MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Hurlestone B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
The Gables
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
Millers Bistro
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
0.10 miles away
Sea View B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
0.20 miles away
Amberton
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.30 miles away
Tudor Cottage
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
1.00 miles away
The Cafe Porlock Weir
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Restaurant with rooms
1.50 miles away
Millers At The Anchor
Hotel Photo
Hotel
1.50 miles away
The Culbone
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Hotel
Restaurant with rooms
3.50 miles away
The Lorna Doone Hotel Porlock
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.2
See all 152 reviews
High Street

Porlock, 

Somerset, 


TA24 8PS,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Guest reviews for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.6
Value:
4.3
Friendliness:
4.8
Cleanliness:
4.0
Facilities:
3.6
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Breakfast:
4.3
Guest Rating:
4.2
From 152 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
Susan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Friendly, charming and value for money"
A long weekend in beautiful Porlock - we have stayed at the Lorna Doone before and will again… Read more
"Friendly, charming and value for money"
A long weekend in beautiful Porlock - we have stayed at the Lorna Doone before and will again Read less
Likes:
A friendly, warm welcome by Mo which continued throughout our stay. Breakfast was served in the cosy dining room and we had an excellent, delicious evening meal. Rooms comfortable and clean.
Dislikes:
The hotel is very charming and relaxing but the decor is tired and dated (very 80's) - we feel it needs a freshen up but not an overhaul which may change it's personality.
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Robert
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Good"
Quiet… Read more
"Good"
Quiet Read less
Likes:
Staff & the village
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hello, and thank you for your review, we will be decorating in the winter, so we will be painted soon! best wishes Mo:)
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Edward
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Family occasion"
Came for a family funeral but our stay was comfortable and had a excellent meal with family in the hotel dining room.… Read more
"Family occasion"
Came for a family funeral but our stay was comfortable and had a excellent meal with family in the hotel dining room. Read less
Likes:
The welome and the rooms, food and staff where nothing was too much trouble. For the cost of B&B at this hotel, what you get is more than you would expect. We could not find one fault. Will return.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hello and many thanks for your review, funerals are not the easiest of occasions, I am glad we could help :) Mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Paul
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely, friendly hotel"
Relaxing and enjoyable break. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The bar had real ale and good wines, and both breakfasts and dinners were delicious.… Read more
"Lovely, friendly hotel"
Relaxing and enjoyable break. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The bar had real ale and good wines, and both breakfasts and dinners were delicious. Read less
Likes:
Everything. The hotel was just what we wanted, in z lovely location.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hello, and thank you for your review. It is always heartening when it is a good one! I open them with one eye shut and then either smile :) or despare :( ha ha !!!!.Lovely to meet you both, glad you enjoyed your break with us . Mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Michael
Family with older Children
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Quiet room for a family in a lovely place with friendly staff"
3 nights there - we didn't use the car once as you can do nice walkings to the hills, the coast, the falconry (kids loved it - Exmoor owl and hawk centre) nearby. We went to the pub next door every ni… Read more
"Quiet room for a family in a lovely place with friendly staff"
3 nights there - we didn't use the car once as you can do nice walkings to the hills, the coast, the falconry (kids loved it - Exmoor owl and hawk centre) nearby. We went to the pub next door every night. Read less
Likes:
When we asked for the meanig of the name of the hotel the staff gave us a short summary aboaut "Lorna Doone" copied from the internet.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Many thanks for your review of your stay with us, You will be able to tell your dinner guests all about Lorna Doone now ! :)
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Julie
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very friendly place"
We have stayed here 3 times before and always enjoy it. It is a "quirky" place which gives it charm and character. If you are used to top notch surroundings you will be disappointed but in terms of co… Read more
"Very friendly place"
We have stayed here 3 times before and always enjoy it. It is a "quirky" place which gives it charm and character. If you are used to top notch surroundings you will be disappointed but in terms of comfort and friendliness you will be hard pressed to find better. Read less
Likes:
The welcome we received and also the super breakfast. It is right in the centre of the village which is ideal for the bus stop and local pubs and restaurants.
Dislikes:
Nothing
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Rosie
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Excellent value for money"
We were looking for a short relaxing break and came across the Lorna Doone. We are so glad we found it as the location, owner, staff and food were superb. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms… Read more
"Excellent value for money"
We were looking for a short relaxing break and came across the Lorna Doone. We are so glad we found it as the location, owner, staff and food were superb. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were good. Staff were very knowledgable on the area, food and had an excellent choice of local beers and cider and would stay there again. Read less
Likes:
Could not fault anything about the hotel or location.
Dislikes:
Unfortunate that there is limited parking but were advised of the local car parks and charges.
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hi Rosie and Mick, many thanks for your review, it was lovely to meet you both :), Mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
julie
Young Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
2
Location:
1
Breakfast:
1
"disappointing"
the room was ok, it was fairly clean, the bed was quite firm, the window didn't shut properly, the breakfast was horrible to be honest, my partner's breakfast came out practically uncooked. The people… Read more
"disappointing"
the room was ok, it was fairly clean, the bed was quite firm, the window didn't shut properly, the breakfast was horrible to be honest, my partner's breakfast came out practically uncooked. The people wasn't very welcoming, helpful or friendly. bar was fairly expensive. location is hard to find, and no car park, have to park over the road and pay. definitely not worth the money, wouldn't come back and wouldn't recommend. Read less
Likes:
the view from the bedroom window as it over looked the sea.
Dislikes:
all of it
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hello. Thank you for your review, I guess you did'nt enjoy yourselves very much, what a shame you did'nt talk to Toni the pwner, or Mo her slave, they can speak and they dont bite...Well much!
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
janine
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Great Stay"
Lovely service , great welcome excellent breakfast. Very good value for money.… Read more
"Great Stay"
Lovely service , great welcome excellent breakfast. Very good value for money. Read less
Likes:
Despite being the cheapest double room it had a great view of the sea.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
I had to go midnight fishing to get them ! :)
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Slawomir
Young Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely place in lovely location"
We have stayed there for one night only. The Hotel is easy to find. Staff very friendly. and hotel looks very stilish (old English village type of hotel - perfect). Being honest the only think I would… Read more
"Lovely place in lovely location"
We have stayed there for one night only. The Hotel is easy to find. Staff very friendly. and hotel looks very stilish (old English village type of hotel - perfect). Being honest the only think I would sugesst, is that rooms needs little bit of maintenance and upgrade. Although beds were very confortable, and decor was OK, small maintenance would do.But in general we loved it. Read less
Likes:
Friendlines of the staff, location.
Dislikes:
The rooms requires a little bit of maintenance.
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hi .Thank you for your review. I take on board your comment on the rooms. What has happened is the owners husband had been unable to work for a while before he died last year, and you can only do so much by yourself, but we are turning the corner now, and in the winter, the paint brush will be out!!!! Take care, Mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.