MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Tynycae
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
2.20 miles away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
Guest House Photo
Welsh Tourist Board 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
8.10 miles away
Black Lion Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
8.60 miles away
The Red Lion Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
8.70 miles away
The Old Vicarage
Guest House Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
10.30 miles away
The Mount Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
13.20 miles away
The Old School House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
13.40 miles away
Y Talbot Tregaron
Hotel Photo
Inn
13.50 miles away
The Horseshoe Guesthouse
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
15.90 miles away
Ty Morgans Apartments
Accommodation Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Travel accommodation
16.00 miles away
George Borrow Hotel Aberystwyth
Welsh Tourist Board 2 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.2
See all 135 reviews
Ponterwydd

Aberystwyth, 

Ceredigion, 


SY23 3AD,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Guest reviews for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.8
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Facilities:
3.7
Staff service:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.5
Guest Rating:
4.2
From 135 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
Anita
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely Hotel"
We needed a hotel near to the university . I can across this small family hotel.… Read more
"Lovely Hotel"
We needed a hotel near to the university . I can across this small family hotel. Read less
Likes:
Very friendly staff and we loved that the owner came and indroduced herself at Dinner a lovely touch.The food was plentiful and having homemade food was lovely. The breakfast was also excellent.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Sarah
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '16
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Disappointing"
We were not keen on the room as it had a sloping ceiling with a bar across which one had to keep remembering to avoid. The room (9) will be unusable in winter as the bathroom window cannot be closed.… Read more
"Disappointing"
We were not keen on the room as it had a sloping ceiling with a bar across which one had to keep remembering to avoid. The room (9) will be unusable in winter as the bathroom window cannot be closed. The heated towel rail in there also appeared to be defunct.
The shower head needs cleaning Read less
Likes:
The staff were friendly
Dislikes:
The mattresses need re-newing as the springs dig into one: we rectified this by putting a blanket under us. The bathroom window will not close as it has dropped on its hinge.
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us. The Sloping ceiling is part of the charactor of booking a 17th century building. We have had no other comments with regards to the mattresses. only last week a customer commented on that it was the best nights sleep that they had had. But we will look into this. We have adjusted the window and it can now be closed. The towel rail has been disconnected due to health band saftey reasons, The same as all those in Travelodges.
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Keith
Alone
Stayed: Jul '16
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"Homely and comfortable with a warm welcome"
Stayed for three nights. Weather was appalling but hotel was comfortable and the staff were terrific and v helpful. Garaging for our motorcycles, a drying room for our kit and good basic meals. Great… Read more
"Homely and comfortable with a warm welcome"
Stayed for three nights. Weather was appalling but hotel was comfortable and the staff were terrific and v helpful. Garaging for our motorcycles, a drying room for our kit and good basic meals. Great value for money. Read less
Likes:
As above
Dislikes:
None
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
Hi glad you had a good time. we do enjoy having Biker groups. We do not understand the comment on the eggs at breakfast. you can have these however you like. Grilled - Poached - Scrambled etc. but we do not fry our eggs they are grilled. It does state this on the menu, sorry you missed it.
Thanks again for staying hope to see you again sometime in the future. Karen & Rob (Owners)
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Wilfred
Alone
Stayed: Apr '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Good customer friendly service"
This was a bird watching holiday in an area that I was not familiar with. My targets of sightings and visits to the bird watching sights were achieved which were within daily striking distance. The G… Read more
"Good customer friendly service"
This was a bird watching holiday in an area that I was not familiar with. My targets of sightings and visits to the bird watching sights were achieved which were within daily striking distance. The George Barrow Hotel is an ideal base from which to depart from. Read less
Likes:
Good food, good service and a most friendly and welcoming banter from the local farmers of an evening in the hotel bar. I was staying on my own but I felt that I was among friends.
Dislikes:
Not applicable
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
Dear vWilfred. Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your comments. It was good that you enjoyed your stay and we look forwards to seeing you again soon.
Rob and Karen
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Angela
Mature Couple
Stayed: Mar '16
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Ideal for overnight stay"
Stayed here en-route to see our daughter. The room was on the small size however it was only for one night so served its purpose.… Read more
"Ideal for overnight stay"
Stayed here en-route to see our daughter. The room was on the small size however it was only for one night so served its purpose. Read less
Likes:
We had an evening meal which was very nice.The breakfast the next morning was amazing.
Dislikes:
The saniflo toilet was very noisy you could hear other guests flushing their toilet.
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
colin
Group of Adults
Stayed: Mar '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Great place to stay"
Friendly staff great food… Read more
"Great place to stay"
Friendly staff great food Read less
Likes:
Everything
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Hannah
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jan '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely hotel"
We were mountain biking near by and picked the hotel because of its location. It was not expensive so we were very happy that the staff were friendly, the food excellent and the view from the room lov… Read more
"Lovely hotel"
We were mountain biking near by and picked the hotel because of its location. It was not expensive so we were very happy that the staff were friendly, the food excellent and the view from the room lovely. Read less
Likes:
It was not expensive so we were very happy that the staff were friendly, the food excellent and the view from the room lovely.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
John
Mature Couple
Stayed: Oct '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Great weekend break with fantastic views"
Very peaceful stay, really unwound in a pleasant hotel… Read more
"Great weekend break with fantastic views"
Very peaceful stay, really unwound in a pleasant hotel Read less
Likes:
The friendly atmosphere and service was very friendly and very good.
Dislikes:
The hotel was looking tired and could do with some money spending on it to invigorate the décor.
Response from George Borrow Hotel:
Thank you for your feedback Mr Lee .
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Zoe
Group of Adults
Stayed: Oct '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Kindly waited up for us as we were late, friendly and comfortable"
We were late in, but they waited up for us and provided a good breakfast early on the Saturday morning. They were easily found and had easy access parking.… Read more
"Kindly waited up for us as we were late, friendly and comfortable"
We were late in, but they waited up for us and provided a good breakfast early on the Saturday morning. They were easily found and had easy access parking. Read less
Likes:
Friendly and comfortable
Dislikes:
Shower in the bathroom was a bit tight and water/ fan noisy, fine for an overnight stay but wouldn't have wanted to be a family sharing it for a week.
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Jim
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Good hotel for a stopover or short break"
We stayed in a small double room on the first floor. The location of the hotel and the staff were very good, but the hotel itself seemed a little tired and in need of some tlc.
Breakfast and evening… Read more
"Good hotel for a stopover or short break"
We stayed in a small double room on the first floor. The location of the hotel and the staff were very good, but the hotel itself seemed a little tired and in need of some tlc.
Breakfast and evening meals were god and substantial. Read less
Likes:
The hotel is in a good countryside location with lovely friendly staff
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for George Borrow Hotel, Aberystwyth
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2016 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.