MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Ship at Newnham
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Restaurant with rooms
9.00 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £110
The George Hotel Newent
Visit Britain 3 Stars Inn
Hotel
Guest Rating: 3.8
See all 51 reviews
The George Hotel, 21-23 Church Street

Newent, 

Gloucestershire, 


GL18 1PU,  England
Average Guest Rating for The George Hotel, Newent
Guest reviews for The George Hotel, Newent are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.4
Value:
3.8
Friendliness:
4.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Facilities:
3.4
Staff service:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Breakfast:
4.3
Guest Rating:
3.8
From 51 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Previous Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next
MIGUEL
Group of Adults
Stayed: Aug '13
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Newent a lovely town"
2 Night Business stay… Read more
"Newent a lovely town"
2 Night Business stay Read less
Likes:
Friendly staff and great breakfast
Dislikes:
Not ensuite and shower was rubbish and towels too small
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
William
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '13
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
3
Breakfast:
4
"value for money"
Joined friends for a 70th birthday celebration,evening buffet and sunday lunch.… Read more
"value for money"
Joined friends for a 70th birthday celebration,evening buffet and sunday lunch. Read less
Likes:
Comfortable,nice entertainment and excellent evening buffet.
Dislikes:
Noisey power shower and very rough towels.
Response from The George Hotel:
thanks for the nice review.we have addressed the towel issue. Dan is my son and i think he is a nice bloke too but then im biased.mind you getting a smile out of Dan in the morning is exceptional
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
Bernard
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '13
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
2
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Not as it reads"
Very old and tired building with towels that are even older.Poor quality linen throughout,smelled fusty,badly in need of a refurb.… Read more
"Not as it reads"
Very old and tired building with towels that are even older.Poor quality linen throughout,smelled fusty,badly in need of a refurb. Read less
Likes:
Breakfast turned out to be good when someone actually turned up to do it,and he was a nice guy who could even speak English.
Dislikes:
The whole room
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
KEVIN
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '13
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"A hidden gem"
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left service was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome.… Read more
"A hidden gem"
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left service was excellent. We were made to feel very welcome. Read less
Likes:
The hotel is well located with the food being excellent. Lovely bar also.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The George Hotel:
Thank you for the lovely review.We do pride ourselves on Staff Service and friendliness especially.Also the quality of our food is one of our prioritys so its always nice when these things are highlighted.
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
Teresa
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jun '13
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Friendly and helpful"
We stayed for three nights in the hotel while attending a music festival, the staff were very helpful and friendly.… Read more
"Friendly and helpful"
We stayed for three nights in the hotel while attending a music festival, the staff were very helpful and friendly. Read less
Likes:
As above
Dislikes:
The only problem was getting to the car park for the hotel as it was very narrow, it would of been better if we had been warned and told of a nearby car park.
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
Richard
Young Couple
Stayed: Jun '13
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"A lovely night's stay in Gloucester"
A great nights stay in Newent.… Read more
"A lovely night's stay in Gloucester"
A great nights stay in Newent. Read less
Likes:
The hotel staff gave us a lift to / from the nearby Three Choirs Vineyard which meant that we could both enjoy a bottle of wine and the tasting that much more - fantastic service!!! Great Breakfast :)
Dislikes:
The room was not as clean as we'd have hoped. We had a twin room and pushed the beds toghether and there was mess under both the beds as well as a dust in the room.
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
Ian
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '13
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Reasonably priced and friendly"
We had booked the best double bedded room, but it proved to be facing the main street and over the bar. We settled for a twin room at the back.… Read more
"Reasonably priced and friendly"
We had booked the best double bedded room, but it proved to be facing the main street and over the bar. We settled for a twin room at the back. Read less
Likes:
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Dislikes:
Cistern in en suite caused problems.
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
Les
Group of Adults
Stayed: May '13
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
1
Location:
4
Breakfast:
1
"Dirty Bed linen, Toenails on floor!"
Never accutally stayed, after paying in full op front, left after the state of the room left me speachless. No refund offered or recived.… Read more
"Dirty Bed linen, Toenails on floor!"
Never accutally stayed, after paying in full op front, left after the state of the room left me speachless. No refund offered or recived. Read less
Likes:
Nothing
Dislikes:
Room cleanliness was appaling!
Response from The George Hotel:
This was an unfortunate occurence in which we believe that the room had been missed from the cleaning schedule. An alternative room was offered however this offer was not taken up as the customer did not wish to view it. A full refund was later given.
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
Dave
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '13
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
2
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Glad we were only there one night."
rooms need a little TLC, paper peeling,door handles loose, cobwebs around the edges, we moved the beds together and the skirting boards looked like they had never been cleaned.… Read more
"Glad we were only there one night."
rooms need a little TLC, paper peeling,door handles loose, cobwebs around the edges, we moved the beds together and the skirting boards looked like they had never been cleaned. Read less
Likes:
the breakfast was exceptional although a little slow,
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
Barbara
Group of Adults
Stayed: Apr '13
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Pleasant stay, friendly staff & excellent food"
On arrival the hotel does look very tired and a bit unwelcoming but we were very well looked after from the time we walked in. The food was superb. The rooms were very clean and lots of hot running… Read more
"Pleasant stay, friendly staff & excellent food"
On arrival the hotel does look very tired and a bit unwelcoming but we were very well looked after from the time we walked in. The food was superb. The rooms were very clean and lots of hot running water. Please be aware that there are quite steep steps to the second floor which would have caused my mum (who is 82) problems. However I called a couple of days before arrival to check this and they happily moved mum to the first floor. Read less
Likes:
Very well looked after.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The George Hotel, Newent
Previous Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.