MaestroMasterCardVisaVisa ElectronAmerican Express
For your convenience, we also
accept payment with PayPal:
PayPal
Site security monitored daily by:
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Other Options Nearby

Dove Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
1.90 miles away
The Bug & Spider
Hotel Photo
Hotel
2.30 miles away
Calne Bed and Breakfast
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
2.70 miles away
The Foxham Inn
Hotel Photo
AA 4 Stars Inn
Inn
2.90 miles away
White Hart Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Restaurant with rooms
3.10 miles away
The Old Joinery
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Visit Britain 5 Stars Bed & Breakfast
Bed and Breakfast
3.50 miles away
The Bell House Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Hotel
4.90 miles away
The Crown at Broad Hinton
Bed And Breakfast Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Bed and Breakfast
5.30 miles away
The Angel Hotel
Hotel Photo
Townhouse hotel
5.40 miles away
Crown Hotel
Hotel Photo
Self Assessed 4 Stars Guest House
Hotel
5.40 miles away
Self Assessed 3 Stars Hotel
Inn
Guest Rating: 4.1
See all 25 reviews
The Duke Hotel, Hilmarton

Calne, 

Wiltshire, 


SN11 8SD,  England
Welcome to the duke hotel, set in the picturesque village of Hilmarton, close to the historic town of Calne in Wiltshire
  • Award winning hosts
  • Free Parking
  • Friendly staff
  • close to M4
  • En-suite rooms
  • Traditional Inn
  • Dining
  • Set in the countryside
  • Wiltshire
  • Family friendly
Check Prices and Availability
King ensuite King ensuite
from£60.00
Double ensuiteDouble ensuite
from£60.00
Twin ensuite Twin ensuite
from£60.00
Twin ensuite roomTwin ensuite room
from£75.00
No imageroom only
No imageFamily Room
from£100.00
Guest Reviews
Guest reviews for The Duke Hotel, Calne are provided by real guests who have actually stayed at the property.
Rooms:
3.9
Value:
4.2
Friendliness:
4.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Facilities:
3.9
Staff service:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Breakfast:
4.4
Guest Rating: 4.1
See all 25 reviews
Phil
Mature Couple
Stayed: Aug '14
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
3
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
4
Location
4
Breakfast:
3
"Very wide comfortable bed...."
A lovely old building with décor and furnishings to match (suits my taste). A very wide comfortable bed and big room. Although the hosts have only been in residence for 7 months they are very friendly… Read more
"Very wide comfortable bed...."
A lovely old building with décor and furnishings to match (suits my taste). A very wide comfortable bed and big room. Although the hosts have only been in residence for 7 months they are very friendly and willing to listen to any new suggestions. The location of the village was just the right distance for us visiting family in Calne. Read less
Likes:
The landlord & landlady greeted us with a friendly welcome and we chatted at the bar before showing us to our room. They were very helpful in finding taxi numbers for us. We had a good laugh with them
Dislikes:
There was no breakfast menu on the table to choose from and the cereals/juice was not labelled to know what was available (not good for those with allergies).
Guest Review for The Duke Hotel, Calne
James
Young Couple
Stayed: Dec '13
4
Would recommend to others.
Rooms:
3
Value:
4
Friendliness:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Facilities:
3
Staff service:
5
Location
4
Breakfast:
4
"Friendly staff, good food"
Booked as stated dog-friendly and coeliac friendly. Lived up to both expectations. One night stay away from home on walking break.
Please be aware that current management move away (new job) 14th Jan… Read more
"Friendly staff, good food"
Booked as stated dog-friendly and coeliac friendly. Lived up to both expectations. One night stay away from home on walking break.
Please be aware that current management move away (new job) 14th January... Read less
Likes:
Excellent Friendly staff, coeliac food well supported, dog friendly.
Dislikes:
Room was somewhat cold, and worn - ok with us, but if you are expecting opulence, pay more elsewhere. Fair value for the cut down price we paid.
Proper coffee at breakfast would be nicer!
Guest Review for The Duke Hotel, Calne
Sulann
Mature Couple
Stayed: Feb '14
1
Would not recommend to others.
Rooms:
4
Value:
1
Friendliness:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Facilities:
4
Staff service:
1
Location
5
Breakfast:
1
"Location good but overall service poor"
We were shown to our room on arrival and told how to get in if everything was locked up. However, this was all that we were told; not the times for breakfast or when we would need to leave. There was… Read more
"Location good but overall service poor"
We were shown to our room on arrival and told how to get in if everything was locked up. However, this was all that we were told; not the times for breakfast or when we would need to leave. There was also nothing in the room providing us with this information. In the morning my husband had to go down and ask when breakfast would be. He was told anytime but we had to be out by 10am. We came downstairs at 9.30am and it was made obvious that we were expected to leave without breakfast! Read less
Likes:
The room, bathroom and bed linen were lovely and clean.
Dislikes:
The 'full english' breakfast included in the price was NOT included at all! The hosts were not very welcoming.
Response from The Duke Hotel:
We are sorry you feel like that . But you quickly came into the check in and then left to visit family/friends. Breakfast is between the hours of 7 and 9 with check out at 10 o'clock. When you appeared at 10.00 whilst you were not offered breakfast due to the time, we did offer and make you both a drink, and both of us sat down and chatted to you about your plans for that day. Apparently you were having to wait until 5 that afternoon to visit other people in the area.
Guest Review for The Duke Hotel, Calne
More Information
3 Stars Self Assessed Hotel
Parking
On-site parking, Free parking
Types of Payment Accepted at The Duke Hotel
Cash (Sterling), Credit card, Debit card
Payment Cards accepted at the property
Master Card Maestro Visa Visa Electron 
Check-in: 2:00 PM till 10:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Late check-out available on request
Policies
Children Policy: Children welcome
Smoking Policy: No smoking
Pet Policy: No pets
Cancellation Policy
Booking Terms and Conditions
Accessibility
Languages Spoken
English
It is said that The Duke is named after the Duke of Beaufort but he was reluctant to associate his name with a pub, insisting, instead, that it should be called simply The Duke Hotel. He would surely have second thoughts if he could come back and see it today.

