MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

The Pinfold Guest House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
1.90 miles away
Woods End Bed & Breakfast
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
2.00 miles away
Croppers Arms
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
2.70 miles away
Elm Crest Guest House
Guest House Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Guest house
2.80 miles away
The New Hobbit
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Inn
2.80 miles away
The Fleece Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Restaurant with rooms
2.90 miles away
Bradley Bed and breakfast
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
3.60 miles away
Field House
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 4 Stars Guest Accommodation
Bed and Breakfast
4.10 miles away
Alma Inn
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Inn
4.30 miles away
The Rock Hotel Halifax
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
Guest Rating: 3.4
See all 29 reviews
22 Broad Carr, Holywell Green

Halifax, 

West Yorkshire, 


HX4 9BS,  England
Average Guest Rating for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Guest reviews for The Rock Hotel, Halifax are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.1
Value:
3.8
Friendliness:
4.0
Cleanliness:
3.2
Facilities:
2.9
Staff service:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Breakfast:
2.8
Guest Rating:
3.4
From 29 reviews
Sort:Guest Reviews
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 Next
Lorraine
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
1
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
1
Location:
4
Breakfast:
1
"Appalling!"
Hardly any staff about, rooms not cleaned daily, breakfast cereal and DIY toast with cheap jam (went out on 2nd morning to eat), mistake made by hotel on friends booking and when tried to sort out by… Read more
"Appalling!"
Hardly any staff about, rooms not cleaned daily, breakfast cereal and DIY toast with cheap jam (went out on 2nd morning to eat), mistake made by hotel on friends booking and when tried to sort out by going back following text messages, owner was very aggressive and abusive! Told by him never to go back but no problem...we won't be doing! Read less
Likes:
I was with my new husband and old friends!
Dislikes:
As previously stated!
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Brendan
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
2
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
1
Location:
4
Breakfast:
1
"The hotel was empty so far as staff were concerned having to ring a number for attention."
Strange due to lack of people in the hotel. The breakfast although called 'complimentary' was poor (cereal and toast only). Even a continental breakfast would make a vast difference. The room was n… Read more
"The hotel was empty so far as staff were concerned having to ring a number for attention."
Strange due to lack of people in the hotel. The breakfast although called 'complimentary' was poor (cereal and toast only). Even a continental breakfast would make a vast difference. The room was not looked at on the second day to see if it needed the tea and coffee replenishing or any cleaning done. Read less
Likes:
It was useful to have the hotel near where our wedding reception was.
Dislikes:
The lack of people around the hotel (ie staff) and the poor complimentary breakfast.
Response from The Rock Hotel:
thank you for taking the time to make a review. Unfortunatly as you booked on line you paid for the first night but athough you directly handed your key back to reception you did not pay for your second night. As you had made 2 seperate bookings the computer had allocated you 2 rooms both of which you used number 29 on sunday and 19 on monday and so i can not see how your room was not checked as you did not stay in it? As you say the breakfast is free and and most people would see as a bonus.
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Lucinda
Family with older Children
Stayed: Aug '14
2
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
3
Location:
4
Breakfast:
2
"Ok for the price"
If you are looking for a long stay, this is not thè place. For a one night basic place to stay it was ok… Read more
"Ok for the price"
If you are looking for a long stay, this is not thè place. For a one night basic place to stay it was ok Read less
Likes:
Price
Dislikes:
A bit like the Mary Celeste
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Joanne
Young Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
4
Location:
4
Breakfast:
1
"A nice day"
Basic rooms, but lovely wedding meal and good staff.… Read more
"A nice day"
Basic rooms, but lovely wedding meal and good staff. Read less
Likes:
Good venue plenty of space for the wedding party. Close and good parking. Friendly & helpful staff!!!
Dislikes:
Rooms are dated & would benefit from a re-vamp, a lick of paint etc. I have put below I wouldn't recommend the hotel accommodation to others but that's not to say i didn't enjoy my stay or the wedding
Response from The Rock Hotel:
Hi. Thanks for your review. Its unusual that a wedding guest books on line so nice to see a review from you. We are gald that you enjoyed the wedding, as it seams did all the guests. For weddings Breakfast is served at a stated time for all guests and put out in chaffing dishes at that time. The chef at breakfast was the same chef for both the day and the evening food at the wedding so i suspect it may be that you came down a little while after nine. Glad you enjoyed the wedding.
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
ed
Young Couple
Stayed: Jul '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
1
Value:
2
Friendliness:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
3
Location:
3
Breakfast:
2
"Uncomfortable"
Broken and uncomfortable bed. Dirty room that smelled damp. Generally dirty and unfinished room / bathroom. Whole building looks in need of improvement outside of reception area.… Read more
"Uncomfortable"
