MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Sandhill Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
0.90 miles away
Blenheim Edge
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
1.30 miles away
Bell at Hampton
Accommodation Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Travel accommodation
1.30 miles away
The Punch Bowl
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
2.50 miles away
The Glove House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 5 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
2.50 miles away
The Blenheim Buttery
Guest House Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Inn
Guest house
2.60 miles away
5 Mile View
Guest House Photo
Visit Britain 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
3.00 miles away
Hill Farm
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed and Breakfast
4.00 miles away
Oxford Apartment B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
4.20 miles away
The Highwayman Hotel Kidlington
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
Guest Rating: 3.8
See all 85 reviews
249 Banbury Road

Kidlington, 

Oxfordshire, 


OX5 1BF,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
Guest reviews for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.4
Value:
3.7
Friendliness:
4.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Facilities:
3.4
Staff service:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Breakfast:
4.2
Guest Rating:
3.8
From 85 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
Theresa
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Great location"
We wanted to cycle part of the Oxford canal and this was the perfect location. After a great breakfast each day off we went on our bikes leaving the car bin the ample car park. After a day's ride we r… Read more
"Great location"
We wanted to cycle part of the Oxford canal and this was the perfect location. After a great breakfast each day off we went on our bikes leaving the car bin the ample car park. After a day's ride we returned to a lovely clean room full of character with beams, and a comfy bed. Right on the canal with a lovely beer garden, this place is great. And for the not so active ... there's a bus stop nearby for a short hop to Oxford or a day e exploring Blenheim. Read less
Likes:
The lovely room (room 3). Great food. Location right on the Oxford canal. Friendly staff. Good sized car park.
Dislikes:
No.
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
Thank you for your review Theresa, we are glad that you had a good time and made most of our canal side, I hope you enjoyed yourself, specially with this time of year with the great weather and all. We hope maybe to see you again soon.
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
Gerard
Alone
Stayed: Mar '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"a very comortable stay"
From the moment I walk into The Highwayman I knew I would be very happy staying there. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel special.All the rooms have allthe facilities you could want.… Read more
"a very comortable stay"
From the moment I walk into The Highwayman I knew I would be very happy staying there. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel special.All the rooms have allthe facilities you could want. Free Wi Fi thoughout was perfect too. Read less
Likes:
The location is great right beside the river, a lovely quitet location.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
Thank you Gerard for the lovely coments you have provided in your review, we hope to see you again soon
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
David
Alone
Stayed: Mar '15
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
3
Location:
3
"Like staying in a hostel."
I booked this hotel as it was convenient for my work. However the rooms were in very poor shape, and made the stay uncomfortable. As much as it is convenient, I can't stay here again which is a real… Read more
"Like staying in a hostel."
I booked this hotel as it was convenient for my work. However the rooms were in very poor shape, and made the stay uncomfortable. As much as it is convenient, I can't stay here again which is a real pity, because with a small amount of care, bringing this in line with other hotels rather than the youth hostel feel it has now, it would be perfectly adequate. Read less
Likes:
Good location (convenient for me), nice old building. Having a pub/restaurant on site was useful for food, though it wasn't very good.
Dislikes:
Lumpy and extremely uncomfortable bed. Extra bedding was heavily stained. Bed was shorter than most. Curtains were practically useless. Shower with no water pressure. Cobwebs in wardrobe.
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay,we beleieve that you were in our Double Ensuite, we have looked at these rooms and do our best to try and make them more presentable and comfortable to stay in, this is one of the t dissapointing reviews for this room and in past two months 68% said they would recommend it to a friend and thats not including all who choosen not to leave a review. Remember we are a 315 year old B&B not a Hostel, Thank you.
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
Dawn
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"clean and welcoming"
location was perfect as visiting family/friends.… Read more
"clean and welcoming"
location was perfect as visiting family/friends. Read less
Likes:
friendly staff
Dislikes:
room needed socket and mirror for hairdryer, shower was poor and not hot.
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
Thank you for your review Dawn, I will let the manager know about your negatives and see what we can do to solve them.