- bed & breakfast and bed only options
- food served lunch and everning
- Sunday lunch
- beautiful pub garden
- function room
- campsite
- locally sourced, home-cooked food
- Arkell's ales


Not only is The Duke an elegant building in a marvellous spot - right opposite Hilmarton's delightful old church - but it is a thriving pub which caters for all the demands of modern customers.

If they are looking for top quality food, then there is sure to be something to tempt them on the extensive menu, all home cooked food, John the chef is a talented good old fashioned chef who cares about his food, All visitors are strongly encouraged to bring all the family, with children warmly welcomed - either indoors or outside, where the children's play garden has recently been extended.

Though people are prepared to travel long distances to relax at The Duke, it still remains a focal point for community life, just as you would expect from a traditional village pub. It has been fulfilling that role since it was built in 1843 - ironically, the same year that John Arkell first began brewing. In those days the pub brewed its own beer but has been owned by Arkell's since 1923. It is still the base for many of the local sports teams and the function room is put to good use by many members of the community.

You host's John and Lesley have recently taken over the Duke and carried out a major re-furbishment to the Bar, Dining area and toilets facilities, The Beer garden is a great place to relax with friends and family and a good focal point to meet new and old friends.

There is something for everybody at The Duke.
Environmental Statement
Here at the Duke , we are working towards recycling of all paper/cardboard, glass, and can's, if you want your items recycled just ask us and we will be happy to do this!
Style of property
Elegant, Homely, Rustic, Stylish, Traditional
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
© Copyright 2014 BookDirectRooms. Location data supplied by Geonames.