Broken and uncomfortable bed. Dirty room that smelled damp. Generally dirty and unfinished room / bathroom. Whole building looks in need of improvement outside of reception area. Read less
Likes:
Convenient location
Dislikes:
Mattress was very very bad, springs sticking through and uncomfortable. Room may have had damp problem as it smelled bad from the start.
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Tony
Group of Adults
Stayed: Jul '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
1
Friendliness:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Facilities:
1
Staff service:
1
Location:
4
Breakfast:
1
"Disappointing"
The hotel is tired, rooms lacking basics (lightbulbs/shower head) lack of staff at most times. Hotel deserted most of the time - bar not open, no food available except a continental breakfast laid out… Read more
"Disappointing"
The hotel is tired, rooms lacking basics (lightbulbs/shower head) lack of staff at most times. Hotel deserted most of the time - bar not open, no food available except a continental breakfast laid out the night before. Stange atmosphere with no-one about. Read less
Likes:
Location
Dislikes:
This hotel used to be very busy with a thriving bar & restaurant, it's now been virtually abandoned, it's a great shame as it could be fantastic
Response from The Rock Hotel:
Thanks for taking the time to make a review. Your stay was a sunday evening which along with lots of hotels is a very quiet evening. It was also following the day of the tour de france in our area. The restaurant here has never been open on a sunday evening. We are a function hotel mainly at weekends, the night before having been full on the hotel side and with a party on. During the week our occupancy is very high with contractors monday to thursday. We would suggest you look for a larger hotel
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Arlene
Young Couple
Stayed: Jul '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
3
"Very friendly"
Lawrence was very friendly and helpful. Lovely place… Read more
"Very friendly"
Lawrence was very friendly and helpful. Lovely place Read less
Likes:
Close to the Tour de France
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Rock Hotel:
Thank you very much for taking the time to make a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were made to feel welcome. We apprecaite customers that understand our limitations as a small hotel and adopt are friebdly relaxed approach. Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in the Uk.
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Steven
Alone
Stayed: Jul '14
2
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
2
Value:
3
Friendliness:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
2
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
Breakfast:
3
"Disappointed, but a cheap price."
Fantastic setting, very friendly staff. Its a pity there is no food as there is nowhere in the immediate area to eat. Offered take-away menus, but not everyone wants this. Room was very tired - in… Read more
"Disappointed, but a cheap price."
Fantastic setting, very friendly staff. Its a pity there is no food as there is nowhere in the immediate area to eat. Offered take-away menus, but not everyone wants this. Room was very tired - in need of refurbishment. Read less
Likes:
Convenient for my business meeting.
Dislikes:
Lack of restaurant.
Response from The Rock Hotel:
Thank you for taking the time to make a review. We note your comments and will make a list with details of the local restaurants. Our reception is manned during busy periods, monday to friday 3-11pm and saturday all day. During other peroids a member of staff is available by picking up the internal phone on reception.
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
JOHN
Mature Couple
Stayed: Jun '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
5
Location:
4
Breakfast:
4
"At the price The Rock Hotel was very good"
Arrived at about 7pm on 2 motorcycles,plenty of parking and easy check in.Very impressed with our room considering previous reviews,very clean,larger than most bathrooms and great shower.Could not ask… Read more
"At the price The Rock Hotel was very good"
Arrived at about 7pm on 2 motorcycles,plenty of parking and easy check in.Very impressed with our room considering previous reviews,very clean,larger than most bathrooms and great shower.Could not ask for more.Had a great stay and hope to return. Read less
Likes:
How friendly are ALL the staff,good location for our short tour of Yorkshire,great views and so peaceful.
Dislikes:
None
Response from The Rock Hotel:
Thank you very much for taking the time to make a review. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and will ensure your comments are passed on to all staff.

Many thanks
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Andrew
Alone
Stayed: Jun '14
5
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
5
Value:
5
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location:
5
"Very good value for staying in Yorkshire area on low wage job."
Clean, pleasant countryside location not by busy roads. Good internet connectivity to allow me to work.… Read more
"Very good value for staying in Yorkshire area on low wage job."
Clean, pleasant countryside location not by busy roads. Good internet connectivity to allow me to work. Read less
Likes:
Good location for surrounding towns and cities where I needed to work. Wish I found The Rock Hotel on my first week in Yorkshire as opposed to the more expensive accommodation.
Dislikes:
No evidence that room was cleaned each day but honestly did not concern me as had coffee & milk anyway.
Restaurant was closed for refurbishment so can't comment on food quality.
Response from The Rock Hotel:
Thank you ofr taking the time to make a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that if you are in the area again you would choose to stay with us.

Many thanks
Guest Review for The Rock Hotel, Halifax
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 Next
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.