MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Volunteer
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
2.20 miles away
The Star Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
3.10 miles away
La Fontana Italian Restaurant with Rooms
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Restaurant with Rooms
Restaurant with rooms
3.50 miles away
Mather House Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 3 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed & breakfast
4.10 miles away
Charney Manor
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.20 miles away
Horse and Jockey
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.80 miles away
The Cherry Tree
Hotel Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Inn
Inn
5.20 miles away
The Fox and Hounds
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
5.80 miles away
The White Horse Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Restaurant with rooms
6.50 miles away
The Bear Hotel Wantage
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 3.7
See all 567 reviews
Market Place

Wantage, 

Oxfordshire, 


OX12 8AB,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Guest reviews for The Bear Hotel, Wantage are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.4
Value:
3.7
Friendliness:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Facilities:
3.5
Staff service:
4.0
Location:
4.3
Breakfast:
3.9
Guest Rating:
3.7
From 567 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
David
Alone
Stayed: Apr '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
3
Breakfast:
4
"Business trip"
One night, acceptable and value for money… Read more
"Business trip"
One night, acceptable and value for money Read less
Likes:
Meal and price
Dislikes:
Room 34 is a little on the small side
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Alison
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Oldy worldy exterior with modern rooms in the heart of Wantage"
We stayed overnight for a friend's wedding nearby. Check-in was fast and our room, whilst small, was clean, bright and nicely decorated in a modern style. The bed was very comfortable and the water pr… Read more
"Oldy worldy exterior with modern rooms in the heart of Wantage"
We stayed overnight for a friend's wedding nearby. Check-in was fast and our room, whilst small, was clean, bright and nicely decorated in a modern style. The bed was very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was good, although the cubicle was a little snug for those of a generous build!

We had drinks in the bar when we returned in the evening, seating was comfortable and the tables were cleared pretty efficiently. Read less
Likes:
Comfortable bed, good shower, friendly staff, efficient check-in and check-out, no hidden extras.
Dislikes:
The breakfast was a bit bland. I had the full English and it felt a bit mean and the English Breakfast tea was tasteless. I think better quality ingredients are needed.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
richard
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
3
Location:
5
"Visit friends and half marathon trip"
needed a central hotel in Wantage where our friends live to take in both their proximity and Grove Half Marathon… Read more
"Visit friends and half marathon trip"
needed a central hotel in Wantage where our friends live to take in both their proximity and Grove Half Marathon Read less
Likes:
Staff very friendly and they had provided us with late check-out so we could get showered after race, which was very accommodating. The Bear itself looks very inviting but we didn't use all facilities
Dislikes:
Room (no.31), was next to smoking area on the newly laid decking and was noisy. Close to backdoor so heard people back from night out, talking at 1am/3am, would choose different room if stayed again
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Julia
Mature Couple
Stayed: Mar '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Nice friendly hotel"
Overnight stay for family meal in hotel… Read more
"Nice friendly hotel"
Overnight stay for family meal in hotel Read less
Likes:
Pleasant experience, very accommodating staff
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Alison
Alone
Stayed: Mar '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Best breakfast in town"
Two nights for business.… Read more
"Best breakfast in town"
Two nights for business. Read less
Likes:
Breakfast was delicious, one of the best ever in a hotel.
Dislikes:
Wifi didn't work, TV picture was a bit ropey.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Adrian
With a colleague
Stayed: Mar '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Warm and welcoming Hotel"
Does exactly what it says on the tin… Read more
"Warm and welcoming Hotel"
Does exactly what it says on the tin Read less
Likes:
Friendly and polite staff, bar well stocked, great breakfast
Dislikes:
Shower tray blocked, Like having a shower in a paddling pool
Response from The Bear Hotel:
Apologies about the problem with the shower...we have rectified it and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Christine
Alone
Stayed: Feb '18
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
2
Location:
3
Breakfast:
2
"Central location in a basic and tired hotel"
2 nights for business… Read more
"Central location in a basic and tired hotel"
2 nights for business Read less
Likes:
The central location is ideal for those without a car
Dislikes:
The room was small and with poor lighting. There must have been a boiler in the room above which was very noisy each time it fired up which was most of the time in the evening
Response from The Bear Hotel:
apologies if you were kept away...we are not sure what by...you were on the second floor and the boiler is on the ground floor, opposite side of the building. We will investigate though.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Hazel
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Found the duvet rather too warm other wise highly delighted would always recommend"
Very enjoyable good atmosphere excellent staff really good food will come again !!!!… Read more
"Found the duvet rather too warm other wise highly delighted would always recommend"
Very enjoyable good atmosphere excellent staff really good food will come again !!!! Read less
Likes:
Every thing
Dislikes:
Unfortunately there is no onsite parking but this is not the hotel fault but there is public parking nearby
Response from The Bear Hotel:
We are glad we met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
John
Alone
Stayed: Feb '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Does what is says on the tin"
Suitable… Read more
"Does what is says on the tin"
Suitable Read less
Likes:
Staff and food was amazing
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Fay
Alone
Stayed: Feb '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Even better than last time!"
This is my second stay at The Bear and it was even better than the first which was of a high standard. Apart from the room itself, The Bear is an excellent location for anyone who is without a car as… Read more
"Even better than last time!"
This is my second stay at The Bear and it was even better than the first which was of a high standard. Apart from the room itself, The Bear is an excellent location for anyone who is without a car as there are bus stops for transport - local, Oxford and surrounding area - immediately outside the hotel. The hotel faces the Market Square, giving easy access to a good variety of shops. The hotel also has a lift which makes it easy on arrival with luggage to access rooms. Read less
Likes:
Apart from the high standard of cleanliness and comfortable furnishing of the room, the lift and stairs were easily accessible. Staff were very helpful.
Dislikes:
Despite there being plenty of hot water, the shower pressure is still hopeless, but this problem may be the fault of the water authority and not the management.
Response from The Bear Hotel:
We look forward to seeing you again.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.