MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Waterman
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
Accordia Apartment Milton Villas
Accommodation Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Travel accommodation
0.20 miles away
Home from Home Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
0.20 miles away
Alpha Milton Guest House
Guest House Photo
AA 3 Stars Guest Accommodation
Guest house
0.20 miles away
Victoria Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.60 miles away
Pinnacle Apartments Riverside
Accommodation Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Travel accommodation
0.60 miles away
Regency house Apartments
Accommodation Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Travel accommodation
0.60 miles away
Accordia apartments Chamberlin Court
Accommodation Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Travel accommodation
0.70 miles away
The Castle Cambridge
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.80 miles away
Regency Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
1.00 miles away
The Portland Arms Cambridge
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
Guest Rating: 3.3
See all 81 reviews
129 Chesterton Road

Cambridge, 

Cambridgeshire, 


CB4 3BA,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Guest reviews for The Portland Arms, Cambridge are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.1
Value:
3.6
Friendliness:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Facilities:
3.0
Staff service:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Breakfast:
1.6
Guest Rating:
3.3
From 81 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
david
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
2
Location:
2
Breakfast:
1
"pub"
Not awful but certainly not the best. Beds were reasonable but hubby said it was uncomfortable. Unfortunately because it was a pub it was noisy took ages for me to sleep. Didn't see any staff in the m… Read more
"pub"
Not awful but certainly not the best. Beds were reasonable but hubby said it was uncomfortable. Unfortunately because it was a pub it was noisy took ages for me to sleep. Didn't see any staff in the morning and no breakfast which was disappointing Read less
Likes:
Not a lot
Dislikes:
It was what it was cheap to say the least
Response from The Portland Arms:
Hi David, we are very sorry to hear you had problems getting to sleep. Our website does clearly state that we are a lively music venue pub with rooms above offering a room only basis. We price in accordance of this. There wasn't any live music on Wednesday but there was a lively football match and so the pub was quite busy, this can of course mean pub noise until closing time. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Cambridge.
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Jesús
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
2
Location:
4
"Bed and breakfast without breakfast?"
ok… Read more
"Bed and breakfast without breakfast?"
ok Read less
Likes:
ok
Dislikes:
It should be advised not breakfast available
Response from The Portland Arms:
Hi Jesus, we do clearly state on our website and the information we pass on to other booking agents that we offer room only. I am very sorry that your booking agent didn't make this clear to you. There are many cafe's offering breakfast in the immediate area and opening for breakfast service is something we may do in the future.
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Catherine
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
"Just what we wanted...."
If it's a place to put your head down at a very reasonable price then the Portland is a box ticker. We travelled from Birmingham as my husband was gigging there, meaning we could roll up the stairs fr… Read more
"Just what we wanted...."
If it's a place to put your head down at a very reasonable price then the Portland is a box ticker. We travelled from Birmingham as my husband was gigging there, meaning we could roll up the stairs from the concert room, knowing his very expensive music equipment was safely locked up. We had a small room with comfy twin beds; the tea and coffee was very welcome. Clean bathroom facilities are just over the corridor and shared with two other rooms. Read less
Likes:
Pub is great, serves prosecco (always a plus point) and food. There is a snug outside courtyard with a gazebo in the style of a thatched African hut and another covered area, both with heaters.
Dislikes:
It's no frills and basic but a great price and location for Cambridge ( near the river). I have ticked yes to recommend but don't book if you are a five star diva!
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Ian
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
"Good accomodation, easy walk into town. And PABH were ace !!"
Stayed here so we could see a band and have a few beers. Great venue. Good facilities. Bonus of free parking so we could walk into town.… Read more
"Good accomodation, easy walk into town. And PABH were ace !!"
Stayed here so we could see a band and have a few beers. Great venue. Good facilities. Bonus of free parking so we could walk into town. Read less
Likes:
Very convenient, great location.
Dislikes:
No.
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Corina-Maria
With a colleague
Stayed: Apr '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
2
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
1
Location:
2
"Smelly, dirty, noisy."
on the night between Saturday and Sunday we could not sleep till the customers left- at 1.30 am, as they were very very noisy.… Read more
"Smelly, dirty, noisy."
on the night between Saturday and Sunday we could not sleep till the customers left- at 1.30 am, as they were very very noisy. Read less
Likes:
I did not like anything.
Dislikes:
The room was small, dirty and smelly. Besides, in the morning there was no staff in the reception, so we couldn't leave our luggage...
Response from The Portland Arms:
We are very sorry you had a bad experience, as for the noise we clearly state on our website that the rooms are budget accommodation above a lively music venue, we apologise if this was unexpected for you. We are a pub with 3 rooms above and so don't have a reception but there are signs in all the rooms for out of hours contact, we could have stored your luggage for you had we received a call.
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Susan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Dec '13
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
3
Location:
4
"Value for money."
Good… Read more
"Value for money."
Good Read less
Likes:
Cambridge.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Alice
Alone
Stayed: Dec '13
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
1
Location:
2
"Dirty, noisy, uncomfortable, insecure and not helpful."
No help carrying suitcase up slippery dangerous outdoor staircase to room -am 6 months pregnant. stuff left in drawers. Cleaning equipment left on bed. Noisy.Flimsy lock on flimsy door. TV didn't work… Read more
"Dirty, noisy, uncomfortable, insecure and not helpful."
No help carrying suitcase up slippery dangerous outdoor staircase to room -am 6 months pregnant. stuff left in drawers. Cleaning equipment left on bed. Noisy.Flimsy lock on flimsy door. TV didn't work. Dirty shared bathroom with broken lock. Poor shower with left bottles. Tiny toilet cubicle and sink -dirtied floor with spit. Didn't feel safe with no lock on outer door. No breakfast options. No parking. No checkout instructions. Rude when phoned to say key in room & accused of setting off alarm! Read less
Likes:
Location suitable.
Dislikes:
See above .
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Anna
Mature Couple
Stayed: Nov '13
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
1
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
2
Location:
3
"for that price the room was to small"
we visite our daugther… Read more
"for that price the room was to small"
we visite our daugther Read less
Likes:
Cambridge itself
Dislikes:
no breakfast
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Daniel
Alone
Stayed: Nov '13
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
2
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
2
"Too noisy, I checked out before staying the night"
Very noisy even after midnight.
I checked out at 1 am in the morning as I could not sleep.… Read more
"Too noisy, I checked out before staying the night"
Very noisy even after midnight.
I checked out at 1 am in the morning as I could not sleep. Read less
Likes:
Hated it
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Louise
Young Couple
Stayed: Nov '13
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
"Convenient location"
We stayed two nights as part of a two week trip of UK
(Visiting from Australia)… Read more
"Convenient location"
We stayed two nights as part of a two week trip of UK
(Visiting from Australia) Read less
Likes:
helpful welcoming staff, good location, events on at Portland arms, ease of access, good heating in winter, good value
Dislikes:
Shower could have been cleaner
Guest Review for The Portland Arms, Cambridge
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.