MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Strete Barton House
Guest House Photo
AA 5 Stars Guest House
Guest house
3.30 miles away
Frogwell
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Apartment
3.30 miles away
The Watermans Arms
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Inn
Bed and Breakfast
3.50 miles away
The Tower Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
3.80 miles away
The Durant Arms
Hotel Photo
Inn
3.90 miles away
Townstal Farmhouse
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.10 miles away
Anchor House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
4.20 miles away
Mounthaven Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 5 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
4.30 miles away
The Seale Arms
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.40 miles away
Bayards Cove Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Hotel
4.50 miles away
The George Inn - Blackawton Blackawton
Visit England 3 Stars Inn
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.6
See all 88 reviews
Main Street ,

Blackawton , 

Devon, 


TQ9 7BG,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Guest reviews for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.4
Value:
4.5
Friendliness:
4.9
Cleanliness:
4.8
Facilities:
4.4
Staff service:
4.8
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.5
Guest Rating:
4.6
From 88 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
Toby
Family with young Children
Stayed: Jun '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Overnight stay in Devon"
We visited friends to celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary… Read more
"Overnight stay in Devon"
We visited friends to celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary Read less
Likes:
Friendly and welcoming. Clean and spacious rooms. Great breakfast
Dislikes:
No. Everything was great
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you Toby, I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay. Sorry there was a little confusion re "check in" times but pleased we were able to sort it out! Enjoy the summer, kind regards Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Brian
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Lovely, airy room, pretty countryside and pleasing pub stay."
4nights in this quaint pub… Read more
"Lovely, airy room, pretty countryside and pleasing pub stay."
4nights in this quaint pub Read less
Likes:
An enjoyable stay in pretty countryside.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for leaving a review, sorry we can do nothing about the location (4/5!) but very interested to learn how we can achieve 5/5 for breakfast! very glad you enjoyed your stay in The George Inn, Balckawton. kind regards Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Jane
Mature Couple
Stayed: Mar '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
2
Breakfast:
4
"No complaints. Is as stated a village pub, with accommodation"
Chose the location as were visiting friends, and wanted to be near Dartmouth as well. It is a shame that the pub is in a remote location, due to the roadworks it was a bit tricky negotiating the back… Read more
"No complaints. Is as stated a village pub, with accommodation"
Chose the location as were visiting friends, and wanted to be near Dartmouth as well. It is a shame that the pub is in a remote location, due to the roadworks it was a bit tricky negotiating the back roads. Read less
Likes:
The staff were very accommodating and friendly.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for visiting Blackawton, sorry about the roadworks (the road into the village is now open) but well done for finding your way about - the lanes can be daunting for those not used to them, but lovely now the primroses are coming out. Thanks for the review, and for understanding that The George Inn is a pub, with no pretensions - so glad you found folk here welcoming, they are a friendly lot.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
DEE
Family with older Children
Stayed: Mar '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Comfy, clean and convenient"
Stayed for a wedding. Very convenient being across the road from the church. A friendly and laid back welcome. Booked double room which was adequate size - modern bathroom and some thoughtful touches… Read more
"Comfy, clean and convenient"
Stayed for a wedding. Very convenient being across the road from the church. A friendly and laid back welcome. Booked double room which was adequate size - modern bathroom and some thoughtful touches - and twin room which had a sofa bed(not used)and good bathroom space. All clean, pretty and comfortable. Village location outside of Dartmouth which may not suit everyone but still pretty close. Village is lovely, church beautiful. Local post office, 2 pubs, community run shop, village hall, view. Read less
Likes:
Ate lunch in the pub, prices reasonable and food good. Breakfast good standard-suggest an option to add items to make 'man size' and also yogurt/fruit compote. Wi-fi good - phone signal not!
Dislikes:
Liked everything - thank you!
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you, we enjoyed having you to stay, we will always provide extra requirements given enough notice - yoghurt & fruit are extremely perishable and we have wasted too much in the past, but will provide these on request if we can get them. Unfortunately the poor coverage of mobile 'phone signal is an issue we have no control over! Thanks again for the kind words, have a great summer.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Michaela
Family with young Children
