MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Overstream Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
0.10 miles away
The Gables
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
The Castle Inn
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
Rose Bank Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
Sea View B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
0.20 miles away
Amberton
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.30 miles away
Tudor Cottage
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
1.00 miles away
The Cafe Porlock Weir
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Restaurant with rooms
1.50 miles away
Millers At The Anchor
Hotel Photo
Hotel
1.50 miles away
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.2
See all 163 reviews
High Street

Porlock, 

Somerset, 


TA24 8PS,  England
The Lorna Doone Hotel is a family run, licensed Hotel centrally situated in Porlock, Somerset, yet within walking distance of both Exmoor and the Exmoor Coastline.PLEASE NOTE ... DURING OUR SPECIAL PROMOTION OFFER 2 NIGHTS FOR THE PRICE OF 1 ( NOV - FEB 2014 ) GUESTS MUST DINE IN OUR RESTAURANT ONE EVENING
  • Limited free parking
  • Restaurant
  • Walking
  • Chidrens menu
  • Close to beach and moor
  • Free car parks from 6pm
  • Friendly staff
  • Dogs welcome
  • Groups taken
  • Great hospitality
Check Prices and Availability
Extra Large Double En-suiteExtra Large Double En-suite
from£85.00
Double En-suiteDouble En-suite
from£70.00
Small DoubleSmall Double
from£50.00
Twin En-suiteTwin En-suite
from£70.00
Courtyard Double En-suite 2Courtyard Double En-suite 2
from£80.00
Courtyard Family En-suite 4Courtyard Family En-suite 4
from£75.00
Courtyard Family En-suite 5Courtyard Family En-suite 5
from£120.00
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.6
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.0
Facilities:
3.6
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Breakfast:
4.3
Guest Rating: 4.2
See all 163 reviews
Trevor
Alone
Stayed: May '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
4
"Good value, comfortable and friendly"
Arrivedafter a motorbike tour, was able to park in the small rear car park, the bed was comfortable and the food in the evening good.… Read more
"Good value, comfortable and friendly"
Arrivedafter a motorbike tour, was able to park in the small rear car park, the bed was comfortable and the food in the evening good. Read less
Likes:
The convenience of the location
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hello Mr Peake. Thank you for your review, it was kind of you to take the time, so glad the weather was good for you, today it is wet, wet, wet !!!! Regards Mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Joan
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '15
4
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location
5
Breakfast:
5
"Nice stay shame about the room"
We were made very welcome when we arrived, The ladies who cooked and served breakfast were very helpful and pleasant. The room was clean but needed a revamp a good lick of paint would not go a miss, T… Read more
"Nice stay shame about the room"
We were made very welcome when we arrived, The ladies who cooked and served breakfast were very helpful and pleasant. The room was clean but needed a revamp a good lick of paint would not go a miss, There is nothing wrong with the bathroom. Did not think it was worth what we paid for three night stay for two adults and a small dog. Read less
Likes:
We liked the location. Plenty of places to go walking. Beautiful.
Dislikes:
Only the décor of the room.
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Sorry , what I ment to say was I will pass on your comments to the owner :) mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
PAUL
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '15
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
2
Location
1
"Very poor, outdated and unclean room."
Although we pre-paid for one night only intending to stay two nights we did however not stay in the room at all because the room was tired, outdated, unclean with no view or outlook.
Albeit we have… Read more
"Very poor, outdated and unclean room."
Although we pre-paid for one night only intending to stay two nights we did however not stay in the room at all because the room was tired, outdated, unclean with no view or outlook.
Albeit we have a dog we still expect a higher standard of accommodation than that given to us. Why do people assume that it is acceptable to allocate a substandard room to a customer because they have a dog, taking into account we pay extra for the dog. Read less
Likes:
As we did not stay there was nothing to like.
Dislikes:
They did not offer us any refund but told us that they could have given us a different room!Further up the village we had a luxury room for a little extra per night.We feel that a refund is in order.
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Thank you for your review it was very kind of you to take the time. I understand you told the manager you had to leave on urgent business. Well that was a lie was'nt it? The trouble today is people appear to have lost the power of speech! I showed you to your room, you went out and said all was well, then you write this. Thankyou. We do not give a substandard room to people with dogs, the dogs are not a problem! Please speak to hoteliers you cant fix it if it aint broke! Kind regards Maureen
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
More Information
3 Stars Self Assessed Hotel
Parking
On-site parking, Off-site parking
Types of Payment Accepted at The Lorna Doone Hotel
Cash (Sterling), Credit card, Debit card
Payment Cards accepted at the property
Master Card Maestro Visa Visa Electron Solo 
Check-in: 2:00 PM till 10:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Policies
Children Policy: Children welcome
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: Dogs
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
English
Take a tour of the picturesque village of Porlock, travel through the narrow streets with its interesting shops and boutiques. Porlocks origins can be traced back to the 12th century and has some lovely old thatched buildings, an ancient parish church. Have a ride up the famous Porlock hill into the surrounding countryside and see the breath-taking views of Exmoor, Porlock and Porlock Weir.

All our bedrooms are en-suite, individually furnished and each named after a character from the Lorna Doone story. Enjoy superb local fare in our restaurant. Relax with coffee in our cosy residents lounge or perhaps a drink at the bar. All our facilities will go towards assuring you of a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. Toni and her team look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel.

We can assure you of a warm welcome and a pleasant stay.

So if your looking for the perfect Romantic Getaway, a family retreat, or you are interested in retracing the steps of Lorna Doone - a story based on real people and real places, then the proprietors of the Hotel Toni and Dick look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel.
Style of property
Comfortable, Homely, Traditional
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2015 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.