Actions
Update your response
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
David
Alone
Stayed: Feb '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent as always"
This time I only stayed for a couple of nights. Room is OK with everything you need. Staff are very helpful. Place is close to where I work and near the airport. Easy to get into Oxford except for sun… Read more
"Excellent as always"
This time I only stayed for a couple of nights. Room is OK with everything you need. Staff are very helpful. Place is close to where I work and near the airport. Easy to get into Oxford except for sundays but Kidlington is nice. The bar is lovely. Roaring fire and even had a folk band playing one night. They have a curry house there. Superb food. Overall a really nice place to stay. Only problem is they don't have enough rooms and because they're so pleasant its always booked. Read less
Likes:
Food was good. Lovely curry and great breakfast. Location was good for me. Staff were really pleasant.
Dislikes:
Nope
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
Thank you David for your Review, and more specifically for your great comments giving a good overview to The Highwayman Hotel, we hope to see you soon!
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
Nigel
Alone
Stayed: Feb '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Good night's sleep and great breakfast"
Check-in very easy. Staff evening and morning friendly and helpful. Room was cosy but quiet perfectly acceptable for an overnight stay. Breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay again.… Read more
"Good night's sleep and great breakfast"
Check-in very easy. Staff evening and morning friendly and helpful. Room was cosy but quiet perfectly acceptable for an overnight stay. Breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay again. Read less
Likes:
Friendly and helpful staff. Proximity to my place of work. Breakfast.
Dislikes:
Not much - pretty good stay
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
Thank you for your Review Nigel, hopefully see you again soon!
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
Barry
Group of Adults
Stayed: Feb '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Nice place to stay"
PLeasant with helpful Staff… Read more
"Nice place to stay"
PLeasant with helpful Staff Read less
Likes:
Easy access
Dislikes:
No
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
Thank you for your Review Barry, Your most welcome to stay again.
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
David
Alone
Stayed: Nov '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Thoroughly enjoyed"
Very pleasant, good food options, clean comfortable room and friendly hosts… Read more
"Thoroughly enjoyed"
Very pleasant, good food options, clean comfortable room and friendly hosts Read less
Likes:
See above
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
Thank you for the review, you are most welcome maybe the next time you need to stay in Oxford, just ask for Mark.
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
laurence
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
2
Location:
3
Breakfast:
2
"Don't stay at this hotel!"
we were booked for two nights but left after one very uncomfortable night.… Read more
"Don't stay at this hotel!"
we were booked for two nights but left after one very uncomfortable night. Read less
Likes:
Very little. we do not want to pay for the night we did not spend there.
Dislikes:
the hotel was dirty and smelly. service was casual to the point of rudeness. our room was very small and shabby. the bathroom smelled to garlic and smoke, the beds were old and short, the pillows
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
We looked closely at this customers concerns. During September our occupancy rate for Rooms was 95.6% for this particular Room it was 92%. However 15 different guests used the room during this period with one staying for 9 consective nights. During check in we implore our guests to inform us if they have problems during there stay, we had no knowledge of the issues stated during the guests stay. We have recieved two wriiten complaints during the summer.
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
Amanda
Alone
Stayed: Aug '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"Nice country hotel"
I was visiting a friend and found this hotel within walking distance along the canal. I spent two nights in the little annex.… Read more
"Nice country hotel"
I was visiting a friend and found this hotel within walking distance along the canal. I spent two nights in the little annex. Read less
Likes:
The location was lovely and peaceful, but not isolated. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Dislikes:
Being in the annex meant my ground floor room window opened onto the back area of the pub so I had to keep my curtains closed for privacy.
Response from The Highwayman Hotel:
Thank you for the good review, I will let the manager know about getting some netted curtains for better privacy.
Guest Review for The Highwayman Hotel, Kidlington
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2015 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.