Stayed: Jan '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Fantastic find"
Stayed in a family room, it was immaculately clean, decor was lovely, friendly staff, cosy bar area, excellent food and very reasonably priced accommodation. Recommend highly… Read more
"Fantastic find"
Stayed in a family room, it was immaculately clean, decor was lovely, friendly staff, cosy bar area, excellent food and very reasonably priced accommodation. Recommend highly Read less
Likes:
Everything no
Dislikes:
No
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
It was good to meet you and your lovely children Michaela, thank you for the excellent review, we do appreciate it.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Michael
Mature Couple
Stayed: Dec '17
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
3
Location:
3
Breakfast:
3
"Very conveniant and very quiet."
Very pleasant but no customers other than us so little atmosphere.… Read more
"Very conveniant and very quiet."
Very pleasant but no customers other than us so little atmosphere. Read less
Likes:
Convenience
Dislikes:
Evening meal disappointing.
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Unfortunately, this time of year we are very quiet, so can only apologise for the lack of atmosphere. I'm assuming The George was convenient for your needs in terms of location, but you have only scored it 3. It's a shame your evening meal was disappointing, I'm not sure why this is, but I can only say sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. We are a pub that serves fairly simple pub food, I'm sorry if you expected more. However, you'd be happy to recommend us which is great. Thank you
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Philip
Group of Adults
Stayed: Nov '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"A pub with rooms, just what we wanted!. Good value. Excellent breakfast"
Great, Many thanks, friendly family run pub.… Read more
"A pub with rooms, just what we wanted!. Good value. Excellent breakfast"
Great, Many thanks, friendly family run pub. Read less
Likes:
everything
Dislikes:
nothing
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you so much for the review, folk are rarely prepared to score 5's unreservedly so I am very pleased that your brief stay with us was enjoyable. We appreciate your understanding that we are a "pub with rooms" rather than a "hotel", it makes a difference when guests have an inkling of what to expect when they book with us. Thanks again for your visit and the review.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Ian
Mature Couple
Stayed: Nov '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Another great night"
We visited for the 3rd time specifically for the villages firework night they are spectacular. The pub is a good old local but the locals embrace us “outsiders” and we’ve always felt comfortable. The… Read more
"Another great night"
We visited for the 3rd time specifically for the villages firework night they are spectacular. The pub is a good old local but the locals embrace us “outsiders” and we’ve always felt comfortable. The room is small but adequate. Our only inconvenience was our room was very cold at night - we couldn’t see how to get it warm and the shower is not very strong. We never raised either of these with Ruth so this is not a complaint. Read less
Likes:
Good old pub, great atmosphere, lovely village, friendly locals, great location
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us.
It is great to know the traditional local village pub still has fans out there!
I am so sorry to hear that your room was cold.
May be due to the thermostat in the corridor being turned down, usually by our housekeeping staff - they get very hot whilst working and forget to turn the stat back up again.
I will remind them (again) to turn it back up.
Our showers have not been a problem before, but thank you for raising this, I'll check it.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
JENNY
Family with older Children
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"One night stay whilst visiting friends"
We needed accommodation for one night on bank holiday weekend for our family whilst we attended a party nearby… Read more
"One night stay whilst visiting friends"
We needed accommodation for one night on bank holiday weekend for our family whilst we attended a party nearby Read less
Likes:
Room was very spacious, clean and the bed was massive and extremely comfortable.
We knew we would be arriving back late from the party so having a key to let ourselves back in was great.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for reviewing your stay, we are pleased you were comfortable and hope that we might see you again. Thanks again, Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Mary
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
2
Breakfast:
2
"Useful stopover"
Useful stop over as dog friendly.… Read more
"Useful stopover"
Useful stop over as dog friendly. Read less
Likes:
Lovely evening meal. Nice people. Good room with pleasant view.
Dislikes:
Breakfast luke warm,weak coffee, liquid scrambled eggs, lethal hairdryer which staff knew was in that state!
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for the feedback. The hairdryer has now been removed from this room, and is to be replaced as soon as possible. I can only apologise for the breakfast issues, entirely my fault and mostly due to very busy morning and my hurrying to take orders, cook and serve - I will endeavour to take more care in future, thanks for the constructive critique. I hope the rest of team TGI performed better than I did! Thanks again, Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.