MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

George Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Restaurant with Rooms
Restaurant with rooms
2.30 miles away
The Waggon & Horses
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Hotel
Hotel
4.50 miles away
The White Hart Hotel
Hotel Photo
Visit Britain 5 Stars Restaurant with Rooms
Restaurant with rooms
4.70 miles away
Ollivers Farm B&B
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
5.30 miles away
The Crown Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Hotel
5.70 miles away
Long Melford Swan
Hotel Photo
AA 5 Stars Restaurant with Rooms
Restaurant with rooms
5.80 miles away
Nine Jars Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Hotel
6.10 miles away
Bulmer Tye House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 2 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
6.30 miles away
The Bay Horse
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
6.70 miles away
Bell Hotel Sudbury
Self Assessed 4 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 3.9
See all 37 reviews
Market Hill , Clare

Sudbury, 

Suffolk, 


CO10 8NN,  United Kingdom
Average Guest Rating for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Guest reviews for Bell Hotel, Sudbury are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.8
Value:
3.9
Friendliness:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Facilities:
3.8
Staff service:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Breakfast:
4.1
Guest Rating:
3.9
From 37 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next
Deborah
Family with older Children
Stayed: Nov '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Pleasant, convenient and historic hotel"
My sister, my teenage daughter and I needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights to visit elderly relatives who couldn't put us up. We arrived late on a Friday night, leaving Sunday morning, and e… Read more
"Pleasant, convenient and historic hotel"
My sister, my teenage daughter and I needed somewhere to stay for a couple of nights to visit elderly relatives who couldn't put us up. We arrived late on a Friday night, leaving Sunday morning, and enjoyed the hotel breakfasts, though ate other meals at our relatives' home. We had travelled a long way (from Gloucestershire - 5 hours' drive each way). Read less
Likes:
The room was bigger and more sumptuous than we expected, and very nicely decorated. The breakfast menu was excellent and the food good and nicely presented, and the young staff attentive and polite.
Dislikes:
Room too cold overnight and no means of boosting heat after central heating went off. No bin in bedroom. Bathroom bin not emptied. Teamaking stuff sparse - no fresh milk, biscuit or hot chocolate.
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Robin
Mature Couple
Stayed: Oct '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"Leisure break"
We stayed for two nights as we were attending an event locally. The owner is very hands on and is quick to ensure everything is satisfactory. Service is excellent and the lounge / restaurant food is v… Read more
"Leisure break"
We stayed for two nights as we were attending an event locally. The owner is very hands on and is quick to ensure everything is satisfactory. Service is excellent and the lounge / restaurant food is very good. We had a deluxe double room which was of a very good size with both a desk and a table with ample seating. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our stay. Read less
Likes:
The hands on and concerned attention of the owner, the friendly and helpful staff, the good food and the cosiness of the hotel.
Dislikes:
The only issue was that the soundproofing in the room was not perfect.
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Benjamin
Alone
Stayed: Sep '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"Happy customer"
Slepted & woke… Read more
"Happy customer"
Slepted & woke Read less
Likes:
The staff are very friendly
Dislikes:
No
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Julie
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Overnight stay"
We had an enjoyable overnight stay, accompanied by our pet dog. Dogs allowed in the bar area so this is where we had our evening meal, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Dogs not allowed in the breakfast ro… Read more
"Overnight stay"
We had an enjoyable overnight stay, accompanied by our pet dog. Dogs allowed in the bar area so this is where we had our evening meal, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Dogs not allowed in the breakfast room but he was ok in the car which I could see from the window. It was a shame the weather was wet as we had hoped to look around Clare the next day. Would definitely stay again. Read less
Likes:
Friendly staff and excellent food
Dislikes:
None
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Sarah
Young Couple
Stayed: Sep '18
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
5
"Really spacious rooms and amazing breakfast!"
As we were at a wedding during the day we were able to collect the keys in the morning which was really helpful. Nice surprise when we got up to the room, much bigger than expected! Breakfast in the m… Read more
"Really spacious rooms and amazing breakfast!"
As we were at a wedding during the day we were able to collect the keys in the morning which was really helpful. Nice surprise when we got up to the room, much bigger than expected! Breakfast in the morning was delicious and really generous. Read less
Likes:
Space and breakfast
Dislikes:
None
Response from Bell Hotel:
We were happy to accommodate your request of a earlier check in and that you really enjoyed your breakfast and the size of your room, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
John
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
4
"Good value for the cost."
nice room. I thought bath should have a handrail - didn't feel totally safe ! Breakfast a little confusing - waitress saying " complimentary basket" made us think only continental breakfast included a… Read more
"Good value for the cost."
nice room. I thought bath should have a handrail - didn't feel totally safe ! Breakfast a little confusing - waitress saying " complimentary basket" made us think only continental breakfast included and that cooked b'fast extra, as per price list. I know it did say breakfast for residents included on menu card but we did not see that til later. Not a moan, more an observation. Perhaps girls could explain system to guests when first seated. Anyway, keep up the good work - hope my comments are ok. Read less
Likes:
see above
Dislikes:
None
Response from Bell Hotel:
thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay , we have taken your feedback and passed it on to the waitress and she now will using different words. As far as a handrail goes we will consider this when we do our renovations next year
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Richard
Mature Couple
Stayed: Sep '18
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
2
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"Noisey"
The Hotel bar was well appointed and newly decorated - not all of the beer (Guinness) was not available however which was disappointing.

