MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Red Lion Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
1.80 miles away
The Cross Keys
Hotel Photo
Inn
3.20 miles away
The Kings Head
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.40 miles away
Coach House Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
6.00 miles away
The Black Bull Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
7.10 miles away
Shelford Lodge
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Apartment
7.50 miles away
Warner's Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
7.70 miles away
The Crown House Hotel Saffron Walden
AA 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.3
See all 63 reviews
Great Chesterford

Saffron Walden, 

Essex, 


CB10 1NY ,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Guest reviews for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.1
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Facilities:
4.0
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating:
4.3
From 63 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next
Sally
With a colleague
Stayed: Oct '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"A comfortable stay"
A one night stop over for a work meeting in the town.… Read more
"A comfortable stay"
A one night stop over for a work meeting in the town. Read less
Likes:
The room was pleasant and the bed was very comfortable
Dislikes:
No
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
M
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Lovely place, spacious room with wow factor, good breakfast, pity about the plumbing"
Comfortable friendly stay in great room with impressive bathroom.… Read more
"Lovely place, spacious room with wow factor, good breakfast, pity about the plumbing"
Comfortable friendly stay in great room with impressive bathroom. Read less
Likes:
The room
Dislikes:
Plugs not working, dripping tap
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Eric
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Staff friendly helpfull"
a good base for local attractions… Read more
"Staff friendly helpfull"
a good base for local attractions Read less
Likes:
helpfull staff
Dislikes:
bed quilts to hot for autumn weather
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Lindon
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very pleasant and relaxing. A good home from home."
We spent two nights here for a wedding at another venue a few miles away. It turned out to be nicer than the wedding venue so glad that was sold out.… Read more
"Very pleasant and relaxing. A good home from home."
We spent two nights here for a wedding at another venue a few miles away. It turned out to be nicer than the wedding venue so glad that was sold out. Read less
Likes:
The whole place was there to be used or not. It was up to you. Stay there for food and drink or go out and about. Staff were helpful either way. Rooms were comfortable enough to spend time in.
Dislikes:
Showers were noisy if you were having a lie in. Draught beers needed looking after better.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Elaine
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly staff, pretty room but not such a good night's sleep!"
Came to Great Chesterford to meet up with friends who are moving away. Visited nearby Anglesey Abbey, which was lovely then relaxed in the Crown House garden late afternoon. After a meal out in the… Read more
"Friendly staff, pretty room but not such a good night's sleep!"
Came to Great Chesterford to meet up with friends who are moving away. Visited nearby Anglesey Abbey, which was lovely then relaxed in the Crown House garden late afternoon. After a meal out in the village, we retired to our four-poster room. Read less
Likes:
The village is very pretty. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed relaxing in the garden.
Dislikes:
Squeaking floorboards and bed from the room above. The light flooded in the room due to the lightweight curtains and lack of blinds making it difficult to sleep. The bathroom needs upgrading.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Don
Alone
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Characterful hotel in a lovely setting with friendly staff."
The hotel is charming and characterful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable. I have stayed here 4 times now and each time has been great and a good night's sleep h… Read more
"Characterful hotel in a lovely setting with friendly staff."
The hotel is charming and characterful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable. I have stayed here 4 times now and each time has been great and a good night's sleep had. The food is very good. Much cheaper than the Holiday Inn Express just up the road. Read less
Likes:
The beds, the staff, the food, the character of the hotel.
Dislikes:
Nothing.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Patricia
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Recommendation"
Not longbenough… Read more
"Recommendation"
Not longbenough Read less
Likes:
Everything
Dislikes:
No
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay with us and your kind comments. We are so pleased that your stay with us was all that we would wish it to be. We hope you have a chance to stay again.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Harald
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Great room and delicious dinner."
Great room and delicious dinner.… Read more
"Great room and delicious dinner."
Great room and delicious dinner. Read less
Likes:
Great room and delicious dinner.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your dinner was so delicious. Thank you for saying that you would recommend us to a friend, we really appreciate that .
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Alan
Family with older Children
Stayed: Aug '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly staff, extremely comfortable bed, delicious food"
Overnight stay before listening to our daughter in a concert.… Read more
"Friendly staff, extremely comfortable bed, delicious food"
Overnight stay before listening to our daughter in a concert. Read less
Likes:
Friendly staff, comfortable bed and a fabulous steak meal.
Dislikes:
If I'm absolutely honest, there were 2 things, both petty and unimportant. One, the bar atmosphere wasn't outstanding. Two, there was only Pre ground pepper with breakfast. Not exactly critical.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I agree with you about freshly ground black pepper with breakfast. Please just ask, it is available. If the bar is not busy,it can be very quiet, I am sorry about that,we could play some music, so we appreciate that feedback. We are however really pleased that you enjoyed your steak so much and that we made you feel welcome and that your room was comfortable, thank you for your kind comments, and suggestions.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Jo
Young Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
"A couplestay"
We booked the stay as a treat. The room was described as superior on the website so we decided to book it. In reality it was standard and it wasn't located in the hotel but in "The Stables". We were v… Read more
"A couplestay"
We booked the stay as a treat. The room was described as superior on the website so we decided to book it. In reality it was standard and it wasn't located in the hotel but in "The Stables". We were very disappointed and felt misled by the description. There was a very loud noise coming from next door room at night, which turned out to be the shower. When we used the shower in our bathroom it also made a loud noise so the neighbours must have heard it too. The stuff were helpful though. Read less
Likes:
The location.
Dislikes:
The hotel looks in need of updating.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We are sorry that you felt misled, but you were in a super king size bed,one of the largest rooms, with all facilities as described,therefore, in no way misled.The old style rooms are in the main building,rooms 10-18. Thank you for letting us know about the shower, we have investigated and not found any issues. We are sorry that you did not stay, especially as it was a treat we do care about our guests,
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2017 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.