MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Strete Barton House
Guest House Photo
AA 5 Stars Guest House
Guest house
3.30 miles away
Frogwell
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Apartment
3.30 miles away
The Watermans Arms
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Inn
Bed & breakfast
3.50 miles away
The Tower Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
3.80 miles away
The Durant Arms
Hotel Photo
Inn
3.90 miles away
Townstal Farmhouse
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.10 miles away
Anchor House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed & breakfast
4.20 miles away
Mounthaven Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 5 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed & breakfast
4.30 miles away
The Seale Arms
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.40 miles away
Bayards Cove Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Hotel
4.50 miles away
The George Inn - Blackawton Blackawton
Visit England 3 Stars Inn
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.6
See all 83 reviews
Main Street ,

Blackawton , 

Devon, 


TQ9 7BG,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Guest reviews for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.4
Value:
4.5
Friendliness:
4.9
Cleanliness:
4.8
Facilities:
4.3
Staff service:
4.8
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.5
Guest Rating:
4.6
From 83 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
Michael
Mature Couple
Stayed: Dec '17
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
3
Location:
3
Breakfast:
3
"Very conveniant and very quiet."
Very pleasant but no customers other than us so little atmosphere.… Read more
"Very conveniant and very quiet."
Very pleasant but no customers other than us so little atmosphere. Read less
Likes:
Convenience
Dislikes:
Evening meal disappointing.
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Unfortunately, this time of year we are very quiet, so can only apologise for the lack of atmosphere. I'm assuming The George was convenient for your needs in terms of location, but you have only scored it 3. It's a shame your evening meal was disappointing, I'm not sure why this is, but I can only say sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. We are a pub that serves fairly simple pub food, I'm sorry if you expected more. However, you'd be happy to recommend us which is great. Thank you
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Philip
Group of Adults
Stayed: Nov '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"A pub with rooms, just what we wanted!. Good value. Excellent breakfast"
Great, Many thanks, friendly family run pub.… Read more
"A pub with rooms, just what we wanted!. Good value. Excellent breakfast"
Great, Many thanks, friendly family run pub. Read less
Likes:
everything
Dislikes:
nothing
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you so much for the review, folk are rarely prepared to score 5's unreservedly so I am very pleased that your brief stay with us was enjoyable. We appreciate your understanding that we are a "pub with rooms" rather than a "hotel", it makes a difference when guests have an inkling of what to expect when they book with us. Thanks again for your visit and the review.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Ian
Mature Couple
Stayed: Nov '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Another great night"
We visited for the 3rd time specifically for the villages firework night they are spectacular. The pub is a good old local but the locals embrace us “outsiders” and we’ve always felt comfortable. The… Read more
"Another great night"
We visited for the 3rd time specifically for the villages firework night they are spectacular. The pub is a good old local but the locals embrace us “outsiders” and we’ve always felt comfortable. The room is small but adequate. Our only inconvenience was our room was very cold at night - we couldn’t see how to get it warm and the shower is not very strong. We never raised either of these with Ruth so this is not a complaint. Read less
Likes:
Good old pub, great atmosphere, lovely village, friendly locals, great location
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thanks for taking time to review your stay with us.
It is great to know the traditional local village pub still has fans out there!
I am so sorry to hear that your room was cold.
May be due to the thermostat in the corridor being turned down, usually by our housekeeping staff - they get very hot whilst working and forget to turn the stat back up again.
I will remind them (again) to turn it back up.
Our showers have not been a problem before, but thank you for raising this, I'll check it.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
JENNY
Family with older Children
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"One night stay whilst visiting friends"
We needed accommodation for one night on bank holiday weekend for our family whilst we attended a party nearby… Read more
"One night stay whilst visiting friends"
We needed accommodation for one night on bank holiday weekend for our family whilst we attended a party nearby Read less
Likes:
Room was very spacious, clean and the bed was massive and extremely comfortable.
We knew we would be arriving back late from the party so having a key to let ourselves back in was great.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for reviewing your stay, we are pleased you were comfortable and hope that we might see you again. Thanks again, Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Mary
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
2
Breakfast:
2
"Useful stopover"
Useful stop over as dog friendly.… Read more
"Useful stopover"
Useful stop over as dog friendly. Read less
Likes:
Lovely evening meal. Nice people. Good room with pleasant view.
Dislikes:
Breakfast luke warm,weak coffee, liquid scrambled eggs, lethal hairdryer which staff knew was in that state!
