MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Crown Hotel
Hotel Photo
AA 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
4.30 miles away
Edgcott House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Guest house
4.70 miles away
The Royal Oak Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
5.20 miles away
Kingsway Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Hotel
Bed and Breakfast
5.30 miles away
Tarr Farm Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 5 Stars Inn
Inn
5.30 miles away
The Gables
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed and Breakfast
5.40 miles away
Glendower House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
5.40 miles away
Overstream Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
5.40 miles away
Rose Bank Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed and Breakfast
5.50 miles away
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.5
See all 116 reviews
Wheddon Cross

Minehead, 

Somerset, 


TA24 7DR,  England
This popular inn and restaurant is in the centre of Wheddon Cross, the highest village on Exmoor, and a perfect base from which to explore this beautiful National Park.
  • Parking
  • Log fires
  • Restaurant and Bar
  • friendly atmosphere
Check Prices and Availability
Double EnsuiteDouble Ensuite
from£75.00
Twin EnsuiteTwin Ensuite
from£75.00
No imageFamily Ensuite - 2 Adults & 2 Children
from£95.00
Double Ensuite - Single OccupancyDouble Ensuite - Single Occupancy
from£40.00
Twin Ensuite - Single OccupancyTwin Ensuite - Single Occupancy
from£40.00
Single RoomSingle Room
from£40.00
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for The Rest and Be Thankful Inn, Minehead are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.3
Value:
4.3
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.7
Facilities:
4.4
Staff service:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Breakfast:
4.7
Guest Rating: 4.5
See all 116 reviews
Michael
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '16
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"This proved to be an excellent base from which to visit our family"
Very comfortable… Read more
"This proved to be an excellent base from which to visit our family"
Very comfortable Read less
Likes:
The welcome and the service
Dislikes:
The wash-basin in our room - it was so small I had to wash my hands one at a time.
Guest Review for The Rest and Be Thankful Inn, Minehead
Anna
Young Couple
Stayed: Jul '16
3
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
2
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location
4
Breakfast:
2
"Convenient location for wedding venue."
We stayed two nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and friendly.

Breakfast was fine - cereals and grapefruit to help yourself to a… Read more
"Convenient location for wedding venue."
We stayed two nights whilst attending a wedding nearby. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and friendly.

Breakfast was fine - cereals and grapefruit to help yourself to and a full cooked breakfast to order. They were happy to mix and match their ingredients. Scrambled eggs appeared to be cooked in the microwave, which was a shame. Read less
Likes:
A fun village pub, with live music on one night of our stay. Good lunch menu, themed dinner one evening.
Rooms clean, comfortable and with everything you need for a night or two.
Dislikes:
The only negatives were the heat (unbearable even with the window wide open - and it was not a hot weekend) and the noise from bathroom or kitchen fans which seemed to turn on at irregular intervals.
Response from The Rest and Be Thankful Inn:
Many thanks for your comments. Sorry about the fans but unfortunately as part of the building we have to have them somewhere and when we rebuilt the back of the pub the Exmoor National Park wouldnt allow us to put them anywhere else. If the only negatives were the fans and heat we are not sure why you wouldnt recommend us?
Guest Review for The Rest and Be Thankful Inn, Minehead
Sam
Young Couple
Stayed: Jul '16
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
1
Location
3
Breakfast:
5
"Great food, not great accomodation"
Great food but however I feel that staff were a massive let down. Me, and the other guests I stayed with all thought the staff (and owners) were rude and not welcoming. This made the stay uncomfortabl… Read more
"Great food, not great accomodation"
Great food but however I feel that staff were a massive let down. Me, and the other guests I stayed with all thought the staff (and owners) were rude and not welcoming. This made the stay uncomfortable. I must admit though that the kitchen team (waitresses) were friendly though. Read less
Likes:
The food is amazing. If you have a chance to eat in the area, I would recommend this place.
Dislikes:
Staff, managers and owners need to be trained on actually looking like they enjoy their jobs. Service at bar was slow.
Response from The Rest and Be Thankful Inn:
We apologise that you found our service not to your liking. But as far as we remember we served you all promptly at the bar and in the restaurant. You asked for a late check out which we agreed to as long as we did not have any other checkins. The member of management that spoke to you said that she was answering questions from everyone within your party at the same time. thank you for your comment about eating here we do try our best in all areas of the pub but it wasnt good enough for you.
Guest Review for The Rest and Be Thankful Inn, Minehead
More Information
AA 4 Stars Inn

5* Scores on the Doors Environmental Health Award
Parking
On-site parking, Free parking
Types of Payment Accepted at The Rest and Be Thankful Inn
Cash (Sterling), Credit card, Debit card, Cheque
Payment Cards accepted at the property
Master Card Maestro Visa 
Check-in: 12:00 PM till 9:00 PM
Early check-in available on request.
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Policies
Children Policy: No preference
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: No pets
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
Danish
English
Hungarian
Romanian
This popular Inn and restaurant is in the centre of Wheddon Cross, the highest village on Exmoor, and a perfect base from which to explore this beautiful National Park. The Inn was originally a staging post for travellers on their way between Dunster and Dulverton, and you will still find a warm welcome, good food and extremely comfortable accommodation awaiting you there today, almost 200 years later.

Whether you are looking for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings, or a more active holiday, the Rest and Be Thankful Inn and Exmoor are sure to meet your every need. Wheddon Cross, as its name suggests, sits on a crossroads near the centre of Exmoor. From here you have easy access to all parts of the National Park. The medieval village of Dunster is 6 miles away, with the seaside town of Minehead a further 3 miles. The pretty villages of Selworthy and Bossington in the National Trust owned Holnicote Estate are worth a visit, as are Winsford and Exford.

If you are looking for a walking, cycling, or fly-fishing break, we will do everything we can to provide you with the perfect holiday. There is a secure store at the Inn, where cycles and other equipment can be kept, and we also have a drying room for wet clothes and boots. Horse riding and hunting can be arranged with prior notice.
Style of property
Comfortable, Homely, Traditional
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2016 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.