MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Rose and Crown
Hotel Photo
AA 3 Stars Inn
Inn
8.40 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £80
The Clanfield Tavern
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
11.20 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £80
Perch and Pike
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
12.70 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £105
The Bell Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
13.00 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £99
Browns
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Guest house
13.30 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £82
Cherwell Guesthouse
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
13.40 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £95
The Old Swan Inn
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Bed & breakfast
13.50 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £98
The Five Alls
Hotel Photo
Visit England 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Inn
14.20 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £89
Herons Farm
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
15.10 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £115
Five Mile Oxford
Guest House Photo
Visit England 3 Stars Guest House
Guest house
15.50 miles away
Availability Confirmed: £220
The Bear Hotel Wantage
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 3.7
See all 572 reviews
Market Place

Wantage, 

Oxfordshire, 


OX12 8AB,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Guest reviews for The Bear Hotel, Wantage are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.4
Value:
3.7
Friendliness:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Facilities:
3.5
Staff service:
4.0
Location:
4.3
Breakfast:
3.9
Guest Rating:
3.7
From 572 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Previous Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
Adrian
With a colleague
Stayed: Mar '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Warm and welcoming Hotel"
Does exactly what it says on the tin… Read more
"Warm and welcoming Hotel"
Does exactly what it says on the tin Read less
Likes:
Friendly and polite staff, bar well stocked, great breakfast
Dislikes:
Shower tray blocked, Like having a shower in a paddling pool
Response from The Bear Hotel:
Apologies about the problem with the shower...we have rectified it and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Christine
Alone
Stayed: Feb '18
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
2
Location:
3
Breakfast:
2
"Central location in a basic and tired hotel"
2 nights for business… Read more
"Central location in a basic and tired hotel"
2 nights for business Read less
Likes:
The central location is ideal for those without a car
Dislikes:
The room was small and with poor lighting. There must have been a boiler in the room above which was very noisy each time it fired up which was most of the time in the evening
Response from The Bear Hotel:
apologies if you were kept away...we are not sure what by...you were on the second floor and the boiler is on the ground floor, opposite side of the building. We will investigate though.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Hazel
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Found the duvet rather too warm other wise highly delighted would always recommend"
Very enjoyable good atmosphere excellent staff really good food will come again !!!!… Read more
"Found the duvet rather too warm other wise highly delighted would always recommend"
Very enjoyable good atmosphere excellent staff really good food will come again !!!! Read less
Likes:
Every thing
Dislikes:
Unfortunately there is no onsite parking but this is not the hotel fault but there is public parking nearby
Response from The Bear Hotel:
We are glad we met your expectations and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
John
Alone
Stayed: Feb '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Does what is says on the tin"
Suitable… Read more
"Does what is says on the tin"
Suitable Read less
Likes:
Staff and food was amazing
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Fay
Alone
Stayed: Feb '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Even better than last time!"
This is my second stay at The Bear and it was even better than the first which was of a high standard. Apart from the room itself, The Bear is an excellent location for anyone who is without a car as… Read more
"Even better than last time!"
This is my second stay at The Bear and it was even better than the first which was of a high standard. Apart from the room itself, The Bear is an excellent location for anyone who is without a car as there are bus stops for transport - local, Oxford and surrounding area - immediately outside the hotel. The hotel faces the Market Square, giving easy access to a good variety of shops. The hotel also has a lift which makes it easy on arrival with luggage to access rooms. Read less
Likes:
Apart from the high standard of cleanliness and comfortable furnishing of the room, the lift and stairs were easily accessible. Staff were very helpful.
Dislikes:
Despite there being plenty of hot water, the shower pressure is still hopeless, but this problem may be the fault of the water authority and not the management.
Response from The Bear Hotel:
We look forward to seeing you again.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
James
Alone
Stayed: Feb '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Adequate hotel"
A 1-night stay… Read more
"Adequate hotel"
A 1-night stay Read less
Likes:
Friendly staff
Dislikes:
I was surprised that as a resident I was not very politely refused a drink at 11.40pm when I returned to the hotel.
Response from The Bear Hotel:
Unfortunately our bar closes at 11pm and the nightporters and not permitted to serve drinks. I apologise if the member of staff was rude and hope to see you again.
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Dan
Family with older Children
Stayed: Feb '18
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Rooms to hot and noisy"
Hotel room very hot, to hot to sleep and very noisy noisy.… Read more
"Rooms to hot and noisy"
Hotel room very hot, to hot to sleep and very noisy noisy. Read less
Likes:
Location
Dislikes:
Rooms small hot and noisy
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Phillip
Alone
Stayed: Jan '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Convenient, good value overnight accommodation"
I only needed a room to sleep… Read more
"Convenient, good value overnight accommodation"
I only needed a room to sleep Read less
Likes:
Quite room, comfortable bed, nice breakfast
Dislikes:
The shower was a bit feeble
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Steve
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jan '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
3
Breakfast:
4
"Small rooms"
We were attending a funeral so only required 1 night stay. The room we were given was very small for a couple of people. Car parking was not too much of a problem once we found the car park! Someone h… Read more
"Small rooms"
We were attending a funeral so only required 1 night stay. The room we were given was very small for a couple of people. Car parking was not too much of a problem once we found the car park! Someone had commented previously that they had to go out to the car park at 8am to put a ticket on the car. This is not the case if you park after 6pm you can get a ticket that is valid until 10am the following day - very handy! Read less
Likes:
The bed was extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was good.
Dislikes:
Although breakfast was good the doors in and out of the kitchen could really do with dampers on them.
Room and ensuite were very bijou. Curtain pole on main window could have been fitted better!
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Kelvin
Mature Couple
Stayed: Dec '17
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"being an old building the bedrooms were varied in size, this is not a criticism but an observation"
cleanliness and friendliness were excellant, we moved bedrooms for a larger one, this was done with no fuss and with a smile. Food and real ale was excellant… Read more
"being an old building the bedrooms were varied in size, this is not a criticism but an observation"
cleanliness and friendliness were excellant, we moved bedrooms for a larger one, this was done with no fuss and with a smile. Food and real ale was excellant Read less
Likes:
quaintmness and location.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Bear Hotel, Wantage
Previous Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.