MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Snooze
Guest House Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Guest house
2.50 miles away
Brighton Pavilions
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
2.60 miles away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
2.60 miles away
27 B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
2.60 miles away
Cowards Guesthouse
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
2.60 miles away
Number 14 Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
2.60 miles away
Sea Breeze
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
2.60 miles away
Blanch House
Hotel Photo
AA 3 Stars Town House Hotel
Townhouse hotel
2.60 miles away
Five
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
2.70 miles away
The Downs Hotel Brighton
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
Guest Rating: 3.5
See all 322 reviews
Warren Road, Woodingdean

Brighton, 

East Sussex, 


BN2 6BB,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
Guest reviews for The Downs Hotel, Brighton are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.3
Value:
3.6
Friendliness:
4.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Facilities:
3.1
Staff service:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Breakfast:
4.1
Guest Rating:
3.5
From 322 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
Julie
Family with older Children
Stayed: Apr '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"overnight stay"
This hotel is very nice rooms are clean and comfortable the the staff are welcoming and friendly.… Read more
"overnight stay"
This hotel is very nice rooms are clean and comfortable the the staff are welcoming and friendly. Read less
Likes:
The location was fantastic the rooms were very nice and the beds very comfortable
Dislikes:
The down side was the noise from the road outside the windows rattled when lorrys passed.
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
Ruth
Alone
Stayed: Apr '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Good value hotel"
I needed somewhere affordable close to Brighton. I really got lucky with this hotel; there's a bus stop nearly right opposite. Haven't used a bus so much in years. Hotel was within walking distance… Read more
"Good value hotel"
I needed somewhere affordable close to Brighton. I really got lucky with this hotel; there's a bus stop nearly right opposite. Haven't used a bus so much in years. Hotel was within walking distance of Brighton (40 mins to The Level) so ideal for staying over & getting to the Brighton Marathon. Excellent WiFi, TV and pub/restaurant on hand if needed. Staff went extra mile by providing a sandwich for breakfast on the morning of the marathon and making it available the night before. Read less
Likes:
Sea view, comfortable room, not too noisy despite being on main road and over a pub.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
arrieni
Alone
Stayed: Apr '15
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
2
Breakfast:
4
"Nice staff shame about the property"
Lovely staff shame the hotel is loud. I could hear every noise from stairs above and road outside… Read more
"Nice staff shame about the property"
Lovely staff shame the hotel is loud. I could hear every noise from stairs above and road outside Read less
Likes:
William on the bar!
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
Denise
Family with older Children
Stayed: Mar '15
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"disappointed"
found loaf of bread in the drawers. Room smelt like a dog had been staying there. Televisions did not work properly.… Read more
"disappointed"
found loaf of bread in the drawers. Room smelt like a dog had been staying there. Televisions did not work properly. Read less
Likes:
Breakfast
Dislikes:
as above.
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
ZAINAB
Group of Adults
Stayed: Mar '15
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
3
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Facilities not as stated, no tv, toaster, poor heating. Wouldn't stay again. Poor value in end!"
To see old friends and go to a party in Lewes.… Read more
"Facilities not as stated, no tv, toaster, poor heating. Wouldn't stay again. Poor value in end!"
To see old friends and go to a party in Lewes. Read less
Likes:
Being on the Downs.
Good sheets and towels!
Dislikes:
Not as advertised in terms of facilities in the caravan...no twin room, no wifi in van, inadequate heating, no tv, no toaster....dodgy steps into van...
Response from The Downs Hotel:
Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated as it gives us an opportunity to improve where required. We had a television in the caravan, unfortunately this was stolen two days days before your stay, as a small BB we do not have spares and didn't have chance to replace it. We only advertise free wifi in the public areas not in the rooms, and we do not advertise a toaster in the caravan because we do not have one, however it is certainly a good idea. & the steps will be replaced thank you.
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
jamie
Group of Adults
Stayed: Mar '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Good value, recommended"
Great value good room with nice view and friendly staff.… Read more
"Good value, recommended"
