MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

A Hideaway Retreat
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
4.50 miles away
East Gate Inn
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
5.70 miles away
White Hart Inn
Accommodation Photo
Travel accommodation
6.80 miles away
The Globe Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
7.40 miles away
The Case Restaurant with Rooms
Hotel Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Restaurant with Rooms
Restaurant with rooms
8.90 miles away
Bridge Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
8.90 miles away
The Riverside Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
9.00 miles away
Bentley Tower Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Townhouse hotel
9.60 miles away
Carlton Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
9.60 miles away
Alpine Villa Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
9.90 miles away
The Marlborough Head Inn Dedham
AA 3 Stars Inn
Inn
Guest Rating: 3.3
See all 52 reviews
Mill Lane

Dedham, 

Essex, 


CO7 6DH,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Guest reviews for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.4
Value:
3.1
Friendliness:
4.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Facilities:
3.1
Staff service:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Breakfast:
3.4
Guest Rating:
3.3
From 52 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next
Wayne
With a colleague
Stayed: Jul '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"Great old pub"
Only stayed for one night but very accommodating… Read more
"Great old pub"
Only stayed for one night but very accommodating Read less
Likes:
Friendliness of the staff. Food was great also.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Marlborough Head Inn:
Thank you very much. It was a pleasure having you both and hopefully you'll come back again in the future.
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Michael
Alone
Stayed: Jun '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Good friendly staff"
Good… Read more
"Good friendly staff"
Good Read less
Likes:
Friendly staff
Dislikes:
no
Response from The Marlborough Head Inn:
Thank you very much. Hope to see you again.
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Ronald
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
2
Location:
4
"Too many surprises!"
When shown the room advised breakfast available in tea rooms across road.
First surprise - excrement in toilet!
Second surprise- having to pay for breakfast as not made clear on booking site.… Read more
"Too many surprises!"
When shown the room advised breakfast available in tea rooms across road.
First surprise - excrement in toilet!
Second surprise- having to pay for breakfast as not made clear on booking site. Read less
Likes:
Convenient to where we wished to visit
Dislikes:
Bathroom in need of refurbishment
Response from The Marlborough Head Inn:
Thank you for your feedback but there most certainly was not excrement in your toilet. As we explained to you at the time, and gave you a free bottle of wine with your meal as an apology, we do sometimes have problems with the plumbing and occasionally brown water as its a very old listed building. Apologies again. It is a Room Only price as not everyone wants a breakfast, but a breakfast is cooked across the road for you at an additional charge. We're sorry you misunderstood this.
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Jason
Young Couple
Stayed: May '14
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"OK!"
The stay was OK! As we stayed on a Saturday night and it had been a warm day people we sat out just under our window until around midnight. Not a big issue but a fair amount of noise so hard to get of… Read more
"OK!"
The stay was OK! As we stayed on a Saturday night and it had been a warm day people we sat out just under our window until around midnight. Not a big issue but a fair amount of noise so hard to get off to sleep! Also could do with a fitted show! i.e. fixed to the wall over the bath! Read less
Likes:
Location
Dislikes:
Lack of shower!
Response from The Marlborough Head Inn:
Thank you for your feedback Jason. Yes, the shower maybe is an issue. We have 2 rooms with shower cubicles and the Constable Suite you were in has a bath. We thought this would give people a choice but putting in a shower cubicle is now under discussion. We'll have to see.
Sorry about the late night noise, its very difficult to keep people quiet when they're having a good time! However, we have now changed our closing time to 11pm so things should go quieter earlier now.
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Neil
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '14
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
2
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
3
"Disappointing room and facilities for the price"
Overnight stay whilst walking Essex Way… Read more
"Disappointing room and facilities for the price"
Overnight stay whilst walking Essex Way Read less
Likes:
Convenience of location
Dislikes:
No walk-in shower.
Response from The Marlborough Head Inn:
We're all very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay, despite a meal being prepared especially for you. With regards to price, you paid £80 for Whitsun Bank Holiday Monday, which is very reasonable for a bank holiday weekend in Dedham. You stayed in our large Constable Suite with a four poster bed, ensuite bathroom, 2 arm chairs, coffee table, dressing table, a 42" flatscreen TV and a welcome tray with a large selection of teas, coffee and biscuits. How is that disappointing??
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Paula
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '14
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
2
Location:
3
"Not value for money"
We were at a wedding at the talbooth.… Read more
"Not value for money"
We were at a wedding at the talbooth. Read less
Likes:
Bed was comfy.
Dislikes:
No shower and for the money we paid we were very disappointed .
Response from The Marlborough Head Inn:
Very sorry to hear you were not happy, despite us allowing you to check in 2 hours early to attend your wedding at Le Talbooth. This is Dedham on Whitsun Bank Holiday weekend, prices will not be low, Its a popular time for weddings and we had lots of wedding guests over the weekend. You stayed in The Constable Suite which has an en-suite bathroom with a shower attachment, and it clearly states when booking its a bath. However, we feel it is a lovely room.
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
yvonne
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '14
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
2
Location:
5
"beautiful surroundings, excellent cuisine, let down by poor housekeeping standards."
A birthday treat for my husband, combined with meeting up with friends.… Read more
"beautiful surroundings, excellent cuisine, let down by poor housekeeping standards."
A birthday treat for my husband, combined with meeting up with friends. Read less
Likes:
Location, and dining very good.
Dislikes:
not value for money, room had number of cobwebs, dirty towels, shower screen not cleaned,1 teabag, 1 hotchoc,milk when opened was off. no sugar, menu in room didn't match menu in restuarant,and on!!!!
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
chris
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"found the hotel to be very good, staff and food excellent"
very good… Read more
"found the hotel to be very good, staff and food excellent"
very good Read less
Likes:
loved the log fire in the evening
Dislikes:
nothing
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Holly
Young Couple
Stayed: Jan '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely Stay"
We stayed overnight on 12/01/14. The pub was lovely and everyone was very friendly. We stayed in the Constable Suite which i would highly recommend.… Read more
"Lovely Stay"
We stayed overnight on 12/01/14. The pub was lovely and everyone was very friendly. We stayed in the Constable Suite which i would highly recommend. Read less
Likes:
The location was brilliant and the rooms were very comfortable.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Peter
Mature Couple
Stayed: Oct '13
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
1
Location:
4
"Disappointing and dirty"
Overnight stay on family business in area.… Read more
"Disappointing and dirty"
Overnight stay on family business in area. Read less
Likes:
Bar staff friendly. Able to watch football match in bar.
Dislikes:
Bathroom had mould. Room not cleaned properly. No breakfast provided, even though it has 3 AA stars for B & B. Beer expensive - 30p/pint more than Sun Inn. Landing smelt very strongly of cigarettes.
Response from The Marlborough Head Inn:
Oh dear, and we thought you had a pleasant stay, you were the last to leave the bar at midnight after enjoying our Live Music! Rooms are a 'room only' price and Breakfast IS provided but at an extra charge. Had you spent time reading your 'Guest Information Folder' rather than inspecting the shower for mould you would have seen a menu! There is admitedly a small amount of visible mould in the shower but it is behind the sealant which we are addressing at the moment by having the seal replaced
Guest Review for The Marlborough Head Inn, Dedham
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.