MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Strete Barton House
Guest House Photo
AA 5 Stars Guest House
Guest house
3.30 miles away
Frogwell
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Apartment
3.30 miles away
The Watermans Arms
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Inn
Bed & breakfast
3.50 miles away
The Tower Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
3.80 miles away
The Durant Arms
Hotel Photo
Inn
3.90 miles away
Townstal Farmhouse
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.10 miles away
Anchor House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed & breakfast
4.20 miles away
Mounthaven Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 5 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed & breakfast
4.30 miles away
The Seale Arms
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.40 miles away
Bayards Cove Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Hotel
4.50 miles away
Visit England 3 Stars Inn
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.6
See all 83 reviews
Main Street ,

Blackawton , 

Devon, 


TQ9 7BG,  United Kingdom
Traditional village inn, rated 3* by VisitBritain & AA, in the heart of Blackawton, a real "pub", and restaurant with clean & comfortable guest rooms offering real value & choice, a genuine warm welcome and excellent customer service. Check in times are 13:00 - 14:00 & 17:00 - 22:00 Monday - Thursday, 13:00 - 15:00 & 17:00 - 22:00 Friday & Saturday, 13:00 - 19:00 Sunday. If you would like early check in or times outside of these times please arrange at time of booking.
  • Heart of the Village
  • Traditional real pub
  • Family friendly
  • Warm welcome
  • Wood burning stoves
  • Free parking
  • Restaurant
  • Dog friendly
  • Excellent service
  • Cosy bar
Check Prices and Availability
Family-Ensuite-(Room 5)Family-Ensuite-(Room 5)
from£78.00
Family-Ensuite-(Room 03)Family-Ensuite-(Room 03)
from£78.00
Double-EnsuiteDouble-Ensuite
from£62.00
No imageCottage-Cottage-Private Bathroom-Poppy Cottage
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.4
Value:
4.5
Friendliness:
4.9
Cleanliness:
4.8
Facilities:
4.3
Staff service:
4.8
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.5
Guest Rating: 4.6
See all 83 reviews
Philip
Group of Adults
Stayed: Nov '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"A pub with rooms, just what we wanted!. Good value. Excellent breakfast"
Great, Many thanks, friendly family run pub.… Read more
"A pub with rooms, just what we wanted!. Good value. Excellent breakfast"
Great, Many thanks, friendly family run pub. Read less
Likes:
everything
Dislikes:
nothing
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you so much for the review, folk are rarely prepared to score 5's unreservedly so I am very pleased that your brief stay with us was enjoyable. We appreciate your understanding that we are a "pub with rooms" rather than a "hotel", it makes a difference when guests have an inkling of what to expect when they book with us. Thanks again for your visit and the review.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Ian
Mature Couple
Stayed: Nov '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"Another great night"
We visited for the 3rd time specifically for the villages firework night they are spectacular. The pub is a good old local but the locals embrace us “outsiders” and we’ve always felt comfortable. The… Read more
"Another great night"
We visited for the 3rd time specifically for the villages firework night they are spectacular. The pub is a good old local but the locals embrace us “outsiders” and we’ve always felt comfortable. The room is small but adequate. Our only inconvenience was our room was very cold at night - we couldn’t see how to get it warm and the shower is not very strong. We never raised either of these with Ruth so this is not a complaint. Read less
Likes:
Good old pub, great atmosphere, lovely village, friendly locals, great location
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us.
It is great to know the traditional local village pub still has fans out there!
I am so sorry to hear that your room was cold.
May be due to the thermostat in the corridor being turned down, usually by our housekeeping staff - they get very hot whilst working and forget to turn the stat back up again.
I will remind them (again) to turn it back up.
Our showers have not been a problem before, but thank you for raising this, I'll check it.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Michael
Mature Couple
Stayed: Dec '17
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
3
Location
3
Breakfast:
3
"Very conveniant and very quiet."
Very pleasant but no customers other than us so little atmosphere.… Read more
"Very conveniant and very quiet."
Very pleasant but no customers other than us so little atmosphere. Read less
Likes:
Convenience
Dislikes:
Evening meal disappointing.
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Unfortunately, this time of year we are very quiet, so can only apologise for the lack of atmosphere. I'm assuming The George was convenient for your needs in terms of location, but you have only scored it 3. It's a shame your evening meal was disappointing, I'm not sure why this is, but I can only say sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. We are a pub that serves fairly simple pub food, I'm sorry if you expected more. However, you'd be happy to recommend us which is great. Thank you
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
More Information
AA 3 Stars InnSilver Green Tourism Business SchemeCask Marque Awarded Real AlesInvestors in People
Parking
On-site parking, Free parking
Types of Payment Accepted at The George Inn - Blackawton
Cash (Sterling), Credit card, Debit card
Payment Cards accepted at the property
Master Card Maestro Visa Visa Electron 
Check-in: 1:00 PM till 10:00 PM
Early check-in available on request.
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Late check-out available on request
Policies
Children Policy: Children welcome
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: Dogs
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
English
Traditional village inn, rated 3* by VisitBritain & AA, at the heart of Blackawton, a real "pub", and restaurant with clean & comfortable guest rooms offering real value & choice, a genuine warm welcome and excellent customer service. This is a family friendly, dog friendly traditional village inn, serving good food, well kept cask ales, West Country ciders and a range of wines and soft drinks, in the centre of a working Devon village.

The George Inn, Blackawton is well known in the area as a very pleasant, traditional village local with a warm welcome and is popular with locals and visitors alike. The main bar is partly timbered and the end lounge has double folding doors to a terrace with fine views across open countryside towards the sea.
Beyond the terrace is a pleasant, quiet garden, divided into a lawned area with children's swings and a gravelled area with tables and seating, with views to the south-west.This garden area, and our 3 star rated, first floor guest bedrooms, are our ONLY dog free zones.

The George Inn, Blackawton recently achieved a "Silver" award after an environmental audit by the Green Tourism Business Scheme.

Checkout our entry in the 2010 Good Beer Guide.

Blackawton is buried in a maze of lanes about 4 miles north of Slapton. A lovely village with a real community spirit, an excellent primary school, a little shop cum Post Office and church, it is a previous winner of the CPRE's “Best Kept Village” competition.

We look forward to welcoming you to The George Inn, Blackawton soon!
Environmental Statement
We have received a Silver award from 'Green Tourism Business Scheme', we endeavour to reduce waste, recycle wherever possible, have as little adverse impact on the environment as we can, all while providing a welcoming and comfortable experience for our many visitors..
Style of property
Comfortable, Eco-friendly, Homely, Rustic, Traditional
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.