MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Burnells Gardens
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
1.90 miles away
Kingsway Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Hotel
Bed and Breakfast
2.70 miles away
Glendower House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
2.80 miles away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
2.80 miles away
Stones
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Hotel
Hotel
2.90 miles away
Beachside Suites
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Hotel
Hotel
3.00 miles away
Banbridge House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.00 miles away
Quay Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
3.00 miles away
Old Ship Aground
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
3.10 miles away
Dunkery Beacon Country House Wootton Courtenay
Self Assessed 5 Stars Guest House
Hotel
Guest Rating: 4.9
See all 84 reviews
Dunkery Beacon Country House, Exmoor National Park

Wootton Courtenay, 

Somerset, 


TA24 8RH,  England
Average Guest Rating for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Guest reviews for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
4.8
Value:
4.7
Friendliness:
5.0
Cleanliness:
4.9
Facilities:
4.6
Staff service:
5.0
Location:
4.9
Breakfast:
4.9
Guest Rating:
4.9
From 84 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Previous Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
Glynnis
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Lovely place to,stay!"
Stayed for three nights to celebrate Golden Wedding Anniversary. Made very welcome, offered tea and scones on arrival, which was lovely. Most comfortable beds I have found in a hotel! Really great t… Read more
"Lovely place to,stay!"
Stayed for three nights to celebrate Golden Wedding Anniversary. Made very welcome, offered tea and scones on arrival, which was lovely. Most comfortable beds I have found in a hotel! Really great to have a small private sitting room in the suite. Large flat screen TV was a bonus, as was wifi in the room. Breakfast and dinner were both fine. Staff were very pleasant, as were the two owners of the hotel. Views were "to,die for" ! A great few days! Read less
Likes:
Great welcome, with complimentary tea and scones. Lovely staff. Fantastic views. Spacious bedroom, with added bonus of small private sitting room. Enjoyable breakfast, and delicious dinners.
Dislikes:
None
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
John and I are so glad that you chose Dunkery Beacon Country House to celebrate your Golden wedding Anniversary. Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review and we're delighted the 3 of you enjoyed your stay so much. Here's to many more anniversaries for you!
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Christopher
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '15
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Super"
Delightful setting, charming young couple, not so sure about the sunken bath when you are nearly 80!!
Would definitely go there again… Read more
"Super"
Delightful setting, charming young couple, not so sure about the sunken bath when you are nearly 80!!
Would definitely go there again Read less
Likes:
everything
Dislikes:
None
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
Many thanks for your review and kind comments about your stay with us. With regards to the bath in your room, we do advertise on our own website that the bath is sunken. I think, however, that you booked through a 3rd party website and sites like that only ever provide limited details. We would always advise looking at our own site to get a full picture. With regards to signage, we have just been given permission by our neighbours to erect a further directional sign on their boundary.
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Rosalind
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"The hosts are extremely friendly and give you the impression that nothing is too much trouble."
We were revisiting the area that we have very fond memories of from a long time ago and were not disappointed.… Read more
"The hosts are extremely friendly and give you the impression that nothing is too much trouble."
We were revisiting the area that we have very fond memories of from a long time ago and were not disappointed. Read less
Likes:
The area is delightful and the atmosphere very relaxed. We love to walk and there are ample opportunities for hiking.
Dislikes:
No.
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
It was lovely that you were able to reacquaint yourself with this area, particularly on foot - I'm sure it hasn't changed too much in that time. Still as beautiful and unspoilt as ever! Thank you for your kind comments - we trust you had a good journey back to Germany and hope you may return again.
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Katharine
Young Couple
Stayed: Jul '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Very pleasant and relaxing"
Very enjoyable… Read more
"Very pleasant and relaxing"
Very enjoyable Read less
Likes:
Spectacular views, delicious food & friendly service
Dislikes:
None
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
Thank you very much for your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you for a return visit in the future.
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Peter
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"An excellent establisment set in glorious countryside where nothing is too much trouble."
A welcoming cup of tea was followed by an exquisite dinner and an excellent night's rest in comfortable surroundings. Breakfast was sumptuous with all ingredients carefully sourced. John and Jane coul… Read more
"An excellent establisment set in glorious countryside where nothing is too much trouble."
A welcoming cup of tea was followed by an exquisite dinner and an excellent night's rest in comfortable surroundings. Breakfast was sumptuous with all ingredients carefully sourced. John and Jane could not have been more helpful, and the standard of cuisine continued in similar fashion for all our four nights. The wine list is carefully chosen to represent good value as well as diversity, with some wines being available by the glass. The location is stunning. Read less