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for the feedback. The hairdryer has now been removed from this room, and is to be replaced as soon as possible. I can only apologise for the breakfast issues, entirely my fault and mostly due to very busy morning and my hurrying to take orders, cook and serve - I will endeavour to take more care in future, thanks for the constructive critique. I hope the rest of team TGI performed better than I did! Thanks again, Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Richard
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly & helpful"
The room was very nice if slightly small (no room for a bedside piece of furniture on the side of the bed next to the door for a cup, glass, specs etc) which is why I rated it 4. The bathroom was spac… Read more
"Friendly & helpful"
The room was very nice if slightly small (no room for a bedside piece of furniture on the side of the bed next to the door for a cup, glass, specs etc) which is why I rated it 4. The bathroom was spacious, clean & modern. Breakfast was good with lots of choices & the bacon was lovely. The staff were pleasant, friendly & helpful. Read less
Likes:
All of the above and opposite churchyard for family history research. It fulfilled our needs completely.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are sorry you had our smallest double room, it was the only one available when you booked otherwise you would definitely have had a bedside table for both. The team appreciate your feedback and are pleased you liked their welcoming attitude, thanks again Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Sally
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Friendly, clean, good value for money"
Stayed for two nights while on business, first time we've been to this part of the country.… Read more
"Friendly, clean, good value for money"
Stayed for two nights while on business, first time we've been to this part of the country. Read less
Likes:
Very pretty, rural location, with lovely countryside views from rear terrace. Food very nice and an extensive menu to choose from. Staff all friendly and welcoming, room clean and comfortable.
Dislikes:
No major dislikes. Pub could do with a refurb as a bit tatty, although our room was nicely done. Shower needs a better pump, it was an effort to wash long hair. Full-length mirror needed for dressing.
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for taking time to post a review, always helpful for new potential visitors, and we really appreciate your kind words and the constructive critique ( will try to find a full length mirror this week!). So pleased you enjoyed your visit to Blackawton, regards Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Holly
Family with young Children
Stayed: Jul '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Family break for mums 60th birthday"
Had a lovely stay at the George inn, staff was so friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate us.
Breakfast was very nice and the main meals were tasty and very reasonably priced. Drinks were very… Read more
"Family break for mums 60th birthday"
Had a lovely stay at the George inn, staff was so friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate us.
Breakfast was very nice and the main meals were tasty and very reasonably priced. Drinks were very good value.
The rooms were all stunning, the group stayed in 1,4 & 5 and all were very clean with great en suites. Beds were very comfortable and we all had a good night sleep Read less
Likes:
Everything. Beautiful clean and comfortable rooms and decent size.
Staff amazing friendly and kind
Dislikes:
Thank you so much for all you care and attention during our stay and for the super yummy breakfast
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you Holly, your review is unusually generous in that most folk seem reluctant to award 5* appreciation of all our efforts. It was a pleasure to meet you and family, we are very lucky with our guests and your group was a delight to accommodate. Thanks again, regards Ruth
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Julia
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"A truly hidden gem"
We were warmly welcomed and blown away by our room which was huge, beautifullying decorated and host to the most idyllic views. There was a king sized bed which was most needed after our long drive f… Read more
"A truly hidden gem"
We were warmly welcomed and blown away by our room which was huge, beautifullying decorated and host to the most idyllic views. There was a king sized bed which was most needed after our long drive from London. The only thing we wished was that we could have stayed longer. The Inn is situated in a quaint village surrounded by thatched cottages and scented blossom. A hidden gem and one to return to. Read less
Likes:
Everything. They also arranged late checkout out 11am for us for no extra charge
Dislikes:
No
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you for your appreciative review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Blackawton. Enjoy the remainder of your summer, and we hope to welcome you to The George Inn in the future.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
sarah
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"very friendly staff"
We came to visit friends and were surprised and pleased to find that every one knows them. Staff very friendly, helpful and caring. Nice room, very clean, great food and good service.… Read more
"very friendly staff"
We came to visit friends and were surprised and pleased to find that every one knows them. Staff very friendly, helpful and caring. Nice room, very clean, great food and good service. Read less
Likes:
We liked the village atmosphere and the traditional pub. Non game machines, no music, just good old fashioned conversation. What a joy!
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Inn - Blackawton:
Thank you Sarah, it is so good when other folk like the same things we do - games and music are great sometimes but in our village "clubhouse" folk like to hear the conversation. Thank you for taking time to post a review, we really appreciate it, and other potential guests have a better understanding of what we are bout before they commit to a visit. Have a lovely summer.
Guest Review for The George Inn - Blackawton, Blackawton
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2017 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.