MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Willowbeck Lodge
Hotel Photo
Visit Britain 5 Stars Guest Accommodation
Hotel
6.80 miles away
Arkale Lodge
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
8.20 miles away
Holly Trees Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
8.30 miles away
Cherry Grove Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
8.40 miles away
East View Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
8.50 miles away
Marlborough House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
9.40 miles away
Acorn Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
9.60 miles away
Brandelhow Guest House
Guest House Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
9.90 miles away
Caledonia Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
10.30 miles away
Abbey House Bed and Breakfast
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
10.30 miles away
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.5
See all 4 reviews
Front Street

Armathwaite, 

Cumbria, 


CA4 9PB,  England
The Duke's Head is a small friendly Inn which offers accommodation, good food, friendly service and real ales. Our contact number is 016974 72226, Email Address wardjulie4242@googlemail.com
  • Free Parking
  • Friendly Staff
  • Stunning Scenery
  • Good Fishing
  • River Eden
  • Bar / Restaurant
  • Affordable Prices
  • Real Ales
  • Good Walks
Check Prices and Availability
Double En-Suite RoomDouble En-Suite Room
from£58.00
Double Private BathroomDouble Private Bathroom
from£58.00
Twin Private BathroomTwin Private Bathroom
from£55.00
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for The Duke's Head Hotel, Armathwaite are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.3
Value:
4.5
Friendliness:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Facilities:
4.0
Staff service:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Breakfast:
3.8
Guest Rating: 4.5
See all 4 reviews
barbara
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"perfect, wish we'd stay longer!"
wanted somewhere to stay enroute to edinburgh,but it turned out to be much more than that!… Read more
"perfect, wish we'd stay longer!"
wanted somewhere to stay enroute to edinburgh,but it turned out to be much more than that! Read less
Likes:
warm and freindly atmosphere, location & surroundings.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Duke's Head Hotel, Armathwaite
Katherine
Group of Adults
Stayed: Sep '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"Short break for my disabled daughter in surroundings that have happy memories for her."
There were three of us, myself, daughter with learning difficulties and a carer/friend, of varying ages hence the difficulty in stating age section. Lovely area with easy access to the lakes and plent… Read more
"Short break for my disabled daughter in surroundings that have happy memories for her."
There were three of us, myself, daughter with learning difficulties and a carer/friend, of varying ages hence the difficulty in stating age section. Lovely area with easy access to the lakes and plenty of beauty spots pity our stay was so short as we did not have time to visit the local areas of interest. Also sister lives just outside the village and we had the opportunity to visit her. Read less
Likes:
Very friendly,hospitable and understanding Landlord/Landlady.
Dislikes:
One evening meal was not up to usual standard (meat pudding)
Guest Review for The Duke's Head Hotel, Armathwaite
John
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location
4
Breakfast:
3
"Good Overnighter"
Value for money over night stay.… Read more
"Good Overnighter"
Value for money over night stay. Read less
Likes:
Good dinner in the pub. Excellent value for money and possibly the best "Ribs" I,be ever had, the sauce was to die for.
Dislikes:
Problems with power. Lights barely worked and tv did not work at all? Probably not a problem caused by the hotel, but nevertheless a nuisance.
Breakfast was good but the extra thin sausage strange.
Response from The Duke's Head Hotel:
The reason for the problem with the power was because there was a power cut, the reason why some power was on but on low wattage is because the building has three different sources of power, not that we ourselves undrestand this, we did discuss this with the customer on check out, also, the villages around us also had there power cut it was not just Armathwaite or just The Dukes Head
Guest Review for The Duke's Head Hotel, Armathwaite
More Information
3 Stars Self Assessed Guest House
Parking
On-site parking, Free parking
Types of Payment Accepted at The Duke's Head Hotel
Cash (Sterling), Credit card, Debit card
Payment Cards accepted at the property
Master Card Maestro Visa 
Check-in: 4:00 PM till 9:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Policies
Children Policy: Adults only
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: Dogs
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
English
Nestled next to The River Eden, The Duke's Head Inn offers a warm welcolme to all. We are only a short walk from the Settle to Carlilse railway which stops in the village and only a short drive to the M6.

The inn has 5 cosy bedrooms room 5 can be either a double bed or 2 single beds please state when you book this room which you would like.We have a restaurant and a bar.

All our food is homemade with all produce locally sourced. We have a pie of the week, which is a proper pie encased in a shortcrust pasty, as a pie should be! We also have a specials board that changes weekly as well as a fixed menu.

WE only except dogs.We are small dog friendly with limitations. Jack Russell size dogs only please. WE CHARGE £5.00 PER DOG PER NIGHT, AND PLEASE DO NOT GO OUT ALL DAY AND LEAVE YOUR DOG IN THE ROOM, dogs are allowed in the back bar ONLY should you wish to eat in the evening. Breakfast is served in the restaurant area only.

So come along and enjoy stunning scenery, good walks, good fishing as well as good food and a pint or two at the Duke's Head. Find us on facebook.

Breakfast is served daily, serving times are Monday - Friday 8am - 9.30am, and Saturday - Sunday 9am - 10am.

PLEASE NOTE, WE CLOSE AT 12 O'CLOCK MIDNIGHT AND DO NOT GIVE KEYS OUT FOR THE FRONT DOOR.
PLEASE NOTE:WE ONLY EXCEPT SMALL DOGS. WE CHARGE £5 PER DOG PER NIGHT and dogs are ONLY ALLOWED IN THE BACK BAR should you wish to eat in the evening.
CHECK IN TIME IS FROM 16:00 hrs ....... please remember check in is from 16hrs we will not be open before this time.

FOR SAT NAV: CA4 9PB
PLEASE NOTE: A BEDROOM WITH PRIVATE FACILITES MEANS IT IS NOT EN- SUITE, THE BATHROOM IS SEPARATE IN THE CORRIDOR
Environmental Statement
All bedrooms are non-smoking. Bars and food areas are all non-smoking.
Style of property
Comfortable, Homely, Traditional
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.