MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Maristow
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
1.90 miles away
The Coldstreamer
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
3.30 miles away
Boskednan Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
3.90 miles away
Whiteways Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.10 miles away
Carnson House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed & breakfast
4.10 miles away
Dolphin Tavern
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
4.50 miles away
Camilla House Limited
Guest House Photo
AA 5 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.60 miles away
The Stanley
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.60 miles away
The Old Vicarage
Guest House Photo
AA 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Guest house
4.70 miles away
Westbourne Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.80 miles away
Engine Inn Penzance
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.2
See all 11 reviews
Cripplesease, Nancledra

Penzance, 

Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, 


TR20 8NF,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for Engine Inn, Penzance
Guest reviews for Engine Inn, Penzance are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.8
Value:
3.9
Friendliness:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.0
Facilities:
3.7
Staff service:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Breakfast:
4.4
Guest Rating:
4.2
From 11 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 Next
ALEXANDER
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '18
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
1
Location:
4
"Disappointing Stay at the Engine Inn."
We were not expected as the Inn was closed when we arrived despite stating open from 3pm. There was no food available on the Friday evening and the chef was not available for any breakfasts. My wife… Read more
"Disappointing Stay at the Engine Inn."
We were not expected as the Inn was closed when we arrived despite stating open from 3pm. There was no food available on the Friday evening and the chef was not available for any breakfasts. My wife asked for poached eggs but the owner said she couldn't cook them. The room was damp and had a dehumidifier running all day - which I emptied as there was no room service. The shower had a very low pressure water flow, the Internet was unreliable and only available in the bar. Very disappointed. Read less
Likes:
Only the location sadly.
Dislikes:
The service and facilities were not as described in the various comments and I wondered if we were talking about the same placce. The venue had gone down hil quite steeply since our last visit.
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Engine, I am sorry to know that you were disappointed with your stay. As the electronic system only permits a very brief response, I will email you personally in due course to address the concerns which you have raised.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Linda
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very relaxing"
Clean and comfortable everything you need… Read more
"Very relaxing"
Clean and comfortable everything you need Read less
Likes:
Very comfortable lovely atmosphere and all the staff made you fell very welcome nothing was to much trouble definitely would stop again
Dislikes:
None
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you Linda for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and would be prepared to recommend us. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Alan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely old pub in a great moorland location."
Mid-week break to enjoy the Cornwall countryside.… Read more
"Lovely old pub in a great moorland location."
Mid-week break to enjoy the Cornwall countryside. Read less
Likes:
Very friendly and accommodating landlord/landlady and very attentive chef serving excellent Full English and evening meals. Brilliant quirky beamed room in a converted barn with views over the moor
Dislikes:
An observation, not a criticism. Access to the room we had was via wooden stairs and stone steps, so not suitable for everyone.
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us. I am so pleased to know that you were happy with your stay, the welcome and the food and that you would recommend us. You are correct that the access to Trencrom room is not suitable for everyone, however the other room, Trink, is on the ground floor and has fairly level access, as well as an en suite wet room which may be more suitable for guests with mobility difficulties.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
STEVE
Mature Couple
Stayed: Nov '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly Pub Stay"
Decided on a last minute break when visiting Penzance. This pub is ideally situated between Penzance and St Ives. The accommodation was of a high quality and as it was situated away from the main pub… Read more
"Friendly Pub Stay"
Decided on a last minute break when visiting Penzance. This pub is ideally situated between Penzance and St Ives. The accommodation was of a high quality and as it was situated away from the main pub it was very quiet.Our only slight negative was the room was a little chilly when we arrived.Food is of a good standard and the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The owners, staff,chef and locals were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Read less
Likes:
Loved the "Open Music Night" which is held on the last Friday of the month. The new owners certainly go the extra mile. How pleasant to find a local pub that is well supported.
Dislikes:
None
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us. We were so pleased that you and Kay enjoyed the visit and that you would be happy to recommend us. We hope to welcome you back to The Engine again soon.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Jennifer
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Superb peaceful break in Cornwall countryside"
Set in the beautiful and breathtaking Cornish countryside is the Engine Inn. Peaceful surroundings, perfect for a relaxing break.

Fantastic food and one of the best breakfasts we've had. Proper pu… Read more
"Superb peaceful break in Cornwall countryside"
Set in the beautiful and breathtaking Cornish countryside is the Engine Inn. Peaceful surroundings, perfect for a relaxing break.

Fantastic food and one of the best breakfasts we've had. Proper pub food, all cooked perfectly....cannot fault anything! Read less
Likes:
The room in the converted barn was fantastic and full of character.

