MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
The Oak South Brent
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.7
See all 78 reviews
Station Road

South Brent, 

Devon, 


TQ10 9BE,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Oak, South Brent
Guest reviews for The Oak, South Brent are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.7
Value:
4.4
Friendliness:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.9
Facilities:
4.6
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Breakfast:
4.8
Guest Rating:
4.7
From 78 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next
Tom
Alone
Stayed: Dec '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"very good"
short… Read more
"very good"
short Read less
Likes:
nice room, excellent shower, good range of ales, great breakfast.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
Emma
Young Couple
Stayed: Sep '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly and relaxed, a home away from home"
The staff were friendly and helpful from the outset, showing us to our room and explaining about access and the breakfast arrangements. We had an evening meal on Friday night which was really enjoyab… Read more
"Friendly and relaxed, a home away from home"
The staff were friendly and helpful from the outset, showing us to our room and explaining about access and the breakfast arrangements. We had an evening meal on Friday night which was really enjoyable and both of us enjoyed our stay. So much so, that we are looking at rebooking and coming back in November for my partner's birthday. The room was quiet and comfortable; the bar was cozy and had a lovely atmosphere. I would definitely recommend The Oak to others. Read less
Likes:
The bar itself was cosy and had a great, friendly atmosphere; the staff were extremely friendly and made us feel welcome, the room was comfortable and the food was first rate.
Dislikes:
Only that we had to leave after 2 nights!!
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
lynda
Group of Adults
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"friendly and good fun"
E had an amazing stay,the staff were fabulous a really lovely bunch they were knowledgeable about the local area, great fun and very hospitable. The breakfast was delicious and the service was great.… Read more
"friendly and good fun"
E had an amazing stay,the staff were fabulous a really lovely bunch they were knowledgeable about the local area, great fun and very hospitable. The breakfast was delicious and the service was great. The rooms were clean and well stocked with coffee tea etc and the beds were very comfy. Overall it was brilliant and we will go back. Read less
Likes:
The staff were fab they love what they do and made our stay good fun.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
Sharleen
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
4
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
3
Breakfast:
4
"OK"
OK… Read more
"OK"
OK Read less
Likes:
It was OK
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
Patricia
Family with older Children
Stayed: Jun '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Great stay"
Only stayed one night… Read more
"Great stay"
Only stayed one night Read less
Likes:
It was exactly what we needed after our long drive, good sized room, clean, comfortable with excellent facilities
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
Martin
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jun '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent"
We are 4 mature male motorcyclists staying for one night on a tour of Devon and Cornwall… Read more
"Excellent"
We are 4 mature male motorcyclists staying for one night on a tour of Devon and Cornwall Read less
Likes:
Very friendly staff, excellent beer and food, exceptionally clean comfortable rooms, great shower.
Fantastic breakfast.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Oak:
Glad you enjoyed your stay - hope your ride to Tintagel went well. We definitely live in a beautiful part of the country.
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
Madeleine
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Nicely furnished comfortable rooms"
A comfortable, attractive room with lots of nice, thoughtful little touches. The bathroom is brand new, with shelves in all the right places, plus great hot water and good quality towels. There's also… Read more
"Nicely furnished comfortable rooms"
A comfortable, attractive room with lots of nice, thoughtful little touches. The bathroom is brand new, with shelves in all the right places, plus great hot water and good quality towels. There's also wifi in the bedroom, decent cupboard space and enough hangers, and even a tray for your walking boots.
My room had a double bed, which was fine for just me but would have been on the small side for a couple. Read less
Likes:
Read the above comment.
Dislikes:
The chef uses too much salt in the breakfast. Luckily I remembered this from a previous visit and asked for no added salt, which they were happy to comply with.
Response from The Oak:
Glad you enjoyed the stay - would advise that different chef (the landlord now cooks) now in the kitchen!
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
Dr C J
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Nice friendly pub"
Fine… Read more
"Nice friendly pub"
Fine Read less
Likes:
All worked
Dislikes:
no
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
David
With a colleague
Stayed: Jan '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Local Inn with modern and clean accomodation"
One night stopover on the way to Plymouth. Great beer, steak and a comfortable, clean and well appointed room.… Read more
"Local Inn with modern and clean accomodation"
One night stopover on the way to Plymouth. Great beer, steak and a comfortable, clean and well appointed room. Read less
Likes:
Great breakfast, also recommend the beer and food
Dislikes:
Unfortunately I was above the bar and it was noisy until the bar closed. Thankfully I never travel without my trusty earplugs!
Response from The Oak:
Regretfully this is the one room that can be affected by the noise outside. This is not up from the floor which is heavily soundproofed but via the large original sash windows. We have put heavy curtains up and usually noise is not a problem as we are generally a quiet pub where people come to socialise. Occasionally however we have an event that is louder than normal. Glad you had your ear plugs!
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
richard
Alone
Stayed: Dec '13
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Nice place to stay"
Needed overnight accommodation for trip to see relatives, found The Oak online and was not disappointed.… Read more
"Nice place to stay"
Needed overnight accommodation for trip to see relatives, found The Oak online and was not disappointed. Read less
Likes:
Friendly people, nice location, good room, stunning bathroom and good breakfast, all just what I needed
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Oak:
Apologies for the delay in replying - my computer will not allow me to see reviews and the web provider for this page has just managed to sort so that I can go online to read and reply. Glad you enjoyed the experience and I am sorry you felt the mattress was too hard. We have put memory foam mattresses in all our double rooms so I am surprised that you found it too hard - I chose the ones that are supposed to be best for backs as recommended by the experts.
Guest Review for The Oak, South Brent
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.