We had to change our room as the shower would not stop runni… Read more
"Noisey"
The Hotel bar was well appointed and newly decorated - not all of the beer (Guinness) was not available however which was disappointing.

We had to change our room as the shower would not stop running and was making rather a lot of noise

The staff were friendly and our breakfast was not only good quality, there was a range of breakfast options.

A good start from the new owners however a long way to go in terms of the accommodation. Read less
Likes:
The location, the bar area and the breakfast
Dislikes:
The accommodation and the noise from other residents

Having paid for a higher grade room and then having to move rooms due to a shower head that would not stop running.

No discout offered.
Response from Bell Hotel:
Dear Mr. Hobbs we are sorry that the room shower had encountered a issue and we moved you to another room, we have since fixed this issue as unfortunately we were not able to do so during your stay, your rate didn't include breakfast and as a gesture of goodwill we provided you the breakfast complimentary as compensation for the issue you encountered, I am sorry you were not satisfied with this and your stay we welcome you to contact us directly at info@thebellhotel.com.
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Alison
Group of Adults
Stayed: Aug '18
3
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
"Hotel under new management"
We arrived to find the hotel under refurbishment with only the bedrooms open. No bar or restaurant. The new managers had only taken over a couple of days previously and did their utmost best to look a… Read more
"Hotel under new management"
We arrived to find the hotel under refurbishment with only the bedrooms open. No bar or restaurant. The new managers had only taken over a couple of days previously and did their utmost best to look after us given the limited facilities. We had breakfast paid for in an excellent local cafe and as the weather was glorious it was no inconvenience to stroll there. Read less
Likes:
The new managers were very helpful and I would be interested to visit again when the venue is fully open.
Dislikes:
We did feel let down that no one had fore warned us the hotel was essentially closed. On basis of managers attitude I would recommend but no experience of what newly refurbished hotel will be like.
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Jean
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '18
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
5
Staff service:
5
Location:
5
Breakfast:
5
"Clare stunning Bell hotel."
An overnight stay whilst returning home. Great small town with a great trail to follow. The hotel was plucked from an internet search which clearly showed facilities and options etc. And chosen from p… Read more
"Clare stunning Bell hotel."
An overnight stay whilst returning home. Great small town with a great trail to follow. The hotel was plucked from an internet search which clearly showed facilities and options etc. And chosen from photos and review. Read less
Likes:
Good size room with seating and comfortable bed. Coeliac needs no problem. Helpful staff answered queries to pre stay with suggestions. Large car park for overnight parking.
Dislikes:
It did rain whilst we were there after the prolonged sunshine but who cares as still good to walk out in the coolness. Town had plenty to offer on the heritage trail.
Response from Bell Hotel:
Thank you for wonderful review , we have shared the feedback with the team here.
We are the new owners and took over the property on July 31st 2018, we are pleased to share the fact that we are renovating the trade areas, creating a premium offering at The Bell Hotel plus introducing a new premium restaurant called Latitude 52. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Please feel to contact us directly by email at thebellhotelclare@gmail.com
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Carol
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jul '18
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
3
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
1
Location:
5
Breakfast:
2
"Don't expect any service - such a shame as such a nice place"
We stayed 2 nights as we were working locally. We found that if you ate in the restaurant in the evening you were abandoned after you received your food. If you wanted breakfast you had to go and find… Read more
"Don't expect any service - such a shame as such a nice place"
We stayed 2 nights as we were working locally. We found that if you ate in the restaurant in the evening you were abandoned after you received your food. If you wanted breakfast you had to go and find someone to take orders and it took ages to arrive. They didn't tell us at time of booking there was a wedding on the second night so had to put up with the whole wedding party and noise. Whole stay was marred by something. Read less
Likes:
The pub and hotel itself is beautiful - just hugely let down by the staff
Dislikes:
The staff, the noise, the lack of communication, the Sky didn't work, they didn't answer the phone.
Guest Review for Bell Hotel, Sudbury
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2018 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.