MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Maristow
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
1.90 miles away
The Coldstreamer
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
3.30 miles away
Star Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Pub
3.30 miles away
Chyreen@Marazion
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.50 miles away
Boskednan Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.90 miles away
Whiteways Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.10 miles away
Carnson House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
4.10 miles away
Dolphin Tavern
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
4.50 miles away
Camilla House Limited
Guest House Photo
AA 5 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.60 miles away
The Stanley
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.60 miles away
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
Guest Rating: 3.9
See all 12 reviews
Cripplesease, Nancledra

Penzance, 

Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, 


TR20 8NF,  United Kingdom
‘The Engine Inn’ a grade II listed building, is a traditional Cornish pub located on Ladydowns Moor between St. Ives and Penzance offering a welcome as warm as the log fire. Ideally situated to explore West Cornwall, the spacious accommodation situated separately in a listed converted barn has a ground floor room, ‘Trink’ with a superking size bed and ensuite wet room. First floor room, ‘Trencrom’ has ensuite shower room, kingsize bed, vaulted ceiling and spectacular views over open countryside.
  • Welcoming
  • Dog friendly
  • Traditional food served
  • Free parking
  • Licensed premises
  • Family friendly
  • Ideal for walkers
  • Beautiful scenery
  • Rural location
Check Prices and Availability
Double-Ensuite with ShowerDouble-Ensuite with Shower
from£75.00
Double-Ensuite with Shower - Single OccupancyDouble-Ensuite with Shower - Single Occupancy
from£70.00
Double-Ensuite-with Wet RoomDouble-Ensuite-with Wet Room
from£75.00
Double-Ensuite-with Wet Room - Single OccupancyDouble-Ensuite-with Wet Room - Single Occupancy
from£70.00
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for Engine Inn, Penzance are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.6
Value:
3.7
Friendliness:
4.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Facilities:
3.7
Staff service:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.4
Guest Rating: 3.9
See all 12 reviews
Linda
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very relaxing"
Clean and comfortable everything you need… Read more
"Very relaxing"
Clean and comfortable everything you need Read less
Likes:
Very comfortable lovely atmosphere and all the staff made you fell very welcome nothing was to much trouble definitely would stop again
Dislikes:
None
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you Linda for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and would be prepared to recommend us. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
ALEXANDER
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '18
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
1
Location
4
"Disappointing Stay at the Engine Inn."
We were not expected as the Inn was closed when we arrived despite stating open from 3pm. There was no food available on the Friday evening and the chef was not available for any breakfasts. My wife… Read more
"Disappointing Stay at the Engine Inn."
We were not expected as the Inn was closed when we arrived despite stating open from 3pm. There was no food available on the Friday evening and the chef was not available for any breakfasts. My wife asked for poached eggs but the owner said she couldn't cook them. The room was damp and had a dehumidifier running all day - which I emptied as there was no room service. The shower had a very low pressure water flow, the Internet was unreliable and only available in the bar. Very disappointed. Read less
Likes:
Only the location sadly.
Dislikes:
The service and facilities were not as described in the various comments and I wondered if we were talking about the same placce. The venue had gone down hil quite steeply since our last visit.
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Engine, I am sorry to know that you were disappointed with your stay. As the electronic system only permits a very brief response, I will email you personally in due course to address the concerns which you have raised.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
James
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '18
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location
4
"Poor experience"
The rooms are damp and fusty . The lower one ,you can wipe the paint from the walls . Such a shame as the location is very good . Sort this issue and it would be perfect ,however at this time the room… Read more
"Poor experience"
The rooms are damp and fusty . The lower one ,you can wipe the paint from the walls . Such a shame as the location is very good . Sort this issue and it would be perfect ,however at this time the rooms are not fit for purpose Shame really Read less
Likes:
The beer is really good and the food looked the same
Dislikes:
The guest rooms are damp and this problem really needs addressing if these rooms are to be offered
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
More Information
3 Stars Self Assessed Guest HouseCask Marque 2015Food Hygiene Rating 5*Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence
Parking
On-site parking, Free parking
Types of Payment Accepted at Engine Inn
Cash (GBP), Credit card, Debit card
Payment Cards accepted at the property
American Express Master Card Maestro Visa Visa Electron 
Check-in: 3:00 PM till 7:00 PM
Early check-in available on request.
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Policies
Children Policy: Children welcome
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: All pets
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
English
‘The Engine Inn’ is situated adjacent to the main B3311 road. In easy travelling distance are Zennor, with its legend of the mermaid, the iron age village of Chysauster, the Minack theatre, overlooking the sea and Land’s End; as are the spectacular beaches and coves of this area. With a public footpath running to the rear of the property and its own paddock, The Engine is ideally situated for walkers, cyclists and horse riders.
Parts of the building date back to the 1700’s and in its time it has been the counting house for the local tin mine and a farmhouse, before its most recent incarnation, some decades ago, as a pub. Nowadays ‘The Engine’ is the only pub serving the hamlet of Cripplesease and Nancledra village and is a thriving ‘local’ at the very heart of the community.
Under new ownership since February 2015, The pub retains a traditional feel with comfy leather sofas round the wood burning stove and relics of its mining and agricultural past around the bar. The landlord and landlady, Adrian and Karen offer a range of lagers, ciders, wines and local Cornish and guest ales. We are fast becoming renowned locally for the quality of our home cooked, reasonably priced food, based around fresh local ingredients. There is a separate Pirates and Mermaids menu for the under 8’s. Highchairs are also available. PLEASE NOTE during winter months opening times and food service are more limited. Please ring for details.
Monday at 8pm is quiz night. Locals and guests alike can participate in the popular fun quiz night to raise money for local charities. Tuesday is acoustic night when talented local musicians gather to play and chill out. The last Friday of the month is open mic night and in peak season Fridays sees live music featuring local bands and artists. The bar also has pool, darts,and cards.
Both letting rooms have TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and a small fridge. Rooms are inclusive of full Cornish breakfast prepared using fresh local ingredients.
Environmental Statement
In an attempt to be environmentally friendly, guests' towels and bed linen are not normally changed daily as a matter of course. Towels are normally changed on alternate days, with linen changed every three or four days during a guest's stay. If you require more frequent changes of towels, please ask a member of staff. Cripplesease is a very rural area with little light pollution, making it an ideal place to enjoy stargazing. In consequence, lighting around the property has been kept to a minimum, however torches are provided to assist guests' movement around the grounds at night. The property does not benefit from mains drainage, but instead has a septic tank. Guests are therefore politely requested to refrain from placing anything other than toilet paper into the toilets to avoid potential blockages.
Style of property
Rustic, Secluded, Traditional
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.