MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Overstream Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
0.10 miles away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
The Gables
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
The Castle Inn
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
Rose Bank Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Bed and Breakfast
0.10 miles away
Sea View B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
0.20 miles away
Amberton
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
0.30 miles away
Tudor Cottage
Bed And Breakfast Photo
AA 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
1.00 miles away
The Cafe Porlock Weir
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Restaurant with rooms
1.50 miles away
Millers At The Anchor
Hotel Photo
Hotel
1.50 miles away
The Lorna Doone Hotel Porlock
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.2
See all 164 reviews
High Street

Porlock, 

Somerset, 


TA24 8PS,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Guest reviews for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.6
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.0
Facilities:
3.6
Staff service:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Breakfast:
4.3
Guest Rating:
4.2
From 164 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
Michael
Alone
Stayed: May '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"A comfortable stay in nice surroundings with very attentive and friendly staff"
Ideal location.… Read more
"A comfortable stay in nice surroundings with very attentive and friendly staff"
Ideal location. Read less
Likes:
A comfortable stay in nice surroundings in a period property convenient to the event I was attending with good service and a friendly atmosphere.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
PAUL
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '15
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
2
Location:
1
"Very poor, outdated and unclean room."
Although we pre-paid for one night only intending to stay two nights we did however not stay in the room at all because the room was tired, outdated, unclean with no view or outlook.
Albeit we have… Read more
"Very poor, outdated and unclean room."
Although we pre-paid for one night only intending to stay two nights we did however not stay in the room at all because the room was tired, outdated, unclean with no view or outlook.
Albeit we have a dog we still expect a higher standard of accommodation than that given to us. Why do people assume that it is acceptable to allocate a substandard room to a customer because they have a dog, taking into account we pay extra for the dog. Read less
Likes:
As we did not stay there was nothing to like.
Dislikes:
They did not offer us any refund but told us that they could have given us a different room!Further up the village we had a luxury room for a little extra per night.We feel that a refund is in order.
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Thank you for your review it was very kind of you to take the time. I understand you told the manager you had to leave on urgent business. Well that was a lie was'nt it? The trouble today is people appear to have lost the power of speech! I showed you to your room, you went out and said all was well, then you write this. Thankyou. We do not give a substandard room to people with dogs, the dogs are not a problem! Please speak to hoteliers you cant fix it if it aint broke! Kind regards Maureen
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Trevor
Alone
Stayed: May '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Good value, comfortable and friendly"
Arrivedafter a motorbike tour, was able to park in the small rear car park, the bed was comfortable and the food in the evening good.… Read more
"Good value, comfortable and friendly"
Arrivedafter a motorbike tour, was able to park in the small rear car park, the bed was comfortable and the food in the evening good. Read less
Likes:
The convenience of the location
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hello Mr Peake. Thank you for your review, it was kind of you to take the time, so glad the weather was good for you, today it is wet, wet, wet !!!! Regards Mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Joan
Mature Couple
Stayed: May '15
4
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
1
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Nice stay shame about the room"
We were made very welcome when we arrived, The ladies who cooked and served breakfast were very helpful and pleasant. The room was clean but needed a revamp a good lick of paint would not go a miss, T… Read more
"Nice stay shame about the room"
We were made very welcome when we arrived, The ladies who cooked and served breakfast were very helpful and pleasant. The room was clean but needed a revamp a good lick of paint would not go a miss, There is nothing wrong with the bathroom. Did not think it was worth what we paid for three night stay for two adults and a small dog. Read less
Likes:
We liked the location. Plenty of places to go walking. Beautiful.
Dislikes:
Only the décor of the room.
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Sorry , what I ment to say was I will pass on your comments to the owner :) mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Fiona
With a colleague
Stayed: Apr '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"A very pleasant, relaxing stay conveniently in the centre of a pretty little town."
Too brief!… Read more
"A very pleasant, relaxing stay conveniently in the centre of a pretty little town."
Too brief! Read less
Likes:
Good hospitality. Good base from which to go on daily excursions. Comfortable nights' sleep.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Martin
Alone
Stayed: Apr '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"Excellent value for money"
I needed a base for a two day photographic course and this hotel was within yards of Exmoor Photography. The weather was excellent so I wasn't in the hotel much but it easily met all my needs.… Read more
"Excellent value for money"
I needed a base for a two day photographic course and this hotel was within yards of Exmoor Photography. The weather was excellent so I wasn't in the hotel much but it easily met all my needs. Read less
Likes:
The staff were excellent - helpful and friendly without being obsequious. The food was excellently prepared and represented real value for money. If it's warm/sunny there is a nice courtyard at the re
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
penelope
Alone
Stayed: Apr '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Good Value"
Walking break. quiet, convenient fairly basic but good for price.… Read more
"Good Value"
Walking break. quiet, convenient fairly basic but good for price. Read less
Likes:
the food. quiet where room located comfortable bed everything seemed clean.
Dislikes:
Two out of the three staff were extremely nice. Not sure about third.
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hello Mrs Bouchot Humbert
Thank you for your review, it was kind of you to take the time. Please dont worry about the dog barking, he is obviously very nervous, as am I about dogs barking at me :).
I will tell Mrs Thornton about the carpet, The fire alarm is wired into the mains, and the lights do flash 24/7 it shows the system is working. Sorry about the third member of staff, that is me, and I merely asked about your key, as several guests genuinly forget they have the key in their hand/bag,
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Andrew
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"chilled out and relaxed"
within minutes of arriving we felt totally at home… Read more
"chilled out and relaxed"
within minutes of arriving we felt totally at home Read less
Likes:
Mo & Toni made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. We took our dog who was made to feel at home.
Dislikes:
The only thing that Spoilt it for us was on our 2nd night due to a private function we were unable to eat hotel so we missed out on Toni wonderful home cooking.
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hello Mr and Mrs Watkins. Thank you for your review, it was very kind of you to take the time. Lovely to have met you both, and doggie! best wishes Mo
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Stephen
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"wonderful stay"
A two night stay to celebrate my wife's birthday. Really welcoming staff, wonderful room and superb food rounded off with a birthday rosette presented to my wife. I would really recommend the Lorna… Read more
"wonderful stay"
A two night stay to celebrate my wife's birthday. Really welcoming staff, wonderful room and superb food rounded off with a birthday rosette presented to my wife. I would really recommend the Lorna Doone for the friendliness of the staff and the really superb food. Thank you all for a wonderful stay. Read less
Likes:
Everything was superb.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Lorna Doone Hotel:
Hi, thank you for your review, you are very kind. It is always lovely to see you both, as you are such a bubbly couple, a real pleasure to serve. See you during our hot summer ...we hope. from Toni and Mo x
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
PAUL
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jan '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Step back in time"
Stayed just for one night and could not have been made more welcome. Middle of january so not busy so felt like we had the place to ourselves. Toni and Mo could not have done more for us and had a goo… Read more
"Step back in time"
Stayed just for one night and could not have been made more welcome. Middle of january so not busy so felt like we had the place to ourselves. Toni and Mo could not have done more for us and had a good drink with Toni in the pub next door on Friday night.The hotel was a step back in time and personally thought it fitted in with Porlock perfectly.It was cold when we visited and an extra fire was brought to the room which helped.Had a room in the courtyard so it was quiet as a mouse. We enjoyed it Read less
Likes:
The welcome.
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for The Lorna Doone Hotel, Porlock
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10  ...Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2015 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.