MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Red Lion Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
1.80 miles away
The Cross Keys
Hotel Photo
Inn
3.20 miles away
The Kings Head
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.40 miles away
Coach House Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Hotel
6.00 miles away
The Black Bull Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
7.10 miles away
Shelford Lodge
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Apartment
7.50 miles away
Warner's Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
7.70 miles away
The Crown House Hotel Saffron Walden
AA 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.3
See all 54 reviews
Great Chesterford

Saffron Walden, 

Essex, 


CB10 1NY ,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Guest reviews for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.1
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Facilities:
4.0
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Breakfast:
4.6
Guest Rating:
4.3
From 54 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next
Jo
Young Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
"A couplestay"
We booked the stay as a treat. The room was described as superior on the website so we decided to book it. In reality it was standard and it wasn't located in the hotel but in "The Stables". We were v… Read more
"A couplestay"
We booked the stay as a treat. The room was described as superior on the website so we decided to book it. In reality it was standard and it wasn't located in the hotel but in "The Stables". We were very disappointed and felt misled by the description. There was a very loud noise coming from next door room at night, which turned out to be the shower. When we used the shower in our bathroom it also made a loud noise so the neighbours must have heard it too. The stuff were helpful though. Read less
Likes:
The location.
Dislikes:
The hotel looks in need of updating.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We are sorry that you felt misled, but you were in a super king size bed,one of the largest rooms, with all facilities as described,therefore, in no way misled.The old style rooms are in the main building,rooms 10-18. Thank you for letting us know about the shower, we have investigated and not found any issues. We are sorry that you did not stay, especially as it was a treat we do care about our guests,
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
susan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
2
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Only short break is all you could do at this hotel"
We stayed here as we wanted to go to a few local places like audley end and duxford which this hotel is good for and chosen.… Read more
"Only short break is all you could do at this hotel"
We stayed here as we wanted to go to a few local places like audley end and duxford which this hotel is good for and chosen. Read less
Likes:
Lovely staff who were very informative and accommodating.lovely breakfast and evening meal.
Dislikes:
The bedroom was up a spiral stair case not good with suitcases. The room needs updating and bathroom floor uneven. The bed very uncomfortable and could hear people in the other room and main road nois
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and your kind comments. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you contact the hotel ,we can try to sort out the best type of room to suit your needs, depending on availability. We are repainting the rooms during August & we do have a continual refurbishment programme. The hotel inspector stayed in that room last month and was fine, mattresses are difficult to get right for everyone, sorry you did not sleep wel
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Marek
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Tired but interesting hotel"
Convenient location, pleasant village. Good to be outside Cambridge in a (fairly) country setting. We were there to visit a relative and a short shopping trip into Cambridge by train.… Read more
"Tired but interesting hotel"
Convenient location, pleasant village. Good to be outside Cambridge in a (fairly) country setting. We were there to visit a relative and a short shopping trip into Cambridge by train. Read less
Likes:
Easy parking in the hotel grounds in an interesting old hotel with a garden.
Dislikes:
Poor beer ( lager) quality.. We were warned about this!
Not a destination for dinner either and fairly pricey.
One of the staff seemed to be struggling. Would recommend with reservations.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us, I am sorry to hear that the lager was not up to standard for you, we will look into that .I am sorry that your dining experience was not all we would wish it to be. We always ask guests to let us know if their meal is not as they would like it,and we ask diners during dinner if all is well.We do try to keep our dining costs as competitive as possible with other local restaurants. We appreciate that you would still recommend us to friends,
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Anne
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '17
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
2
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Fine for one night."
One night bed and breakfast to meet up with friends in Saffron Walden.… Read more
"Fine for one night."
One night bed and breakfast to meet up with friends in Saffron Walden. Read less
Likes:
Location quiet and convenient.
Dislikes:
Had to wait 30 mins for room to be made up as Eviivo had not made hotel aware that we wanted twin beds. Pleasant receptionist brought us coffee while we waited.
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for posting a review .We are sorry that you had to wait for your room to be ready for you. If you require twin beds it needs to be requested in bed preference, otherwise we are not informed. We do not like guests check in to to be delayed , we appreciate that you may have had a long journey and that you want to settle into your room. We immediately asked the housekeeping team to change your room to a twin for you and were happy to do all we could to resolve the misunderstanding
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
CLIVE
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent"
Excellent… Read more
"Excellent"
Excellent Read less
Likes:
Great Room, Nice place. Nice staff
Dislikes:
Too short
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you had such and "excellent" stay. We hope that you can stay longer next time. Thank you for your kind feedback.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Keith
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"First Class Hotel in every respect"
Relaxing.… Read more
"First Class Hotel in every respect"
Relaxing. Read less
Likes:
Frlyness and food.
Dislikes:
Problem with new shower tap.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Peter
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"A comfortable base to visit Saffron Walden"
My wife and I were getting away for a few days. I work from home full-time, and during annual leave I like to escape somewhere. With the pound lower, now is the time to explore England. Saffron Walden… Read more
"A comfortable base to visit Saffron Walden"
My wife and I were getting away for a few days. I work from home full-time, and during annual leave I like to escape somewhere. With the pound lower, now is the time to explore England. Saffron Walden is an extraordinary place, cut-off from the hustle and bustle of elsewhere; and the Crown House is an excellent base from which to explore. We had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Read less
Likes:
The staff were friendly and accommodating.
Dislikes:
There were a few ants in our room, but we were in the country!
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We are very lucky in this area, Saffron Walden is a little gem of a town, which retains a lot of its own identity. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your escape and exploration of the area so much. Thank you for your kind comments, we are very pleased that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
David
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '17
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
3
Location:
3
Breakfast:
3
"Nice overnight stop"
Nice overnight stop after attending an on site wedding reception. Strange to have breakfast served from 08.30 to 09.30 on a Sunday morning following an early hours of the morning finish to a hotel fun… Read more
"Nice overnight stop"
Nice overnight stop after attending an on site wedding reception. Strange to have breakfast served from 08.30 to 09.30 on a Sunday morning following an early hours of the morning finish to a hotel function but a nice hotel in a great location. Read less
Likes:
Nice friendly staff and a comfy, cosy bar (albeit very crowded!)
Dislikes:
VERY disappointed to see the refrigeration unit housing the premium bottled beers in the bar 'hidden' behind some material covering to prevent sale in preference to a single unlabelled cask of beer!
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
We really appreciate guest feedback, thank you fro writing a review of your stay with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would recommend us to a friend. I am sorry that we were not serving our premium bottled beers, the groom especially wanted us to have a barrel of Wherry instead. I am sorry that you could not see the Wherry label, there was a display badge, I am not sure why that was not visible. We will have a look at our Sunday breakfast times.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Kit
Alone
Stayed: Apr '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Comfortable"
Convenient for work… Read more
"Comfortable"
Convenient for work Read less
Likes:
Friendliness and excellent breakfast
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast so much and that you would recommend us . We could not ask for more.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Anna
Alone
Stayed: Apr '17
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent"
I had a really peaceful evening and thoroughly enjoyed the room and the tranquillity.… Read more
"Excellent"
I had a really peaceful evening and thoroughly enjoyed the room and the tranquillity. Read less
Likes:
Friendly, flexible and efficient
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Crown House Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Crown House. We are really happy to hear that you had a tranquil and peaceful stay with us. It is lovely to hear that your stay with us was all we would wish it to be.
Guest Review for The Crown House Hotel, Saffron Walden
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2017 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.