MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Red Lion Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
1.80 miles away
The Cross Keys
Hotel Photo
Inn
3.20 miles away
The Kings Head
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.40 miles away
Coach House Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
6.00 miles away
Warner's Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
7.70 miles away
Shelford Lodge
Accommodation Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Travel accommodation
7.70 miles away
The Cricketers Arms
Hotel Photo
Visit Britain 3 Stars Inn
Hotel
7.90 miles away
The Crown House Hotel Saffron Walden
AA 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.4
See all 36 reviews
Great Chesterford

Saffron Walden, 

Essex, 


CB10 1NY ,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Guest reviews for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.2
Value:
4.3
Friendliness:
4.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Facilities:
4.0
Staff service:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating:
4.4
From 36 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next
Rajni
Alone
Stayed: Sep '16
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Charming room and friendly staff"
Mostly comfortable - however no hot water in shower… Read more
"Charming room and friendly staff"
Mostly comfortable - however no hot water in shower Read less
Likes:
Staff and breakfast
Dislikes:
No hot water in shower, water pressure not good
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are very happy that your stay was comfortable and that you would recommend us to your friends, especially given your shower issues. We can only apologise wholeheartedly about the showers and hot water situation. We are having problems this week with the boilers. We are negotiating with plumbers to get them replaced at the earliest possible date. We are truly sorry that this affected your stay.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Gordon
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '16
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Friendly and accommodating staff enhanced our experience"
Overnight stay following a local wedding. Room was made available early to allow us to change.… Read more
"Friendly and accommodating staff enhanced our experience"
Overnight stay following a local wedding. Room was made available early to allow us to change. Read less
Likes:
Pleasant and quiet room; helpful management and staff
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Andrew
Young Couple
Stayed: Sep '16
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"An enjoyable stay"
Enjoyable… Read more
"An enjoyable stay"
Enjoyable Read less
Likes:
Very friendly staff
Dislikes:
Nothing at all
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Sharon
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Beautiful hotel and great food - highly recommended"
We stayed for two nights in order to explore Saffron Walden and the surrounding area.… Read more
"Beautiful hotel and great food - highly recommended"
We stayed for two nights in order to explore Saffron Walden and the surrounding area. Read less
Likes:
We were very pleased with our room, We had both table service and buffet breakfasts, both were excellent. We also had dinner and this was superb. Staff were very friendly and professional.
Dislikes:
Unfortunately the guests on the floor above us appeared to be insomniacs as there was a lot of movement in their room throughout the night, which disturbed us, but this wasn't the hotel's fault.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We really value guest feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is especially good to hear that you had superb and excellent food. It is important to us that our guests feel looked after Chef tries to offer a generous and varied menu.
I am very sorry that you were disturbed by noisy guests in the room above you. We are looking into soundproofing as the next stage of refurbishment.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Rachel
Family with older Children
Stayed: Aug '16
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
3
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely grounds and comfortable room"
We stayed 1 night whilst visiting local relatives.… Read more
"Lovely grounds and comfortable room"
We stayed 1 night whilst visiting local relatives. Read less
Likes:
It was very pleasant to sit in the garden and enjoy a drink. The room was big enough to accommodate 3 people in separate beds and it was very quiet and peaceful overnight.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are pleased you were able to enjoy some of our lovely sunny days in the gardens. We are pleased to hear that you also had a quiet and peaceful stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Paula
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely Place"
We stayed there because it was close to the Imperial War Museum, Duxford.… Read more
"Lovely Place"
We stayed there because it was close to the Imperial War Museum, Duxford. Read less
Likes:
Lovely staff, peaceful setting.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are really pleased that you had such a pleasant stay.Thank you for your kind comments. We hope that you will be able to stay again.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Linda
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Little Gem"
We needed a hotel for one night to attend a party and the 2 central hotels in SW were fully booked so we chose one a bit further out and we are so glad we did! This is a little gem of a find and only… Read more
"Little Gem"
We needed a hotel for one night to attend a party and the 2 central hotels in SW were fully booked so we chose one a bit further out and we are so glad we did! This is a little gem of a find and only sad we hadn't booked for longer. Read less
Likes:
4 poster bed, huge bath, lovely gardens and excellent friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast!
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We are really happy that we were able to look after you when you could not find another hotel. We hope that you can stay longer next time.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Peiwei
With a colleague
Stayed: Jul '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"The best and closest hotel for a business trip to local companies."
Came late in the night and Tina was waiting to serve.… Read more
"The best and closest hotel for a business trip to local companies."
Came late in the night and Tina was waiting to serve. Read less
Likes:
Quilt and convenience.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We appreciate it. We are really happy that your stay was all we would hope it to be. Thank you for your kind comments.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Donna
Alone
Stayed: Jun '16
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Just Right"
I enjoyed a very fine stay at the Crown House.… Read more
"Just Right"
I enjoyed a very fine stay at the Crown House. Read less
Likes:
The people are lovely- friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, clean and commodious. Breakfast was fast and high quality. They even leave cookies in the room.
Dislikes:
The only criticism is that there is no food available late at night (after 9:00).
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. we are really pleased that you had a comfortable stay.Thank you for your kind comments.
Regarding the restaurant closing time of 9pm, we do not have enough demand to keep the restaurant open later. If you knew you were arriving later, it is possible to phone and order your food, if you were arriving shortly after 9pm. If you anticipated arriving between 9-10pm I am sure that we would be able to make you a sandwich.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Iain
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '16
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Friendly and comfortable"
Stayed one night when visiting friends. Room 12 (top floor)… Read more
"Friendly and comfortable"
Stayed one night when visiting friends. Room 12 (top floor) Read less
Likes:
Lovely old building. Pleasant staff. Plenty of parking. Good breakfast. Comfortable room. Good value for two sharing.
Dislikes:
The en-suite bathroom door wouldn't close - can be forgiven given the age of the building. The shower is a little outdated although the bathroom looks recently updated.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for your review of The Crown House and your stay with us, and your helpful comments.
We have ,since your stay installed new boilers and water pumps to the original building and new showers in some of the rooms.
This is a lovely old building, but we will ensure that the bathroom door shuts properly. Thank you for letting us know, it is really helpful to us to find out how we can improve things for our guests.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2016 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.