In addition, the friendliness shown to us by the owners and staff was second to none, they really couldn't do enough.
Dislikes:
There was nothing we didn't like but if there was any suggestion we could give, it would be to provide an outside light for the accommodation... that's all!
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so pleased to know that you appreciated the room, enjoyed the food and found the welcome you received, so warm. We are currently looking at how we can best provide appropriate external lighting for the accommodation which will not disturb guests in the downstairs room or provide light pollution to detract from the beauty of the stars visible on clear nights.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Janet
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '16
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Value for money"
Thoroughly enjoyed our little break. Although living in Cornwall it was lovely to spend time "down West!" Great food, including vegetarian.… Read more
"Value for money"
Thoroughly enjoyed our little break. Although living in Cornwall it was lovely to spend time "down West!" Great food, including vegetarian. Read less
Likes:
Our stay at the Engine Inn was great fun and all the staff were lovely. The barn accomodation was different, but comforable and clean and we,including our little dog, were made to feel most welcome.
Dislikes:
Improvements are being made, but we felt great value for money.
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you Janet for taking the time to write your review and for both your positive comments and constructive feedback, which we are endeavouring to act upon. I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Greg
Young Couple
Stayed: Dec '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"A joy"
We arrived and was met by Karen who was warm and welcoming despite the monsoon outside. We were shown to our lovely room in the converted Barn with a huge double bed. The food was great pub grub, ho… Read more
"A joy"
We arrived and was met by Karen who was warm and welcoming despite the monsoon outside. We were shown to our lovely room in the converted Barn with a huge double bed. The food was great pub grub, homemade pies, gammon etc, portions were large and all well cooked. Its a great local pub and the locals were warm and friendly, there was a large wood burner in the bar, great ales and cider. Read less
Likes:
Karen and Adrian are absolutely lovely and clearly enjoy their jobs, the pub is welcoming and the room really comfy. The Engine is only a few miles from St Ives and in a beautiful location
Dislikes:
None
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your stay here. I can only apologise that due to technical difficulties I have been unable to provide a response before now. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the whole atmosphere of The Engine Inn and hope that you will return again soon.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
David
Mature Couple
Stayed: Oct '15
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
2
Location:
3
Breakfast:
1
"Room for improvement"
We chose this accommodation as it was in Penzance and within close distance to the ferry for the Isles of Scilly. Originally we were going to book 2 nights, the other being for the return journey. We… Read more
"Room for improvement"
We chose this accommodation as it was in Penzance and within close distance to the ferry for the Isles of Scilly. Originally we were going to book 2 nights, the other being for the return journey. We are glad we only booked for the one night. I'm afraid we were disappointed all round. The Engine Inn has a very tired feel about it and really could do with a good clean.There is a smoking room next to the main bar and there was continuous smell of tobacco wafting through,altogether quite unpleasan. Read less
Likes:
Large bed.
Dislikes:
Broken glass and chair left at the bottom of the steps outside our room. Smelling drain in shower room. Cobwebs everywhere.
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and my sincere apologies for the technical difficulties which have prevented me from uploading a response much sooner. I am sorry that you felt disappointed by your stay. We have noted your comments and, would like to assure you that as a still relatively new business are constantly trying to make improvements to the fabric of the buildings, the grounds and the service we offer.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Austen
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Engine Room Inn - Great Spot for Refuelling"
One night stopover before meeting friends staying in St Ives… Read more
"Engine Room Inn - Great Spot for Refuelling"
One night stopover before meeting friends staying in St Ives Read less
Likes:
The characterful barn conversion room, the excellent pub atmosphere, very good live music on the night we were there, really delicious bar food, nicely cooked and sensibly priced, superbly kept ales,
Dislikes:
no - it was good!
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for your extremely positive review. I am only sorry that technical difficulties have prevented me from responding within a reasonable timescale. I am so pleased that you would be happy to recommend 'The Engine' to a friend and that you enjoyed the live music, food and liquid refreshment! Thank you too for the words of encouragement about what we are doing. Certainly is a shame about the Watford supporter. (Signed the Spurs supporter).
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Graham
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Cornish Retreat"
Weekend stay to visit relatives nearby.… Read more
"Cornish Retreat"
Weekend stay to visit relatives nearby. Read less
Likes:
Huge bedroom. Stunning views, and a great breakfast freshly cooked.
Dislikes:
No
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to provide a review. I am only sorry that due to technical difficulties I have been unable to publish my response sooner. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you feel able to recommend us to your friends.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Page: 1 | 2 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.