MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Boot and Shoe
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
2.20 miles away
The Mill Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
4.20 miles away
Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
4.40 miles away
Queens Head Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.80 miles away
Acorn Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
5.60 miles away
Brandelhow Guest House
Guest House Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
5.70 miles away
Caledonia Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
5.80 miles away
Abbey House Bed and Breakfast
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
5.80 miles away
The Bungalows Country Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
6.90 miles away
Rebels Hide
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
6.90 miles away
The Herdwick Inn Penrith
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.3
See all 233 reviews
Penruddock

Penrith, 

Cumbria, 


CA11 0QU,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
Guest reviews for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.9
Value:
4.4
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Facilities:
3.9
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.4
Guest Rating:
4.3
From 233 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
PG
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"A REAL welcome after a horrendous drive from Dorst"
We were staying close the M6 en route from Dorset to Edinburgh. We found The Herdwick on a website. It was a really friendly local pub that welcomed travellers as well, and served nourishing and inter… Read more
"A REAL welcome after a horrendous drive from Dorst"
We were staying close the M6 en route from Dorset to Edinburgh. We found The Herdwick on a website. It was a really friendly local pub that welcomed travellers as well, and served nourishing and interesting food till really late. Read less
Likes:
We liked the welcome, the food and the friendly atmosphere in what seemed to be a real local - just what we wanted
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
Yvonne
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
3
Breakfast:
5
"Good Food. Friendly Staff"
Base for walking… Read more
"Good Food. Friendly Staff"
Base for walking Read less
Likes:
Good Food Nice staff
Dislikes:
Wrong side of A66
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
yvonne
Group of Adults
Stayed: Aug '14
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Family reunion at the quaint Herdwick Inn."
Swift check-in to one of the 5 rooms. We had room 4 which was a twin converted to a double. We met family for dinner in the lovely restaurant with a mezzanine floor . The food we chose included Lamb H… Read more
"Family reunion at the quaint Herdwick Inn."
Swift check-in to one of the 5 rooms. We had room 4 which was a twin converted to a double. We met family for dinner in the lovely restaurant with a mezzanine floor . The food we chose included Lamb Henry , roast beef & Yorkshire pudding, Cumberland sausage & mash and chicken tikka masala . The lemon meringue pie and ice cream was simply delicious for dessert. All washed down with nicely chilled Sauvignon blanc and Real Ales. Read less
Likes:
Food was very good and plentiful. Staff were friendly and the Inn was really quaint. Nice selection of real ales.
Dislikes:
The walls of the bedrooms were very thin and we were awakened several times during the night with t.v noise, people talking and a baby crying. Hence We were somewhat tired in the morning.
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
Mary
Group of Adults
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Hidden gem"
Lovely pub, great food and friendly staff… Read more
"Hidden gem"
Lovely pub, great food and friendly staff Read less
Likes:
Lovely room, great food and real ale
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
Barbara
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very good"
very good… Read more
"Very good"
very good Read less
Likes:
very good
Dislikes:
The shower took too long to get warm/hot
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
Robert
Alone
Stayed: Jul '14
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Wish I'd stayed somewhere else."
I stayed three nights. Wish I hadn't. I barely got any sleep on account of a very noisy bar till 2am. The bed was uncomfortable. The shower temperature adjustment didn't work properly. The soap dish w… Read more
"Wish I'd stayed somewhere else."
I stayed three nights. Wish I hadn't. I barely got any sleep on account of a very noisy bar till 2am. The bed was uncomfortable. The shower temperature adjustment didn't work properly. The soap dish was missing so there was nowhere to put soap or shampoo. There was no wardrobe in the room, just a chest of drawers. There wasn't even a chair to put clothes on at night. Needless to say I won't be staying at the Herdwick Inn again. An altogether unpleasant experience. Read less
Likes:
The staff were pleasant.
Dislikes:
The main issue with this B&B is that it was very noisy at night. The bar was open to residents till 2am. Music and loud voices meant I couldn't sleep till after 2am. The bar is directly below the room
Response from The Herdwick Inn:
We will take your comments onboard, however the Inn was'nt noisy every night, we are a pub not a Hotel and Fridays are busy in the vast majority of pubs in the country, your room has hanging space and a chest of drawers, the chair was missing as it had been broken and was out for repair. Had you mentioned your concerns at the time we could of remedied some of them but you said all was fine at checkout. Regards Mark.
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
David
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely place to stay with top class food"
Stayed for one night bed & breakfast while visiting Lake District ,lovely welcome by the owners brilliant selection of beers , we were told to book a table in the restaurant for the evening meal as it… Read more
"Lovely place to stay with top class food"
Stayed for one night bed & breakfast while visiting Lake District ,lovely welcome by the owners brilliant selection of beers , we were told to book a table in the restaurant for the evening meal as it gets busy so we did ,what a good job we did as it sharp filled up , the meal was absolutely fantastic . We will be staying there again the next time we are in the area :-) Read less
Likes:
Fantastic food and a warm welcome
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
Joan
Alone
Stayed: Jul '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"excellent setting and room was very good"
Pleasant relaxed atmosphere, very good food and good service.… Read more
"excellent setting and room was very good"
Pleasant relaxed atmosphere, very good food and good service. Read less
Likes:
Had no complaints a very good experience
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
John
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jul '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent value for money"
Stayed with my son & his Father-in-law prior to attending sporting event the following day.… Read more
"Excellent value for money"
Stayed with my son & his Father-in-law prior to attending sporting event the following day. Read less
Likes:
Staff very helpful & friendly. Able to check in much earlier than stated time. food excellent. needed to leave early next morning & provided very good, early breakfast.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
Helen
Family with older Children
Stayed: Jul '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Calm, friendly, great value."
I was attending a local event with our teen son and didn't want to drive almost two hours from where we are currently in order to arrive by 8:30am. I was reading a book with the characters stopping at… Read more
"Calm, friendly, great value."
I was attending a local event with our teen son and didn't want to drive almost two hours from where we are currently in order to arrive by 8:30am. I was reading a book with the characters stopping at inns and I thought, "I could do that!" So I did. We enjoyed a good hot dinner when we arrived. Then some pints of excellent Jennings cask ales before climbing the old stone steps to our modern room :) Read less
Likes:
The room was clean and well set out with complimentary tea/coffee and wifi. The pub was cosy with a friendly atmosphere. Great staff, accommodating and helpful.
Dislikes:
Not really a dislike but the en suite is a tiny space. If you are used to larger hotels be aware of that.
Guest Review for The Herdwick Inn, Penrith
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.