room was to a high standard and breakfast is a must!!… Read more
"Luxury at a price you can afford!"
I only stayed for one night but felt relaxed immediately. Lovely friendly staff who couldn't be more friendly or helpful. My room was to a high standard and breakfast is a must!! Read less
Likes:
The atmosphere of the pub was lovely and the rooms were very comfortable. Friendly staff.
Dislikes:
no
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Barry
Alone
Stayed: Nov '17
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
3
Breakfast:
5
"Not designed for Business stays"
Booked Sun-Fri, but had to cancel Fri to go to London. Told them Wed morning, but still had to pay full amount because not given 48 hours notice.… Read more
"Not designed for Business stays"
Booked Sun-Fri, but had to cancel Fri to go to London. Told them Wed morning, but still had to pay full amount because not given 48 hours notice. Read less
Likes:
Staff were really friendly, except owner (Ian) who never smiled. Food is absolutely excellent. Pies made on premises best every had.
Dislikes:
They replaced 2 broken bulbs but room walls dark and all lights dim, desk space was too small, so hard to do any work. Outside light lit up room at night.
Response from The Old Red Lion Inn:
I feel it unnecessary to have a personnel attack on Ian, the owner due to you having to pay for your room as per the cancellation policy notification you received with your booking. Ian kindly upgraded your room from a twin that you booked for your comfort, you were more than happy to stay in this room when ian asked if it was acceptable, this would have been the time to say you were not. These website are helpful when valid reviews are posted but not personnel attacks !!!
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Ian
Alone
Stayed: Oct '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Highly Recommended"
This was an overnight stay for a business trip to nearby Haverhill.

I will definitely be returning for future work trips to the area and would happily recommend to anyone visiting the area.… Read more
"Highly Recommended"
This was an overnight stay for a business trip to nearby Haverhill.

I will definitely be returning for future work trips to the area and would happily recommend to anyone visiting the area. Read less
Likes:
There are many things to recommend about The Old Red Lion Inn:

- Food was excellent (both Dinner and Breakfast)
- Room was clean, well maintained and very well presented
- Friendly service
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Old Red Lion Inn:
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Ian, Tracy and the team
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
David
Mature Couple
Stayed: Oct '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent facilities along with very friendly staff."
Convenient proximity to Chiltern Hall Vineyard and this worked very well in our favour… Read more
"Excellent facilities along with very friendly staff."
Convenient proximity to Chiltern Hall Vineyard and this worked very well in our favour Read less
Likes:
Great quality food at both dinner and breakfast
Dislikes:
The shower caused a problem in that he slightly scalded his leg trying to get it to work.
Response from The Old Red Lion Inn:
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Ian, Tracy and the team
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Andrew
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Returning visitors"
We stay a couple of times a year on business. Our room had recently been refurbished to a high standard, but lacked drawer space and only had one bedside table ! The bathroom was spacious with a power… Read more
"Returning visitors"
We stay a couple of times a year on business. Our room had recently been refurbished to a high standard, but lacked drawer space and only had one bedside table ! The bathroom was spacious with a powerful shower. Little point was no toilet brush!. Breakfast was excellent as always. Food was very good in restaurant. Bar areas comfortable with good atmosphere especially on Friday night. Staff are bright and positive, always welcoming. Read less
Likes:
Breakfast, comfort of room, pleasant ambience throughout location.
Dislikes:
Nothing other than mentioned previously. Minor traffic noise kept my wife awake but helped me to sleep !
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Richard
Young Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
2
Location:
5
"Weekend wedding stay"
3-night stay for bride and groom. Nice to have all rooms booked for other wedding guests. Room was large and nicely decorated with large bath. Disappointing that the TV didn't work properly, and staf… Read more
"Weekend wedding stay"
3-night stay for bride and groom. Nice to have all rooms booked for other wedding guests. Room was large and nicely decorated with large bath. Disappointing that the TV didn't work properly, and staff were unsure how to fix it, apart from the landlord, who was extremely reluctant to help. No little touches for newly weds, (a free breakfast would have been nice) turn down service half-hearted and no discounts of any kind for booking the entire 12 rooms accommodation. Read less
Likes:
Location and fact that there were rooms available for most of the wedding party. The lady who helped us back into our room when we were locked out after midnight.
Dislikes:
Reluctance of staff to help with fixing issues in room. No late bar even though there were over 16 people staying at the pub who wished to continue socialising after the wedding party.
Response from The Old Red Lion Inn:
you asked for room to be serviced after you left for wedding but staff had finished by this time 4pm
TV was turned off HDMI channel by you at least 4 times & was shown each time what you had done.
Knew in advance no late bar as wanted to come back at 12-12.30pm.heavily discounted drinks given to guestswho took back to room.You & guests played loud guitar & singing well past 3am keeping license awake, then You knocked our flat door as you had locked yourself out of room.dissappointed in comments
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Kelly
Young Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
3
"Modem and clean room"
Was clean and had a big tv… Read more
"Modem and clean room"
Was clean and had a big tv Read less
Likes:
The pub food was really enjoyable.
Dislikes:
Our room (-#9) was quite load next to the main road. Also, the front door outside light was bright at night
Response from The Old Red Lion Inn:

