MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Briers
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
1.20 miles away
Cherryhill Lodge
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
1.30 miles away
Millbrook Lodge Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
12.30 miles away
The Oystercatcher
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
14.90 miles away
The Balmoral
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
16.60 miles away
Lisnacurran B & B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
18.10 miles away
Dunhill Cottage
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
19.10 miles away
Donard Hotel Newcastle
Northern Ireland Tourist Board 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4
See all 70 reviews
29 Main Street

Newcastle, 

County Down, 


BT33 0AD,  Northern Ireland
Average Guest Rating for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Guest reviews for Donard Hotel, Newcastle are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.7
Value:
3.9
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Facilities:
3.6
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Breakfast:
4.3
Guest Rating:
4
From 70 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next
Bob
Mature Couple
Stayed: Dec '14
4
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
3
"Friendly staff but a bit of a rundown feel."
Stayed to visit event in Tap Room bar… Read more
"Friendly staff but a bit of a rundown feel."
Stayed to visit event in Tap Room bar Read less
Likes:
Convenience to centre
Dislikes:
None
Response from Donard Hotel:
Sorry. Out of season for the hotel and probably not seen in our best light
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Colm
With a colleague
Stayed: Oct '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"good experience"
hassle free… Read more
"good experience"
hassle free Read less
Likes:
location, breakfast, space in room
Dislikes:
decor slightly dated in room
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Christine
Alone
Stayed: Aug '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"good value hotel"
Stayed for 2 night's at the Donard hotel for leisure purposes, rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet and had a good night's sleep. Convenient as top of main street in Newcastle.… Read more
"good value hotel"
Stayed for 2 night's at the Donard hotel for leisure purposes, rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet and had a good night's sleep. Convenient as top of main street in Newcastle. Read less
Likes:
The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food in restaurant was great and good value and the cooked to order breakfast in the morning was excellent.
Dislikes:
Hotel could do with a bit of a face lift to brighten it up but this would not stop me staying there again.
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Geraldine
Alone
Stayed: Jul '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Relaxed, pleasant stay"
I had a very pleasant stay at the Donard. The staff were friendly and helpful and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. I'm looking forward to a return visit!… Read more
"Relaxed, pleasant stay"
I had a very pleasant stay at the Donard. The staff were friendly and helpful and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. I'm looking forward to a return visit! Read less
Likes:
I enjoyed being in such a central location. Everything was in walking distance. There was a great menu on offer in the hotel restaurant & breakfast was made to order.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Anne
Alone
Stayed: Jul '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"comfortable hotel, convenient location, clean, friendly staff and good food."
I stayed for 2 nights at the Donard Hotel in Newcastle. The hotel was lovely and good value for money. I would definitely make a return visit, it is close to all the amenities Newcastle has to offer… Read more
"comfortable hotel, convenient location, clean, friendly staff and good food."
I stayed for 2 nights at the Donard Hotel in Newcastle. The hotel was lovely and good value for money. I would definitely make a return visit, it is close to all the amenities Newcastle has to offer and around the corner from the bus stop, I took a trip to Kilkeel which is a very scenic route. Overall a very pleasant stay, and thanks to the very friendly staff! Read less
Likes:
Everything.
Dislikes:
Nothing.
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Lynette
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Great Stay"
Lovely Hotel, great staff, great location… Read more
"Great Stay"
Lovely Hotel, great staff, great location Read less
Likes:
we had a problem with ussupervised kids in the room next room squealing,yelling and banging around their room, we were moved to another room without hesitation.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Bruce
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jul '14
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
2
Location:
4
Breakfast:
1
"Simple"
Strop over before 4-Peaks challenge the following morning… Read more
"Simple"
Strop over before 4-Peaks challenge the following morning Read less
Likes:
convenient location
Dislikes:
Breakfast was not served until 8.30
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
yvonne
Family with older Children
Stayed: Jun '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
3
Breakfast:
4
"Very disappointing"
The cost for one night was excessive and considerably more than other hotels in the area. I am puzzled how this could be fair as the excellent Avoca hotel nearby cost considerably less and is much mor… Read more
"Very disappointing"
The cost for one night was excessive and considerably more than other hotels in the area. I am puzzled how this could be fair as the excellent Avoca hotel nearby cost considerably less and is much more up to date with beautiful sea views, as I stayed there a couple of years ago. Read less
Likes:
The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely.
Dislikes:
My main concern was the cost, I thought the hotel would be amazing, because of the cost. One towel for 2 people, missing glass holder/loo roll holder/only 1 glass, no biscuits. 2 stars
Response from Donard Hotel:
Thank you for review and i apologize for missing fixtures in the bathroom. The single towel was obviously a housekeeping error and a phone call from the room would have sorted that problem. A cost of £50.00 per person bed and breakfast is not particularly expensive and is considerably lower than the other hotels in Newcastle( except the Avoca which provides only ensuite shower rooms in a few rooms and cost £40.00 pppn) Most patrons feel we offer good value. Please visit Tripadvisor
to compare
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Stephen
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Welcomed"
We had a comfortable stay in friendly atmosphere… Read more
"Welcomed"
We had a comfortable stay in friendly atmosphere Read less
Likes:
The above!!
Dislikes:
No not really
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Keith
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"A stay at the Donard Hotel"
Spacious rooms and personal attention from all employees at the Donard Hotel especially Pat who provided transport in his own vehicle to Royal County Down for us… Read more
"A stay at the Donard Hotel"
Spacious rooms and personal attention from all employees at the Donard Hotel especially Pat who provided transport in his own vehicle to Royal County Down for us Read less
Likes:
Location and friendliness of staff
Dislikes:
Nothing to report
Guest Review for Donard Hotel, Newcastle
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.