Likes:
There is nothing not to like, but the dining experience stood out for us.
Dislikes:
None
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
It's very kind of you to post such a lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here so much, especially the food (and wine) offering. We have taken a lot of care to source quality ingredients/products and so it is good to know that it is noted and appreciated by our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Elizabeth
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Heaven in Somerset"
Booked for a 4 night break, had never stayed here before and we were totally delighted with our choice. The view from our room (number 7) was amazing, right across to Dunkery Beacon. The room faciliti… Read more
"Heaven in Somerset"
Booked for a 4 night break, had never stayed here before and we were totally delighted with our choice. The view from our room (number 7) was amazing, right across to Dunkery Beacon. The room facilities were perfect. Tea and coffee plus home made biscuits. Delightful toiletries in the huge bathroom and a super comfy bed with quality bedlinen. Breakfast every day was delicious with locally sourced ingredients and lots of choice including a fishy special each day. Read less
Likes:
Everything! The suite, the bed, the shower, the view, the friendly hosts, the fact that green tea bags were put into our room when Jane realised I drank green tea at breakfast, the Kings Ginger!
Dislikes:
Not a single thing!
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
It was great to meet you both and thank you for posting such a glowing review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and you loved the 4-poster room you stayed in. I'm also delighted you've discovered the heady delights of The King's Ginger Liqueur and that there are more converts joining the ranks!! John and I look forward to welcoming you back for another break here hopefully in the not too distant future.
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Samantha
Young Couple
Stayed: Jun '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Good food and quality rooms in a beautiful location"
We had a few days walking on Exmoor.… Read more
"Good food and quality rooms in a beautiful location"
We had a few days walking on Exmoor. Read less
Likes:
The room was lovely. The food was excellent. Jane and John are very friendly and accommodating.
Dislikes:
None
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
Hi Samantha, Thank you for your review and observation. As with a lot of current chefs, I like to break away from traditions and add an alternative dimension to the food which helps to bring a new twist to an old dish. I am sure Escoffier will have done several somersaults as a result of how his food is now interpreted!
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Helen
Alone
Stayed: May '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Classy comfort"
I visit Exmoor a lot to go horse riding and walking and have tried various accommondation over the past six years. Dunkery Beacon Country House is the best for comfort, excellent food, a warm welcome… Read more
"Classy comfort"
I visit Exmoor a lot to go horse riding and walking and have tried various accommondation over the past six years. Dunkery Beacon Country House is the best for comfort, excellent food, a warm welcome and a superb location with outstanding views and peace and quiet. Read less
Likes:
The hosts, my en suite room, the refreshments on arrival, the other guests, the public areas, the cleanliness, the attention paid to fresh, local, high quality produce used at breakfast and dinner.
Dislikes:
No
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
Thank you for your review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay .We welcome all feedback and recommendations and take on board your comments. We plan to have a review of the numerous "what to do" leaflets we have and the way they are displayed as they do seem to have encroached somewhat! Looking forward to seeing you again before too long.
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
ERIC
Mature Couple
Stayed: Apr '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Most enjoyable comfortable return visit to John & Janes lovely hotel."
Wonderfull weather,beautifull countryside,relaxation at its best!… Read more
"Most enjoyable comfortable return visit to John & Janes lovely hotel."
Wonderfull weather,beautifull countryside,relaxation at its best! Read less
Likes:
As always, a warm welcome from our hosts followed by one of John's tasty cream teas.Breakfasts are always a highlight of the day,rivalled only by dinner prepared also by John!Jane is kind & attentive.
Dislikes:
None
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
It was lovely to have you both back to stay and didn't you hit it just right with the weather?! Absolutely glorious and we're glad you enjoyed getting out and about in the sunshine. Once again, thank you for your very kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the autumn perhaps.
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Harriet
Alone
Stayed: Apr '15
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Perfect"
Lovely location and walks with easy access to local towns. Owners were helpful and friendly… Read more
"Perfect"
Lovely location and walks with easy access to local towns. Owners were helpful and friendly Read less
Likes:
I felt very comfortable and at ease staying at Dunkery receiving just the right level of helpfulness whilst not over fussing. The rooms and little touches in them were lovely as were the breakfasts.
Dislikes:
None
Response from Dunkery Beacon Country House:
Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst visiting your friends and we're so glad you enjoyed your break and had fantastic weather - perfect for walking and exploring Exmoor.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Guest Review for Dunkery Beacon Country House, Wootton Courtenay
Previous Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2015 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.