MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
Guest House Photo
Welsh Tourist Board 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
8.10 miles away
Black Lion Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
8.60 miles away
The Red Lion Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
8.70 miles away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Guest House Photo
Guest house
10.00 miles away
Celtic Bay Guest House
Guest House Photo
Guest house
10.00 miles away
The Old Vicarage
Guest House Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
10.30 miles away
Awel y Mor
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed & breakfast
12.60 miles away
The Mount Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
13.20 miles away
The Old School House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
13.40 miles away
Y Talbot Tregaron
Hotel Photo
Inn
13.50 miles away
George Borrow Hotel Aberystwyth
Welsh Tourist Board 2 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.2
See all 143 reviews
Ponterwydd

Aberystwyth, 

Ceredigion, 


SY23 3AD,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Guest reviews for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.8
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Facilities:
3.7
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.5
Guest Rating:
4.2
From 143 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
Nigel
Young Couple
Stayed: Nov '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Great company, excellent service, breakfast and venue"
Really friendly atmosphere. Met some really neat people!… Read more
"Great company, excellent service, breakfast and venue"
Really friendly atmosphere. Met some really neat people! Read less
Likes:
Great place to relax
Dislikes:
No
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Rachel
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"comfortable family run hotel"
Overnight stay between Black Mountains & Conwy, Comfortable welcoming room, good nights sleep. Good home cooking pub style & breakfast… Read more
"comfortable family run hotel"
Overnight stay between Black Mountains & Conwy, Comfortable welcoming room, good nights sleep. Good home cooking pub style & breakfast Read less
Likes:
as above-would stay again
Dislikes:
no
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Alison
Alone
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Served my purpose"
Food was plentiful, owners very friendly and helpful and bed comfortable.… Read more
"Served my purpose"
Food was plentiful, owners very friendly and helpful and bed comfortable. Read less
Likes:
The location was central to lots of attractions
Dislikes:
Décor was a little tired
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Ruth
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"friendly & helpful"
wedding party… Read more
"friendly & helpful"
wedding party Read less
Likes:
helpfulness
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Gayle
Group of Adults
Stayed: Aug '17
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
1
Location:
1
Breakfast:
1
"terrible experience"
We were sent a confirmation (FROM this business) that described this hotel as being in Aberystwyth, rather than the town it's actually in. We arrived in Aberystwyth during a rain storm, late at night,… Read more
"terrible experience"
We were sent a confirmation (FROM this business) that described this hotel as being in Aberystwyth, rather than the town it's actually in. We arrived in Aberystwyth during a rain storm, late at night, and when we were informed that we would have to drive another 45 -60 minutes in the storm, we found other accommodations and called to cancel. The proprietor was extremely rude, and yelled at me that he was going to charge us anyway. I am so glad we did not stay here, even if we lost money. Read less
Likes:
We did not stay here.
Dislikes:
None
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
Dear Madam.
We Do Not and have Never said we are in Aberystwyth, We are located in Ponterwyd 12 Miles (15 to 20mins away) from the town as stated on our web site. You where not shouted at, It was you that was rude saying that we had miss-informed you about where we where located, I just informed you that you would be charged for the cancellation as our terms and conditions.
I am sorry that you did not drive the extra 12 miles and try our hospitality before saying you would never stay again.
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Martin
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Very friendly, family run hotel"
Excellent… Read more
"Very friendly, family run hotel"
Excellent Read less
Likes:
Friendly and homely
Dislikes:
Free wi fi would be a good idea
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Ken
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jan '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Great place to stay in rural mid-Wales"
Welcoming staff, very good home-cooked food, well-kept beer and excellent value for money - all in a fabulous location!… Read more
"Great place to stay in rural mid-Wales"
Welcoming staff, very good home-cooked food, well-kept beer and excellent value for money - all in a fabulous location! Read less
Likes:
Everything!
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Richard
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jan '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Absolutely fine"
Just stayed the one night when we were the only guests as early Jan. Good food choice on menu as we had an evening meal as well.… Read more
"Absolutely fine"
Just stayed the one night when we were the only guests as early Jan. Good food choice on menu as we had an evening meal as well. Read less
Likes:
The calm between driving longish distances to and from.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Anita
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely Hotel"
We needed a hotel near to the university . I can across this small family hotel.… Read more
"Lovely Hotel"
We needed a hotel near to the university . I can across this small family hotel. Read less
Likes:
Very friendly staff and we loved that the owner came and indroduced herself at Dinner a lovely touch.The food was plentiful and having homemade food was lovely. The breakfast was also excellent.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Sarah
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '16
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Disappointing"
We were not keen on the room as it had a sloping ceiling with a bar across which one had to keep remembering to avoid. The room (9) will be unusable in winter as the bathroom window cannot be closed.… Read more
"Disappointing"
We were not keen on the room as it had a sloping ceiling with a bar across which one had to keep remembering to avoid. The room (9) will be unusable in winter as the bathroom window cannot be closed. The heated towel rail in there also appeared to be defunct.
The shower head needs cleaning Read less
Likes:
The staff were friendly
Dislikes:
The mattresses need re-newing as the springs dig into one: we rectified this by putting a blanket under us. The bathroom window will not close as it has dropped on its hinge.
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us. The Sloping ceiling is part of the charactor of booking a 17th century building. We have had no other comments with regards to the mattresses. only last week a customer commented on that it was the best nights sleep that they had had. But we will look into this. We have adjusted the window and it can now be closed. The towel rail has been disconnected due to health band saftey reasons, The same as all those in Travelodges.
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2017 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.