MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

St Ives BnB at Chypons farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.40 miles away
Maristow
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
1.90 miles away
Lower Crankan Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.10 miles away
The Coldstreamer
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
3.30 miles away
Star Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Pub
3.30 miles away
Chyreen@Marazion
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.50 miles away
Boskednan Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.90 miles away
Whiteways Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.10 miles away
Carnson House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
4.10 miles away
Dolphin Tavern
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
4.50 miles away
Engine Inn Penzance
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
Guest Rating: 4
See all 16 reviews
Cripplesease, Nancledra

Penzance, 

Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, 


TR20 8NF,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for Engine Inn, Penzance
Guest reviews for Engine Inn, Penzance are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.7
Value:
3.8
Friendliness:
4.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Facilities:
3.8
Staff service:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating:
4
From 16 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 Next
David
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Short break"
A short break… Read more
"Short break"
A short break Read less
Likes:
Location and friendliness of the people
Dislikes:
None
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review us. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed it.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
barry
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Highly satisfied"
We stayed in the barn conversion and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, finding it very cosy and quite central to all areas we wished to visit.… Read more
"Highly satisfied"
We stayed in the barn conversion and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, finding it very cosy and quite central to all areas we wished to visit. Read less
Likes:
We enjoyed the 'local' atmosphere of the pub and also frequently stayed to the evening meal. (man-sized portions of good food)
Dislikes:
We were satisfied that all areas of comfort had been addressed.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Holly
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jul '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"na"
na… Read more
"na"
na Read less
Likes:
na
Dislikes:
na
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for taking the trouble to rate your stay so highly.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Catherinre
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Quirky local pub with barn conversion rooms"
Great location 5 mins south of StIves with free parking,10 mins from the Scilly Parking in Ludgvan, making it ideal when coming from the Scillonian ferry. Problem with the staff meant only basic food… Read more
"Quirky local pub with barn conversion rooms"
Great location 5 mins south of StIves with free parking,10 mins from the Scilly Parking in Ludgvan, making it ideal when coming from the Scillonian ferry. Problem with the staff meant only basic food that evening was available.
Comfortable bed, slept well. Read less
Likes:
Large room, lovely breakfast and host. The pub had an impromtu music evening, board games,pool and darts available.
Outside pub area was lovely with lots of flowers/pots.
Dislikes:
The room/barn needed some outside lighting although a torch was given with the key. Outbuilding adjacent to the entrance of the barn was cluttered, needed covering. Cobwebs in the room. Smelt fusty.
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay. I am sorry that your room was not to your liking, but pleased to know that there were other aspects of your stay which you really enjoyed and that you would still recommend us.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
James
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '18
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
4
"Poor experience"
The rooms are damp and fusty . The lower one ,you can wipe the paint from the walls . Such a shame as the location is very good . Sort this issue and it would be perfect ,however at this time the room… Read more
"Poor experience"
The rooms are damp and fusty . The lower one ,you can wipe the paint from the walls . Such a shame as the location is very good . Sort this issue and it would be perfect ,however at this time the rooms are not fit for purpose Shame really Read less
Likes:
The beer is really good and the food looked the same
Dislikes:
The guest rooms are damp and this problem really needs addressing if these rooms are to be offered
Response from Engine Inn:
I am sorry to know that you were disappointed with your room, but pleased to know that there were other aspects of your stay which were more positive.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
ALEXANDER
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '18
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
1
Location:
4
"Disappointing Stay at the Engine Inn."
We were not expected as the Inn was closed when we arrived despite stating open from 3pm. There was no food available on the Friday evening and the chef was not available for any breakfasts. My wife… Read more
"Disappointing Stay at the Engine Inn."
We were not expected as the Inn was closed when we arrived despite stating open from 3pm. There was no food available on the Friday evening and the chef was not available for any breakfasts. My wife asked for poached eggs but the owner said she couldn't cook them. The room was damp and had a dehumidifier running all day - which I emptied as there was no room service. The shower had a very low pressure water flow, the Internet was unreliable and only available in the bar. Very disappointed. Read less
Likes:
Only the location sadly.
Dislikes:
The service and facilities were not as described in the various comments and I wondered if we were talking about the same placce. The venue had gone down hil quite steeply since our last visit.
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Engine, I am sorry to know that you were disappointed with your stay. As the electronic system only permits a very brief response, I will email you personally in due course to address the concerns which you have raised.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Linda
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very relaxing"
Clean and comfortable everything you need… Read more
"Very relaxing"
Clean and comfortable everything you need Read less
Likes:
Very comfortable lovely atmosphere and all the staff made you fell very welcome nothing was to much trouble definitely would stop again
Dislikes:
None
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you Linda for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and would be prepared to recommend us. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Alan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely old pub in a great moorland location."
Mid-week break to enjoy the Cornwall countryside.… Read more
"Lovely old pub in a great moorland location."
Mid-week break to enjoy the Cornwall countryside. Read less
Likes:
Very friendly and accommodating landlord/landlady and very attentive chef serving excellent Full English and evening meals. Brilliant quirky beamed room in a converted barn with views over the moor
Dislikes:
An observation, not a criticism. Access to the room we had was via wooden stairs and stone steps, so not suitable for everyone.
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us. I am so pleased to know that you were happy with your stay, the welcome and the food and that you would recommend us. You are correct that the access to Trencrom room is not suitable for everyone, however the other room, Trink, is on the ground floor and has fairly level access, as well as an en suite wet room which may be more suitable for guests with mobility difficulties.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
STEVE
Mature Couple
Stayed: Nov '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly Pub Stay"
Decided on a last minute break when visiting Penzance. This pub is ideally situated between Penzance and St Ives. The accommodation was of a high quality and as it was situated away from the main pub… Read more
"Friendly Pub Stay"
Decided on a last minute break when visiting Penzance. This pub is ideally situated between Penzance and St Ives. The accommodation was of a high quality and as it was situated away from the main pub it was very quiet.Our only slight negative was the room was a little chilly when we arrived.Food is of a good standard and the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The owners, staff,chef and locals were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble.We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Read less
Likes:
Loved the "Open Music Night" which is held on the last Friday of the month. The new owners certainly go the extra mile. How pleasant to find a local pub that is well supported.
Dislikes:
None
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us. We were so pleased that you and Kay enjoyed the visit and that you would be happy to recommend us. We hope to welcome you back to The Engine again soon.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Jennifer
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Superb peaceful break in Cornwall countryside"
Set in the beautiful and breathtaking Cornish countryside is the Engine Inn. Peaceful surroundings, perfect for a relaxing break.

Fantastic food and one of the best breakfasts we've had. Proper pu… Read more
"Superb peaceful break in Cornwall countryside"
Set in the beautiful and breathtaking Cornish countryside is the Engine Inn. Peaceful surroundings, perfect for a relaxing break.

Fantastic food and one of the best breakfasts we've had. Proper pub food, all cooked perfectly....cannot fault anything! Read less
Likes:
The room in the converted barn was fantastic and full of character.

In addition, the friendliness shown to us by the owners and staff was second to none, they really couldn't do enough.
Dislikes:
There was nothing we didn't like but if there was any suggestion we could give, it would be to provide an outside light for the accommodation... that's all!
Response from Engine Inn:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so pleased to know that you appreciated the room, enjoyed the food and found the welcome you received, so warm. We are currently looking at how we can best provide appropriate external lighting for the accommodation which will not disturb guests in the downstairs room or provide light pollution to detract from the beauty of the stars visible on clear nights.
Guest Review for Engine Inn, Penzance
Page: 1 | 2 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.