Great value good room with nice view and friendly staff. Read less
Likes:
View.
Dislikes:
N/a
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
John
Family with older Children
Stayed: Feb '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Budget prices, friendly, clean, comfortable, highly recommended"
We chose The Downs Hotel as we were visiting our son at Sussex Uni and just needed a place to stay close by. The accommodation is 'no frills' as is expected for the very reasonable price but the rooms… Read more
"Budget prices, friendly, clean, comfortable, highly recommended"
We chose The Downs Hotel as we were visiting our son at Sussex Uni and just needed a place to stay close by. The accommodation is 'no frills' as is expected for the very reasonable price but the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the staff are every friendly and the breakfast was really tasty, we all had a large full english and one of us had the vegetarian option which was also great. Highly recommended. Read less
Likes:
a
Dislikes:
Slight smell of cigarette smoke on the stairs and hallway, I think because the occasional smoker from the pub was smoking outside the entrance door. Not too offensive but would be nicer without.
Response from The Downs Hotel:
Thank you for your time and feedback we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
Linda
Alone
Stayed: Feb '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent views of the Downs and access to public transport to Brighton Centre."
Spent 2 nights at the hotel which was both for a break and to visit a relative at Nuffield hospital. Used the opportunity to visit Brighton's Lanes and pier.… Read more
"Excellent views of the Downs and access to public transport to Brighton Centre."
Spent 2 nights at the hotel which was both for a break and to visit a relative at Nuffield hospital. Used the opportunity to visit Brighton's Lanes and pier. Read less
Likes:
Enjoyed my stay and convenient for parking my car,using public transport instead of taking my car out, walking around the Downs where I could use my camera. It was good for breakfast and evening meal.
Dislikes:
It was v noisy on the Friday night although settled down towards midnight but there was still banging of doors in the corridors.Shelf above bed rather dangerous as hit my head on it many times.No lift
Response from The Downs Hotel:
Thank you for your feedback, we have not had anyone else mention about the shelf, it is the only way we can have a light over the bed, however that said I haven't slept in that room so it is something to bear in mind. Thanks to your mentioning it I have put an extra towel rail in that room thank you.
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
john
Young Couple
Stayed: Jan '15
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
3
Breakfast:
5
"Suited my needs"
Booked this hotel as it was pet friendly and it was somewhere local (3 miles away) to Brighton that offered free parking and a decent price. Additionally, the hotel is very close to Brighton FC for th… Read more
"Suited my needs"
Booked this hotel as it was pet friendly and it was somewhere local (3 miles away) to Brighton that offered free parking and a decent price. Additionally, the hotel is very close to Brighton FC for the football. It was a fair-decent experience with just a few niggles. It is above a busy pub, so on a weekend it can be a little noisy. Read less
Likes:
Early check in (on request was appreciated). Pet friendly and welcoming staff, breakfast was excellent. For the Brighton Area it was was reasonably priced.
Dislikes:
We appreciate, that this hotel is pet friendly but when white sheets (and the basin in the en suite) has black dog hairs on it...surly the staff should notice this. The cleanliness let the room down.
Response from The Downs Hotel:
Thank you for your feedback, we are always happy to allow early check in once the rooms have been serviced. I am very dissapointed that you feel there were hairs in the room as cleanliness is the most important thing to us, it is of paramount importance, and please rest assured that this will be investigated, I appreciate you pointing it our to give us the chance to improve.
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
Beverley
Mature Couple
Stayed: Dec '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Whole place needs drastic overhaul"
Extremely disappointing, for the money could have had a lot nicer elsewhere… Read more
"Whole place needs drastic overhaul"
Extremely disappointing, for the money could have had a lot nicer elsewhere Read less
Likes:
The staff were friendly, the breakfast was satisfactory.
Dislikes:
The exterior was very shoddy, the windows were covered in Bird Poop, rooms tired and dated.
Response from The Downs Hotel:
I am dissapointed that you have not seen us in the best light, we have a maintence programme for a full repaint of the hotel and wooden windows repaired and painted for this spring / early summer, being a seaside resort we do have a number of seagulls that love our roof and leave their deposits regularly, usually this is dealt with. We hope to see you again this year and surprise you with our improvements.
Guest Review for The Downs Hotel, Brighton
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2015 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.