We appreciate your comments about our food as we select only the finest and freshest ingredients locally and our qualified chefs cook everything in house. So thank you.i note that you commented on the light outside your room, room 9. It is important to have sufficient lighting for health and security reasons around our buildings for guests who may come back late or leave earlier whilst it dark, but you do have a double lined curtain that pulls across the door completely, blocking all light.
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Stacy
Young Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
"Lovely few days away"
We stayed here for a few days at the start of September. Both the staff and the hotel were lovely, in a nice area, just outside of Cambridge. The food was delicious and when I didn’t feel too well on… Read more
"Lovely few days away"
We stayed here for a few days at the start of September. Both the staff and the hotel were lovely, in a nice area, just outside of Cambridge. The food was delicious and when I didn’t feel too well on one of the nights, the staff let me take my food upstairs to my room so I didn’t have to sit in the restaurant, as beautiful as it was in there! The staff were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. Definitely recommend and I’d go back anytime! Read less
Likes:
Staff friendliness and uniqueness of the rooms.
Dislikes:
Shower had a huge waterfall head so you had to stand in the right position to get wet properly but that’s not a big issue at all!
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Maria
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Perfect 👌"
Re-visited the Old Red Lion again this year as it is a perfect location when attending Newmarket, without being in the centre. The food is fabulous, the staff are friendly and eager to help and the ad… Read more
"Perfect 👌"
Re-visited the Old Red Lion again this year as it is a perfect location when attending Newmarket, without being in the centre. The food is fabulous, the staff are friendly and eager to help and the addition of the Gin Fest and entertainment were a pleasant surprise.

Would (and already have) highly recommend Read less
Likes:
Everything. Friendly & attentive staff, Great good & perfect accommodation
Dislikes:
No
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Rebecca
Young Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely, small cosy place to stay with exceptionally friendly staff!"
We had a lovely 2 night stay here last year, so we decided to come back and do the same thing this year. We have been to the Newmarket races over the bank holiday both years which I would also highly… Read more
"Lovely, small cosy place to stay with exceptionally friendly staff!"
We had a lovely 2 night stay here last year, so we decided to come back and do the same thing this year. We have been to the Newmarket races over the bank holiday both years which I would also highly recommend! The place is small and cosy and the staff are lovely. It isn't the cheapest option, the food and drinks are not cheap but we thoroughly enjoyed our meals here. The rooms are modern, some things could probably do with replaceing but all in all we had a lovely stay and felt very welcome! Read less
Likes:
Staff, food especially breakfast!
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Old Red Lion Inn, Cambridge
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2017 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.